Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

David L Rainer Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 625 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

I went to enrole my kid there and the staff did not seem to know what was going on. This was during open enrollment and I did not feel that the teachers were up to par with teaching not to mention the office staff that did not have a clue about anything. They started off by acting like I was not there and than not having a brain in third head. I will never put my kid in this school!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

If I had the time and money I would home school or send my children to private school before dealing with the band of retards that run this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

my daughter has been going to this school since kindergarten and she loves it. the staff is consistent and helpful. she isn't even in the district for the school but she was when she started.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

bro its epic and they have food so yea ummmm idk wat to say brahh


Posted November 12, 2012

I love my sons school... they are ALWAYs there each and eveytime i pick up the phone. My sons teacher is like a warrior mom for him. His comfort level shows as his test scores and the remarkable improvement in him shows daily. The support here is unmatched. Thank you Dr, Weiser in all you do for my son and the other children. Thank you to all the staff for making my son feel a part of everything...Julie, Debbie and all the office staff......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

Great school in an excellant community! Cant wait to have my son start Kindergarden there this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

We love DLR! We are a military family and to move to a new school in the middle of the year last year and feel like we are at home is a great feeling. My son and daughter love the school and have learned so much from here. The teachers are amazing and very helpful. I also volunteer at the school whenever I can. Going to miss DLR when my guys move up to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

This school is amazing. The staff really cares. From the time you walk in the front door tell the time you leave everyone is awsome from the pricipals, teachers, janitors, lunch room staff, and volunteers. Both my children love this school. My son has acute articulation disorder and t have done everything to make him comfortable and help him suceed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

This school is wonderful. I have two boys that go there and they enjoy the staff and teachers very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

We moved from Kingsland last year and miss DLR tremendously! The teachers there really care about what they are doing and absolutely love the children! My boys were challenged and giving work to do when the normal grade level work was too easy for them. I love this school, and we hope to be back in 2011!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

My daughter is currently in Kindergarten at DLRES, and I've been nothing but astounded by the level of care from the teachers and the curriculum. Just a few weeks into K, my daughter was adding double digits and loving every minute that she was at school! DLRES makes learning fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

My son attended DLRES from K - 5th grade and I cannot say enough great things about this wonderful school! All of the teachers that my son had truly cared about his education, and seemed to really enjoy their time spent at school. The administration and office staff are very nice as well, always there to help if you need them. My daughter is now attending Kindergarten at DLRES, and I look forward to the next few years of her education. I know she'll be getting the best that this area has to offer! I only wish that I had attended such a great school as a child. - Kathy Van Gelder
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

I am extremely pleased with the education my child is receiving at this school. The teachers genuinely care about the students and keep the parents involved with their childs progress. My son is being challenged and is learning that school can be fun too! I like the fact that the teachers will take extra time to challenge the students that are ahead and also work hard to bring up the children having difficulties. Every time I enter the school I am greeted with smiling faces and they are always encouraging parental volunteering. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

My daughter has been going to this school since pre-K and is now in the 3rd grade. We have been extremely pleased with the instruction she has had. The staff is always helpful and the students always seem happy and eager to attend school. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

112 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

112 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

112 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 44%
Black 26% 37%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Deborah Milstead
Fax number
  • (912) 576-8991

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 May Creek Dr
Kingsland, GA 31548
Phone: (912) 729-9071

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT