Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gwinnett Intervention Education (GIVE) Center East

Public | 6-12 | 287 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2010

The leadership/Principal and this school overall are unsatisfactory. Since 2008 It is nothing more than a place to put students who either make poor test scores or in the STPP (straight to prison pipeline). This school would be in the bottom 3 of Atlanta City schools based on test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

I went to the Give several years ago. At first it was difficult, but over time I adapted. I come from a troubled back ground and they helped me to tolerate that situation. I only wish that my father had not allowed me to leave after I finished my appointed time there. I dropped out and got my GED I now have a home and kids of my own and hope to serve them better than my family did.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

The best School in Gwinnett, no lie most greatest and experinced Teachers no u personally, work with you individually, perfect spot for easy grades.........beats any reg school in the county!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

My son attended the GIVE Center and it was the best thing for him. Even though he was an Honors student he did not perform to his potential at his normal high school. At the GIVE he made straight A's and paid attention in class. This carried over when he went back to his home school. He graduates this year, without his time at the GIVE we wouldn't be able to see him walk across the stage to get his diploma. It is true that they don't assign homework nor do they get to take textbooks home, some classes use worksheets instead of textbooks, but your kid will get out of it what he/she puts into it. If they didn't learn anything all year is because they didn't want to learn. The teachers put up with a lot of bad kids (thats why they are there in the first place).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

I think this school is horrible. My son had to got there for 1 year and did not learn a thing. He never had homework assignments and hardley had text books. There was no additional coundeling or help provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

The GIVE Center turned the lives of both of my sons around. The teacher's positive approach rebuilt their self-esteem that had been torn down by their past teachers. My oldest son graduates this semester Magna Cum Laude in Micro-Biology at UGA. My youngest son is completing his second year of college, a dean's list 'A' student and plans to be an Architect. They were C, D, F students before the GIVE Center and in trouble. Today they are fine, upstanding citizens. We are very proud of them. Thank You so Much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

I did better at the GIVE Center than any other school. The teachers understood me and took the time to care. Ms. Reed Mr. C Mr. Daly and Mr. Henry helped me and really truned me around.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

I attended this school about 4 yrs ago and it completely changed my life for the better. The amazing teachers and the structure of the environment worked wonders for me. I'm a successful high school gradute who is now in school studying healthcare. I know that I wouldn't be where I am today if not for the GIVE Center and there amazing teachers. The small class size and individual attention makes it an ideal environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 30, 2005

I enjoyed being at the G.I.V.E. The teachers there were great. Some of the teachers didn't to much care about the students, some of them spend more time writting you up then teaching you, but most of them did care about the students. I attend to the G.I.V.E last school year. It wasn't a good school to be at but the teachers and staffs there made it to become a good school. I also enjoyed being there because we got out early even though you had to wake up early to get there on time. The only thing i could say about what i didn't like is that there really wasn't any transportation besides the short yellow buses and the dress code (the fact that we had to wear uniforms), but everything else was good though. I really enjoyed being there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2005

When I attended G.I.V.E. I had a really good experience. The teachers helps you when you need it and they don't make it feel like a prison, they try to make it a fun environment to learn and to be in. I was also involved in leadership, which is a very good thing to try and be involved in and helps you meeet more people. The art program is also a fun thing to be involved in even if you aren't the best in art you will learn the basics and be able to build up your abilities. But most important they help you learn from and accecpt the mistake you made to be at the G.I.V.E. center.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

29 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

33 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

35 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

33 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

35 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
41%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
2%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
33%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
38%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
29%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 37%
Hispanic 21% 12%
White 21% 44%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 6:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Durrant Williams
Fax number
  • (770) 338-4899

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

723 Hi-Hope Road
Lawrenceville, GA 30043
Phone: (770) 338-4855

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Agape Jr Academy
Lawrenceville, GA




Oakland Meadow School
Lawrenceville, GA


Moore Middle School
Lawrenceville, GA


Richards Middle School
Lawrenceville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT