Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Lawrenceville, GA
Students enrolled: 100
Before care: No
After care: No
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

It is a challenge to do something different. There will be times what you do is working, and other times when you realize that what works for one does not work for another. At Gerard our mission is to find a way to educate each child based on their personal strengths and weaknesses. We believe in their growth potential. But growth takes time and adaptability. At Gerard we are willing to invest the time and create the opportunities. For over 30 years it has been our passion, and it just keeps reigniting year after year. Amid the expanding demand for smaller class sizes and focus on personal achievement over test scores, we are blessed to get to serve families in our community and beyond.
November 10, 2014

4 stars
Based on 52 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


53 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gerard Preparatory School 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
Progress reports came home few weeks ago and both of my children were so excited to see their hard work and support from their school. I am very pleased with the school year this far and can hardly wait for more to come! THANK YOU GPS teachers and staff for going the extra mile!

Gerard Preparatory School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a community member
The "horrible" feedback spanning as far back as 7 years ago (thanks to technology that did not reach back 30 years ago, which might have alerted others beforehand) cannot possibly be from the same parent(s), as they would have learned their lesson before sending additional children to attend this school.... This is a forum for ALL experiences, whether good or bad, and it is completely obvious when "horn-tooting" is going on, whether by parents, teachers, admin, or "anonymous" posts...just do your best, and let God handle the rest, as the truth ALWAYS inevitably prevails, exposing obvious patterns and defensiveness! Our experience with this school has not proven to be in the best interest of our child, but regardless, everyone is accountable for their actions or INACTION, which will have to be answered for by ALL participating parties accountable for the outcome, but by the same token, our experience is truthful and can be proven beyond the shadow of a doubt! We seek only to inform, not condemn, as that job is beyond our scope and not subject to our meager input, but the proof and truth always eventually surfaces! We are only accountable to GOD! So there it is...


Gerard Preparatory School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
We as parents at Gerard do not know who continues to try to give horrible feed back about our school, but we sincerely wish you would stop. What is said is not true and is highly inflammatory. If you were unhappy at our school, then we are glad you decided to leave, but please don't threaten a school that we love. Thank you.
1 person found this helpful

Gerard Preparatory School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a community member
Over 30 years tried and true... A school can't be around that long and have it's graduates come back to visit if it's not a great school. This is a great school. I graduated and went on to Indiana Wesleyan University where I am finishing my courses to become a Pastor. The seeds planted in morning chapel and the loving mentor teachers impacted my life then and will continue to do so in the future. I am proud to be a former student of Gerard.
1 person found this helpful

Gerard Preparatory School 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointing school and such a waste of taxpayer money with the SB10 voucher program. Teacher turnover is < 1 year. Student turnover is < 2 years. Read between the lines with all the 5 star reviews inundated with exclamation points.
2 people found this helpful


Gerard Preparatory School 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
What do I think others should know about Gerard? The leadership is inept ad highly disorganized on many levels. Teacher turnover is through the roof (and it's not because their salaries are too low like their story goes). The leadership does a disservice to the Christian and educational community we live in.
3 people found this helpful

Gerard Preparatory School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Gerard Prep. has capable and caring administration and staff. My son attended this school. He went on to attend UT and later Boston College, where he earned his Masters degree in Education. I am proud of him and so thankful for his time at GPS.

Gerard Preparatory School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Gerard has truly been a blessing to us and our student. He began there in 4th grade and moved up to 5th grade after only a few months. We started him there after public school's focus became CRCT and nothing for gifted students. He was able to have one on one teaching and to have activities that allow students to think outside the box and gain academic knowledge as well as life skills. We believe in Gerard and the variety they offer in drama, music, computers and foreign language. We felt this school was like a small family and loved how the younger kids looked up to the older kids and the older kids loved working with them through plays, volunteer activities, tutoring, or reading to classes. Gerard was just what our student needed and has great leadership as well as great teachers that really enjoy teaching and working with students. As parents we were able to be involved in several volunteer activities and enjoyed the many student events we attended. That same student graduated from Gerard this year as Valedictorian and we are grateful for all the support and encouragement he received from leadership as well as teachers over the years! We wish Gerard continued success!


Gerard Preparatory School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a community member
Gerard has been a blessing for its students, providing a small classroom environment that not only builds academic skills, but also character and confidence. Students who have fallen behind in their academic skills are given the one-on-one attention they need to grow and rebuild their knowledge base. I truly believe in this school and its continued success in its students!

Gerard Preparatory School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a community member
This school is a wonderful institution doing amazing things with it's students! The teachers care only making students more eager to learn!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gerard Preparatory School
1288 Braselton Hwy, Lawrenceville, GA  30043
(770) 277-4722
Last modified Gerard Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Gerard Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top