Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J. A. Alford Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
This school is an absolute joke. Almost 5 weeks into the school year, they sent a letter notifying parents that they have staff members who are not qualified in the eyes of the state, but feel an "assurance" from the principle is enough to let it slide. Yeah, lets just "wing it" when it comes to the education of kids, right? Never have I heard of a school who even remotely thinks this is an acceptable practice. Downright disgusted as a parent with a little one going to school here for the 1st time. And the amount of homework? A project, a homework packet 9 pages long, and an extra two packets to be completed, all in one week? This is first grade that we are talking about. On top of that, they switch teachers around due to "numbers"?? And we're barely in September!

J. A. Alford Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
Some time it just seem that the teachers wait until it is near testing time and then dump a lot of homework on the student.

J. A. Alford Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
I have observe when students act out for whatever reason the teacher give them a opportunity to express if they have a good reason for acting a certain way.

J. A. Alford Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
Teacher really take a interest in whether or not the student is understanding what they are being taught. Dr. Davis the school principal is very involved and listening to the parents recommendation and concerns. Parents education center allows parents to stay involved in their children school work and to assist with extra material for the parents when needed.

J. A. Alford Elementary School 1

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
Highly disagree with the graduation ceremony of my son; Every year should be very special to them, but apparently not having much importance to the organizers of the school. The ceremony began with the hymn of Allegiance led by the school principal and finished very fast and without taking much importance, followed by the presentation of diplomas to students who really was super fast and without interest, enthusiasm was not perceived during the ceremony because the director was in a hurry for wanting to end the ceremony. Instead of looking at a graduation ceremony for our children was mostly handing out diplomas and goodbye.. I hope to change that style of ceremony and are accustomed to performing in that school. If time is the problem! They should be organized in time, because our children are waiting with great excitement that moment that their efforts at school; otherwise only delivered the diplomas in their classroom ..

J. A. Alford Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
My kids are going to this great school. There is no trailer like any other schools. The teachers and staffs are very nice and helpful. My kids enjoys school.

J. A. Alford Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
Alford is a great school with top notch teachers and staff. Couldn't ask for more!!

J. A. Alford Elementary School 4

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 kids at Alford now--my oldest is in 2nd grade and has been going to Alford since kindergarten, and my son just started kindergarten this fall. My kids and I like Alford. The teachers my kids have had have been great. The principal is really awesome, and the school makes a real effort to get parents involved and motivate kids to be their best. I got no complaints other than that I hear my son say he's watched a TV show there (I think possibly while waiting for the bus). I think tv--DESPITE being minimal and educational--has no place in a school. Otherwise, Alford does a great job. I gotta say, though: I'm surprised there haven't been any parent reviews since 2012. Where are all the Alford parents?!?!

J. A. Alford Elementary School 1

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
Substandard special education program. One would think that with the funds this Title 1 school receives they would sufficient staff the Special Ed. department with trained and experienced personnel. One would also think that they would be interested in ensuring that their faculty follow the laws outlined in IDEA.

J. A. Alford Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2009
- a teacher
Alford is a wonderful school. The studnets, faculty, and parents are great!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J. A. Alford Elementary School
2625 Lawrenceville Hwy, Lawrenceville, GA  30044
(678) 924-5300
Last modified J. A. Alford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J. A. Alford Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top