Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kanoheda Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1052 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2011

Prior to my daughter's entry into Kanoheda, I was concerned she would not get the best education based on the school's rating on this and other sites. Weighing my options, I made an appointment to be given a tour of the school and meet key staff. Everyone welcomed my interest, and I was really impressed by the school's data showing student achievement. Title I monies allowed for additional resources to support classroom instruction. I observed a clean, orderly school with happy teachers and students. I decided to give the school a try, and I haven't not regreted one day of the nearly three years my daughter has been in attendance. The school has routinely gone above and beyond to meet the academic needs of my gifted student. She loves her school. I routinely volunteer in the school, and I know that these folks do amazing things for their students coming from challenging socioeconomic conditions. Thus, the ongoing deficit of parental involvement. Before judging the value of a school for your child, make sure you fully check into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

I moved to Georgia last summer and I was afraid, not knowing the schools well. My son did very well at Kanoheda. A few minor problems with kids cursing and borthering him. Overall, i kept in great communication w/the AP and teacher and he now going to the 5th, not at Kanaheda, but I hope Grayson ES offers good caring and attentive Teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

I moved to Georgia last summer and I have four children in Kanoheda and we are very happy with all of the staff. Im only sad next year they have to attend a different school for zoning reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I feel the Teachers at Kanoheda has been a tremendous help in the advancement of my children. They should be commended for the work they do with these children. Even though the school is majority spanish, my children still get all the attention they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

The quality of academic programs has been great for the two years my daughter has been there I can only speck for those years. The music, art and sports and other extracurricular has been great as well for her grade level. The parent involvement well if you work and a single parent you miss out on a lot because everything is in the morning while I'm working but if they need me to send things to school I am able to do that at 100% but I would like to be physical involve sometime as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

Kanoheda needs to replace the current principal, in order to become successful. There is massive teacher turn-over (for the past 4 years, since she came) only because of the current principal. Kanoheda needs to retain those great, caring teachers and get rid of the current principal. Keep the great teachers and create a wonderful school environment with quality teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

I had two children to attend Kanoheda and I was extremely pleased with the level of education at this school. The teachers are pleasant and extremely knowledgeable. The overall staff really supports student academic and social progress. The principal is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2007

it seems as though the authorities are do not take parental concerns very seriously or sensitively according to the situation.I would not recommend this school to anyone who is truly concerned about their child's learning or well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

Also, the Parent Center is headed by one of the most fabulous, gifted, caring, dedicated and knowledgeable former teachers you'll ever meet. The woman headed this center is a truly a gift to all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

I am a former paraprfessional from the school and I have a child who attended from K-5 grade. Kanoheda is a great school with a great principal and wonderful teachers who love and care for the well being of all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

Kanoheda is a school on the cusp of change. It's population is changing and the school must grow to meet its needs. IT is facing many challenges. A strong PTA helps combat these problems.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 15, 2005

I am also a member of the schools PTA. We all work together for the goodness of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I belive that the ESOL students are the #1 priority at this school. The average student who might need a little extra help seem to be neglected.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

202 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

204 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

202 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

216 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

218 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

216 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

163 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 12%
Black 33% 37%
White 6% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debra Scott
Fax number
  • (770) 682-4266

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1025 Herrington Rd
Lawrenceville, GA 30044
Phone: (770) 682-4221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bethesda Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA



Corley Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA



Benefield Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT