Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bethesda Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

I am not pleased with this school. It does not feel like a welcoming place for families. It is understandable that with the new principal there would be a period of transition. But the lack of organization and poor customer service is unexceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

It's the little things that matter the most in building a culture of mutual respect among administration, teachers, parents, and students. The teachers have been terrific as long as we've been at the school, but the recently-departed principal and some of the other top-level leaders who have been at the school for more than a few years were not well-suited for their jobs and have had a very negative impact. I'm excited to see the new direction Bethesda is heading with the arrival of the new principal! The school is already becoming a more open, comfortable, welcoming place for students and their families. Well done, Gwinnett County Schools - this change was just what Bethesda needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

My son just started kindergarten and I am very impressed with the school so far and his teacher. My son is learning A LOT in a short period and comes home saying how much he loves his school and teacher. I keep in contact with his teacher about his progress and we are working together to improve his behavior as he's a rambunctious "typical" boy. I feel I have a team at bethesda that is working with us for the betterment of my son. I really couldn't ask for anything more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

It is not the best school kids are not learning my son comes home to do his home work saying they did not go over the work and he doesn t understand, He s a smart kid has been in the principals Honored row list and is just devastating that because majority are Hispanic teachers are not teaching and not caring if they learn or not the only time he learn was in K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

My son had to transfer here when we moved and he will not be going back this year. The school is ruled like an army and the administration is horrid.. Mrs. Twitty is the only person there that I think actually cares about the students and parents and does her job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

I think the principal is very unprofessional in dealing with the public. Her demeanor is rude and uncaring. If you trying to help and volunteer and she hangs up the phone what does that say about her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

I think this school just Awesome!!!!! My son has been there for 4 years now and we could not be happier. The teachers there love to teach and care for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The friendly, loving, supportive staff and the creative intelligent happy kids that they help shape.


Posted August 7, 2008

My son attended Bethesda Elementary for K & 1st. He is going into 2nd grade. His teachers in K & 1st have been supportive of him and our family. PTA should be better communicated with more activities going forward, with more control of siblings/children & volume level. Those who attend to listen have a hard time hearing and participating. PTA was out of control on most days, so we did not participate in 2007/2008 school year... sad! Children are well behaved in the halls. The school is kept clean and seems well maintained. Overall, great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

The only reason this school gets one stars is because of the teachers. The front office administration is horrid. The new principal is clueless and obviously not in control of her staff. Safety is a huge problem at Bethesda. My children are being taken just after attending only 2 weeks of this new school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2006

I've been at Bethesda since the 3rd grade!Now I am a middle schooler but I LOVED Bethesda as my elementary years at first it was pretty hard for me to get used to it because I was new there.But everybody is supper nice and they help you a lot!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

My girls both go to Bethesda Elementary School. Both my girls have had very good teachers the two years they have been at Bethesda. The teachers and school authorities seem to really care about the students. We have been to PTA night and to special events in the gym and cafeteria and have found that parent participation is pretty good. One of my girls is starting chorus this week so they do have extracurricular activities. They also have girlscouts/cubscouts. The only drawback is that this school is 100 years old. It really needs some upgrades to the school. They also have trailers because they don't have enough classrooms in some grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

i thought bethesda elementary school was a great school also, but when i needed them the most, they turned the other cheek. that's when i learned they only help certain people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2005

I think Bethesda is a great school. I am new to not only Gwinnett county, but to Georgia. My child is a third grader at Bethesday. I have found the teacher to be very helpful and attentive to my childs needs. She not only give us weekly updates through email, but she also sends weekly reports home. My child is an A-B student and loves shool and her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

I was a single parent in a new community and could not afford a private school. My Son attended Bethesda from Kindergarden to 3rd Grade (he would have continued through 5th grade but we had to change schools because of re-zoning) and we were very happy with his grades (A-B Average) and the relationship with his teachers. The teachers were easy to talk to and genuinely concerned about his academic & personal life. We have had no regrets and would highly recommend Bethesda Elementary to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Overall I feel Bethesda is a great elementary school, however, I feel the teachers should listen more to the students, when the are trying to let them know of other students bothering them instead of telling them, to stop telling all the time. I feel this type of response is why so many students end up fighting or taking matters into there own hands, and by doing so are labled as having an behavior problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2003

Had a terrible time trying to get extra help for my 4th grader!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

200 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

202 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

200 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

192 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

193 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

192 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

166 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 12%
Black 24% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
White 7% 44%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Deborah Harris
Fax number
  • (770) 931-5690

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 Bethesda School Rd
Lawrenceville, GA 30044
Phone: (770) 921-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kanoheda Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA


Corley Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA


Gwin Oaks Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT