Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freeman's Mill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 883 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

We moved from the UK and this was my daughters first experience of school in the USA. I must say this school has exceeded my expectations. This is her second year there and is really enjoying it. The middle and high school linked to the school are very good too. I would have rated the school a five if it had extra curricular activities, apart from variety shows and concerts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

We moved here from out of state and our daughter is in First Grade. Her teacher was so welcoming! We have been very impressed with the school so far. They have just been awarded that Governor's Gold Award for student achievement which is fabulous. However, beyond that they are a caring school and our daughter is flourishing in this environment. We are so thrilled that we chose this school to send her to! All the times that I have been at the school I have seen the principal walking in the hallways and really interacting with the students. The school is such a positive, happy place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We love this school, teachers and all the staff. They make it very easy to be involved and it is such a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

Great school my son loves his teacher but he always complains about the gym and there are no extra- curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Great school. Needs more extra- curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I believe that this school has an proven educational record with instructors that motivate children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

Freeman's Mil is a great school. I feel as if my children are getting a private school education for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

It sounds like the previous parent has had a bad experience, however Freemans Mill is by far the best elementary school in gwinnett county. My daughter has had a substitute teaacher once this year and could not stop raving about the teacher. I believe that FMES would hold the same high standard for substitutes as it does for the rest of its staff. I do not agree that FMES would allow frequent absenteeism from a teacher. Remember that FMES is a Georgia Distinguished School of Excellence and tardiness from teachers would not have got it that title.There is bound to be a teacher in every school that a parent has a problem with. I hope you can resolve your differences. There must be some good in the teacher/teachers in question for FMES to have hired them. Freemans Mill is still by far the best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 19, 2008

I agree that the leadership is excellent. however there have been hidden politics here with the hiring of certain teachers. Thus there is one or two reachers hired that should not be here.Be prepared to have an outstanding teacher one year and then a teacher the next that lacks communication skills and is not very organised. Parents should really stand up and let all know their experience with teachers that are not up to par as such teachers will ultimately weigh bad on a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

Yes the leadership is excellent. The quality of teachers and teacher commitment is spotty. Some are qualified and experienced one or two however are not. Be prepared for many substitute teacher days from certain teachers. My experience is that there are several teachers who are away frequently as a result of which children are taught by substitutes with major breaks in continuity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

Freeman's Mill is an outstanding school. Everyone in the front office, the teachers, the cafeteria workers. They are all very nice and helpful. Mrs. Sproles is the best 1st grade teacher ever. She is teaching the younget of my 5 children and is one of the best I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I think Freeman's Mill Elementary is an outstanding school. From the front office to the Principal and the entire staff, they are all welcoming and inviting. Mrs. Marian Hicks, the Principal, has done a fantastic job! She is warm and approachable, with many years of educational experience who sincerely loves the children. She appreciates her staff and repeatedly lets them know how important they are. Because of this the students can feel this and test scores have never been higher!!! Kudos to Mrs. Marian Hicks and extraordinary outstanding staff at Freeman's Mill Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

This school has excellent leadership this year. Our PTA involvement has increased. There are many other exceptional teachers at FMES that we applaud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

My daughter has been going to this school for the past 5 yrs and loves it. I appreciate the way Dr Hodges ancourages parent involvement. I eat lunch with my child every week and help in her class often, and always feel very welcome. The PTA is excellent. The school has alot of extracurricular activities, which we have really enjoy. And there are alot of PTA events throughout the year which my child really looks forward to. I whith out a doubt recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

I am thrilled with the excellent way this school is run. They are truely interested in the education of the children. Dr. Hodges does an outstanding job. Mrs. Reece (1st grade) is a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2004

Teachers show genuine concern for the students and the faculty does an excellent job communicating with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

Great Teachers and a great school. Very organized and well run. The area, in general, has good schools and Freemans Mill stands out. The teachers seem to have genuine concern for their students welfare and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

173 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

174 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

173 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

152 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

152 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 44%
Black 18% 37%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2303 Old Peachtree Rd
Lawrenceville, GA 30043
Phone: (678) 377-8955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Gerard Preparatory School
Lawrenceville, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT