Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lanier County High School 1

Posted August 07, 2015
- a community member
Bad lunches an overall bad school. Kids here only know how to get pregnant. An how to bully other kids for what they dont know.

Lanier County High School 1

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
Small town which makes it very difficult for kids to fit in if they were not born in the town. Bullying is a big issue in the school system and some administrators/teachers are quick to look the other way.


Lanier County High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
Very few programs offered, only local or children of teachers seem to make it into gifted programs as well as AP courses.

Lanier County High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
Do no communicate with parents, school teaching standards are subpar. New administration this year, hoping for the best but we moved out of the district and into a district with more opportunities.

Lanier County High School 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
The 9th grade teachers at LCHS are amazing. As a parent, I stay involved with my kid's academics. The teachers are really concerned and focused on helping their students achieve and attain their goals necessary for graduating. They are always kind and courteous. Along with them, the staff creates a wonderful learning environment. When you walk through the doors, you get a warm welcoming feeling, that I know is comforting to me, as well as my kids. Thank you LCHS!


Lanier County High School 3

Posted August 15, 2014
- a student
This school has gotten a little better over the years, however there are many kids that bully. The teachers nor the administrators ever do anything about it and it should change. Bullying causes a lot of things including depression so being bullied everyday could lead to someone committing suicide. This is a REAL problem that NEEDS to be addressed.

Lanier County High School 1

Posted November 25, 2012
- a parent
This school rates a zero. My oldest son went to Lanier County High for his freshman year in 2006. Luckily, we were able to move out of the area for the rest of his high school time. Three problems I had with this school: 1. The counselor gave the parents and students a visual demonstration on freshman orientation night describing why the children didn't need to go to college. She described statistics that showed that 70% of them would get jobs that didn't require college degree, and then that of the 30% that attended college, only 10% would ever graduate. 2. The tech prep diploma is not accepted at any college except Valdosta Tech or GA Military College. The diploma isn't worth the paper it's printed on. 3. Expectations for the children are low, and therefore no effort is made to improve the school curriculum.

Lanier County High School 5

Posted March 17, 2011
- a community member
Lanier Co High has made progress in the last year and has really become a school that parents want to send their kids to due to the hard work or the new administration and team effort! Kudos! Keep up the hard work!


Lanier County High School
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a community member
Lanier High School is a clean environment for the students and faculty

Lanier County High School
no rating

Posted April 02, 2009
- a student
This school uses its size as an excuse not to present a challenging curriculum. If students ask for a harder class we are told that there 'isnt money for it' and dismissed. The teachers constantly complain about being unable to teach because classes are 'integrated' (which basically means that people who should be taking honors and AP classes are thrown in with the general populace as are slower kids who need special help). Rules are not enforced across the board and racial tensions are high. I wish I could say I learned anything academic in high school but all I've gotten out of the last four years is that I need to save to send my children to private school because (so we've been told) all public schools are run as if monkeys in khakis and polo shirts are in charge. That is to say, very very poorly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lanier County High School
325 West Patten Ave, Lakeland, GA  31635
(229) 482-3868
Last modified Lanier County High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lanier County High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top