Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lanier County High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 25, 2012

This school rates a zero. My oldest son went to Lanier County High for his freshman year in 2006. Luckily, we were able to move out of the area for the rest of his high school time. Three problems I had with this school: 1. The counselor gave the parents and students a visual demonstration on freshman orientation night describing why the children didn't need to go to college. She described statistics that showed that 70% of them would get jobs that didn't require college degree, and then that of the 30% that attended college, only 10% would ever graduate. 2. The tech prep diploma is not accepted at any college except Valdosta Tech or GA Military College. The diploma isn't worth the paper it's printed on. 3. Expectations for the children are low, and therefore no effort is made to improve the school curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

Lanier Co High has made progress in the last year and has really become a school that parents want to send their kids to due to the hard work or the new administration and team effort! Kudos! Keep up the hard work!


Posted February 25, 2010

Lanier High School is a clean environment for the students and faculty


Posted April 2, 2009

This school uses its size as an excuse not to present a challenging curriculum. If students ask for a harder class we are told that there 'isnt money for it' and dismissed. The teachers constantly complain about being unable to teach because classes are 'integrated' (which basically means that people who should be taking honors and AP classes are thrown in with the general populace as are slower kids who need special help). Rules are not enforced across the board and racial tensions are high. I wish I could say I learned anything academic in high school but all I've gotten out of the last four years is that I need to save to send my children to private school because (so we've been told) all public schools are run as if monkeys in khakis and polo shirts are in charge. That is to say, very very poorly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2009

Our school is alright but has some issues with actually challenging students. i get so bored in school not because i just don't choose to do anything,but because e don't do anything! i really hope that someone from my school reads this and does something about our curriculum. I go to school to learn and am prepared to do so! some one out there please teach me something!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2009

we do our best for a small town im a student there were not that bad the teachers are nice... go bulldogs!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2009

I went to this school as a child, and nothing has changed. Its still a poor organized school, i have childern in the elem. and in middle and high school and there all the same. Teachers are not involved as they should be. Teachers that coach should not be aloud to teach 'sports are mor important to this school' quit downing the students and encourage them. So what kind of school are they trying to run up there?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

Very good school. I was welcomed when I moved to the Valdosta area. It is worth the drive (7-8 miles) to send my kids to a smaller school yet big enough to fulfill the needs of me and my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

If there is one thing that bothers me more than any thing else about this school It Is, that there is no-open door policy. In fact, their student/parent handbook states that Surprise visits are not allowed as they interrupt the teacher's instructional time with all children in the class. I have had my children in school where parents where encouraged to be a part of their childrens education, and it was a win win outcome. This policy makes me feel very uneasy. What do they have to hide? There is a way to balance the two. Other schools do with great sucess. Get parents involved and whatch the test scores go up! It is budget friendly too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

This school is such a bad school. The teachers have poor teaching abilities and the cafeteria food quality is bad. I would tell you not to send your child here. The grading system should be changed also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I would not send my children to this school. The students are rude to each other and to the staff/teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2007

My child is in Pre-K and I am not satisfied with the school system at all. They do not keep the parents informed of anything. We are so disappounted that we are moving out of Lanier County so that our children can have a better education and so that we can be involved. I see nothing wrong with a parent dropping in to check on 'their' child, but Lanier County does not feel that way. The field trips are so unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Lanier County as a whole is behind other area schools (in Lowndes County) but has been making progress lately. If you like small towns then this school is a decent choice. They have football, baseball, basketball, and other sports and a class A.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 31, 2005

I think that this shool is alright. We are a really small town and we don't really have that many people. If you want to raise your child in a small town then you might want to consider coming to Lanier County!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2004

'It is absolutely one of the best schools in Georgia, could not have asked to been blessed anymore than I was to get the opportunity to attend here! Teachers and Staff are great they go WAY beyond their call of duty! I think that they care for the students and try harder than most schools to acheive excellence. If you have problems here it is with the students and not the school system.' Also the athletic programs are great!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 3, 2004

This is a great place to send your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
60%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
48%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
13%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 44%
Black 26% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

325 W Patten Ave
Lakeland, GA 31635
Phone: (229) 482-3868

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT