Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1342 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

I'm very disappointed about this school. The teacher never responds to the notes I send her. My son is in 2nd grade and he has been bull a lot he comes home bruise from some kids, spitting on his face and pushing him around. This school is very unorganized and this school is an embarrassment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

My child is going into the fifth grade and what we have dealt with in the 4th grade 2012-2013 year was horrifying and an embarrassment to this school. The AP MS. Valrie is the least to be desired in regards to handling situation of BULLIES on and off the bus at this school. My son was verbally threaten several times and even assaulted 15 times to his ribs area on the bus with NO punishment to the bully not even a suspension off the bus. Yes I do agree with the comment below that the TEACHERS not Administrators but the TEACHERS at this school are WONDERFUL. My child every year because of the teachers at this school exceeded the CRCT. TEACHERS ARE WONDERFUL! Administration is the least to be desired! Personal opinion put your child in karate and teach your child to fight back if necessary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My 17+ years at this school under the leadership of 5 principals has been the best experience of my life. CHES presents itself as a "family" that grows each year by building relationships between parents/ teachers/ counselors/ students/administrators and providing quality education to all students utilizing on-going staff development in and outside of the school. Staff is hired after interviewing w/a committee of admin/teachers, ensuring the continuation of a quality school where the children are our top priority not only academically, but also socially and emotionally. We encourage parents to be a part of their child's educ. through conferences, family activities, volunteering, and other special events - some which bring our staff outside the school to our community. It is a place where ALL children are loved, nurtured, educated and above all, safe. One of CHES' special characteristics is the diversity of it's population. We bring understanding of and meaning to all cultures - at CHES, we teach the "whole" child and they will make our nation greater-a place where everyone gets along. At CHES we care about your child's present...AND their future. IT'S A GREAT PLACE TO BE!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2012

This school leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to the administration. The principal and her assistants don't know which end is up when it comes to conflict resolution and effective communication. A great school for the "hands off" parent because the teachers make sure the lesson is taught. However if you are looking for any dialogue between parents and leadership DO NOT ENROLL your student here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

Cedar Hill has been a great experience for my family and our three kids. The teachers and administration greet us with a smile and engage our kids in the classroom. They provide timely feedback and respond to inquiries appropriately. Grades are provided on the counties parent portal so we can track out kids academic progress daily. Cedar Hill provides several family-oriented activities such as the Science Fair, Literacy Night, International ("food tasting") Night, and the Math Fair. Dr. Bearse is a wonderful principal who greets use at every school event. Parents may have nothing to say but hello, but Dr. Bearse will say something that prompts a conversation or comment. My kids know her by name and converse with her every opportunity they get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2010

Cedar Hill has been a great experience for my daughter. Her teachers for the last 4 years have been wonderful. She's been challenged tremendously. Mrs. Frame, Mrs. McBride, Mrs. Mylander, Mrs. Hunt, and Ms. Otten are amazing teachers. Mr. Asztalos is also a wonderful FOCUS teacher. I know she has learned so much from them. While the school isn't the best, their teachers, at least the ones my daughter has had, are excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

This school is not for the parent who wants there child to succeed in academics. My son Kindergarten teachre Ms. Mitchell was wonderful and then the teacher quality hit rock bottom. I believe a lot of it is because the parents are not involved and uninterested, which allows the teachers to become unmotivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

All staff are the best!!! They are kind & caring. Very informative & they make you feel good about your kids going to that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

Overall Cedar Hill is a good school. The important thing to remember is stay involved as a parent in your childs education. The only complaint that I have is that I have to constantly ask the teachers how my childrens grades are. Also they do not hold the children responsible for not turning in assignments and I did not find out that my children would be missing assignments unless I contacted the teachers. This year will be my second year at Cedar Hill, I am anticpating that it will be better than the first. My daughter who is going to the sixth grade this year had A's, B's and C's for the first time since 3rd grade so I was happy about that. I finally seem to get her some assistance while at Cedar Hill. Overall it's a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Great school for my children! Mrs. Rogers and Mrs. Hunt. Excellent job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My son started at Cedar Hill in the middle of his kindergarten school year last year. Miss Jackson and Mrs Watkins were very welcoming and academic wise, he was doing more work and reading than he did at his previous school. He never showed sign of missing his other school. His first grade teacher, Miss Skiver, is amazing and he adores her. She is very smart and responsive to any questions or concerns that I may have. She is motivating and encouraging. I can only hope that his teachers in the years to come will be as great. We lost my sister in the fall and Miss Skiver, Miss Smith, Mrs. Baker, and the staff were very suportive, patient, and understanding to my son's needs. Thank you for everything you do. The move to this school was one of the best decision I've made for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

I will not move until my girl is ready to rise to middle school. Cedar Hill is top notch. [She] has been at CH since Kindergarten. She was thrown serious emotional issues which have been trying for her, Myself and the school. Her teachers, counselors and administration all go the extra mile to help her become a successful adult.We communicate frequently and work as a team. All the patience and hard work has really shown itself in second grade. She definitely has many more good days than bad. Special kudos to Mrs. Isles and Ms. Franklin for their limitless patience and concern. Many more CH staff have played a part in [her] experience thanks to all of them. You will be happy with Cedar Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

My son attended Cedar Hill from kindergarten and part of first grade until we recently moved. I would highly recommend Mrs. Yost to teach your child. She is absolutely phenomenal! She has so much patience and provided a fantastic learning atmosphere for my son. Kindergarten for my son at Cedar Hill was a positive experience. Truthfully I can not say the same for his first grade year. His first grade teacher had no patience and did not communicate effectively with me as a parent or my son. Needless to say, the day I went to withdraw my son from Cedar Hill, the front office administrative staff were not helpful at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Academically they are good they strive to do better and make necessary improvments for the welfear of the students and the school. Extracurricular are ok but, across the county system I believe these programs should be stressed more and considered a need for the students not an extra activity. Parent involvement could use improvement but, is better than the other 5 schools that my oldest has attended. Overall it is a great, welcoming, friendly school and always open to change and improvement. I have truley enjoyed they wonderful experiences my kids have had there. The PTA is in transition right now but, does wonder things for the students and the administration and teachers also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

I absolutely love Mr. Dillon. My daughter cried when she missed school due to the flu last season. The time and dedication that he has put into Ninti in first grade has reflected in her progress. Thanks Mr. Dillon you are wonderful. Ninti loves you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

Always available and on top of performance, Cedar Hill encourages my children to perform to the best of their ability and makes our family part of the progress. We love it here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2003

Cedar Hill does a great job communicating with their parents. A strong PTA and cooperative leadership make this a good environment for both parent and child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

222 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

223 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

223 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

241 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

242 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

241 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

235 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 36% 37%
Hispanic 35% 12%
White 14% 44%
Asian 11% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan Bearse
Fax number
  • (678) 377-8980

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3615 Sugarloaf Pkwy
Lawrenceville, GA 30044
Phone: (770) 962-5015

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakland Meadow School
Lawrenceville, GA




Craig Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA


Benefield Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT