Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richards Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2014

I have met excellent, hardworking teachers and students at Richards Middle School. I like the clean, friendly atmosphere at RMS. This is a great school for learning!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2014

I am a first year teacher at Richards Middle School. My experience here so far has been beyond amazing. I love the faculty and administration. We truly are a family. The students exceed my expectations everyday and I am so proud to be a part of this magnificent school
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2014

Richards is a great school! The students are learning at high levels and their scores show it. Some people think this is a bad school because of the demographics, but why? Are we to believe that all minority schools are ineffective? Here are some of the things going on at Richards: The teachers are the best! They use state of the art technology- technology that some schools cannot afford! The students have robotics, STEM classes, and Write To Learn software. Many schools in gwinnett may be new, but they do not have the funds to maintain this type of excellence. Don't fall for the "minority school is a bad school" joke! Your child will get a great education here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Richards is a wonderful place that has the students and their best interest at the heart of every decision that is made! The one thing this school needs is more parental involvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

I just started school 3 weeks ago, this school isn't horrible but it's not a place to send your child if you or they are serious about their learning. Kids are rough, lots of cursing going on bullying. Students also call teachers name and constantly talk, so you really don't learn a lot.


Posted February 12, 2013

JUST KNOW THE TEACHERS ARE HERE FOR PAY CHECKS........ I WISH I COULD MOVE SCHOOLS


Posted July 9, 2012

The community rating that they gave this school makes me sick. I went to this school for 3 years , 6-8. No, its not the best or brightest school in Gwinnett county. but do they try ? of course! first year i was in regular classes, my regular classes did about just as high as the probe students did on their crcts. not to mention we had alot of fun! My second year , was really fun, i was in probe for the first time, and it was challenging. Every teacher was there at 8:00 in the morning and stayed , after school, to tutor those that were strugelling. So , take it from a student that experienced just about everyday at that school from 6-8. there can be more parent involvment. but dont judge the school , because everyone at that school dosent make the school like that. an individual makes the experience for him/ or herself. I love and miss that school alot. and its okay if you didnt go to that elementary. most of the people there are really nice, and not fake like some of the richer schools. I hope this review helped many students and parents of sudents starting of to go to Richards Middle School.


Posted May 26, 2012

i went to richards from 6-8 an absoulely loved it i am now a sopohmore at greater atlanta christian school. yes, there are bad kids, but ur child doesn't have to hang with them. alot of parents blame the school but its other kids fault for the decline in the enviornment and behavoir. if more parents got involved in the school and their kids lifes the problem wouldn't be so big, and besides there are problems everywhere and rms is great academically.


Posted May 17, 2012

BEWARE!!!!!!! This is an absolutely horrible institution for your child's education. If you are moving to this area I feel sorry for your child. The teachers and administrators are a joke and I have never had such a horrible experience with a school system in all my life. They are not in it for the kids and already have them stereotyped before they even walk in the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

My Son goes to RMS and he likes the school and his teachers. He is a probe student, I am happy that he gets lots of opportunities there to explore himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

My child went to RMS and was kicked out for 2 yrs because she said she would hit the teacher back if she hit her . We went to fake hearing and they waited until 3 hrs before hearing to tell me i could have Att. or ask for any paper work from school then used false reports to . Now they are stopping my child from getting home schooled she can only go to the school jail The GIVE center
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

My daughter is in sixth grade. At the beginning of the 2010-2011 school year my daughter attended Richards Middle School. She was getting into trouble that she never have gotten in before. I don't think it was the school, I just think that it was the enviroment. I moved my daughter out of the school and now she attends Five Forks Middle School which is one of the best school in Georgia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

is just going better and better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

My daughter is going into the 7th grade at RMS and I could never be more happier that she attends here. The new principal focused on accelerating all students and for this reason and in the last two years he's been there, the school has MADE AYP meaning it is not a failing school. I attended a parent meeting and they showed parents how RIchards' students went up academically in all areas. Discipline was never a problem for my daughter and for those who say that Richards is a bad school then they need to look at the community they live in because its those kids that are attending RMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

RICHARDS MIDDLE IS AN AMAZING SCHOOL...EVERYONE IS FRIENDLY AND TRYS AS HARD AS POSSIBLE TO HELP US STUDENTS...... SADLY I WILL BE MOVING ON TO HIGH SCHOOL NEXT YEAR BUT I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER THE FUN LEARNING ENVIRONMENT OF RMS.......GO BLACK KNIGHTS


Posted March 12, 2010

I am a current 7th grader at RMS and it is fabulous!!!!! The teachers are great and are really helpful. They give wonderful discipline and the school is a very safe environment. The students are really nice, so you make plenty of new friends. Richards has a wide variety of extracurricular activities before and/or afterschool to choose from like Video Club, FBLA, Odyssey of the Mind, and Kids for Christ.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2010

I had my daughter transferred out of RMS in Nov. 09. This was the best decision I could have made for her!! She is a 6th Grader & in Probe..so she was new to the school and it was the worst experience for a child. She would have to defend herself at RMS against the bullies! She & I are both so happy to have her at a different school. I had heard bad things for years about RMS but decided I would send her there & we would see for ourselves. Big mistake! Please check out this school ALOT before sending your child there. A concerened parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

i hate this school so much. i'm an 8th grader and have gone here two years, and been in probe since the first day of 7th. 6th grade was the best year ever, because almost all the teachers were amazing:] ms. stephens was principal ( a great one at that) and i wasn't in probe then. and trust me, probe is hard. if you don't understand something, the teachers don't do much to try and help you. i've been scraping by because my friends help me. the teachers can't keep a class under control without using threats and the administration is horrible, and racist. i cannot wait until the day i graduate from this school and move on to central. if you want your child to be happy, don't make them suffer here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2010

I went to this school for about 3 months and i hated it. I would make up excuses so i wouldent hav to go. Some of the students there were really rude and hard to get a long with. Yes there were some good things about the school. But there coverd by the bad experiance I had. The math department was horrible and hard to understand, and languaje was just comfusing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2010

i believe that this school has a few bad teachers, but more good teachers. Even so, i think that this school has many bad things about it. For one, there are quite a few fights because some kids continuously intimidate other students. When the few bad teachers get mad (which is quite often) they yell and sometimes give the whole class silent lunch. Something else is the school lunches. They are usually pretty disgusting! An example would be the lasagna. It is hard, burned, and cold. The last thing is about the lockers. They are so small that I probably could not fit all my books and my binder in them if I wanted to. I rest my case.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

502 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

463 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 37%
Hispanic 31% 12%
White 13% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mark McCain
Fax number
  • (770) 338-4791

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3555 Sugarloaf Pkwy
Lawrenceville, GA 30044
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 995-7133

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Moore Middle School
Lawrenceville, GA


Oakland Meadow School
Lawrenceville, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT