Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Lawrenceville, GA
Students enrolled: 1,423

3 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


57 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Richards Middle School 3

Posted December 04, 2014
- a community member
The newly hired teachers at RMS are extremely poor at resolving issues concerning female students being sexually harassed. Teachers with 0 to 3 years of teaching experience should be required to take courses, or trained to properly consider such cases. A Science teacher at RMS gives a test and make the whole class repeat the exam due to majority of the class failing the exam. This is unethical to any student that study hard and make decent grades. It's not right to punish the dedicated learning students for the lethargic learning students. Most of the students at RMS are disrespectful and incompetent in reference to completing homework, studying for exams, and completing assignments in a timely manner. Students at RMS are focused on being popular, brand names, instagram, kik, and dating. Majority of the students at RMS are not interested in learning. When an educator makes a statement, "I feel sorry for this generation because half of you will decide to drop out of high school," means the future of RMS students is not looking well. Sigh!

Richards Middle School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a teacher
I have met excellent, hardworking teachers and students at Richards Middle School. I like the clean, friendly atmosphere at RMS. This is a great school for learning!
1 person found this helpful


Richards Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a teacher
I am a first year teacher at Richards Middle School. My experience here so far has been beyond amazing. I love the faculty and administration. We truly are a family. The students exceed my expectations everyday and I am so proud to be a part of this magnificent school

Richards Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Richards is a great school! The students are learning at high levels and their scores show it. Some people think this is a bad school because of the demographics, but why? Are we to believe that all minority schools are ineffective? Here are some of the things going on at Richards: The teachers are the best! They use state of the art technology- technology that some schools cannot afford! The students have robotics, STEM classes, and Write To Learn software. Many schools in gwinnett may be new, but they do not have the funds to maintain this type of excellence. Don't fall for the "minority school is a bad school" joke! Your child will get a great education here!

Richards Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a teacher
Richards is a wonderful place that has the students and their best interest at the heart of every decision that is made! The one thing this school needs is more parental involvement.


Richards Middle School 2

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
I just started school 3 weeks ago, this school isn't horrible but it's not a place to send your child if you or they are serious about their learning. Kids are rough, lots of cursing going on bullying. Students also call teachers name and constantly talk, so you really don't learn a lot.
1 person found this helpful

Richards Middle School 1

Posted February 12, 2013
- a community member
JUST KNOW THE TEACHERS ARE HERE FOR PAY CHECKS........ I WISH I COULD MOVE SCHOOLS
1 person found this helpful

Richards Middle School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a community member
The community rating that they gave this school makes me sick. I went to this school for 3 years , 6-8. No, its not the best or brightest school in Gwinnett county. but do they try ? of course! first year i was in regular classes, my regular classes did about just as high as the probe students did on their crcts. not to mention we had alot of fun! My second year , was really fun, i was in probe for the first time, and it was challenging. Every teacher was there at 8:00 in the morning and stayed , after school, to tutor those that were strugelling. So , take it from a student that experienced just about everyday at that school from 6-8. there can be more parent involvment. but dont judge the school , because everyone at that school dosent make the school like that. an individual makes the experience for him/ or herself. I love and miss that school alot. and its okay if you didnt go to that elementary. most of the people there are really nice, and not fake like some of the richer schools. I hope this review helped many students and parents of sudents starting of to go to Richards Middle School.
1 person found this helpful


Richards Middle School 3

Posted May 26, 2012
- a community member
i went to richards from 6-8 an absoulely loved it i am now a sopohmore at greater atlanta christian school. yes, there are bad kids, but ur child doesn't have to hang with them. alot of parents blame the school but its other kids fault for the decline in the enviornment and behavoir. if more parents got involved in the school and their kids lifes the problem wouldn't be so big, and besides there are problems everywhere and rms is great academically.
1 person found this helpful

Richards Middle School 1

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
BEWARE!!!!!!! This is an absolutely horrible institution for your child's education. If you are moving to this area I feel sorry for your child. The teachers and administrators are a joke and I have never had such a horrible experience with a school system in all my life. They are not in it for the kids and already have them stereotyped before they even walk in the door.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Richards Middle School
3555 Sugarloaf Pkwy, Lawrenceville, GA  30044
(770) 995-7133
Last modified Richards Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Richards Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top