Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benefield Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

the best school in gwinnet county.I mosty like everything my child has been there for 7 years now and liked all those years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

My son has been attending Benefield Elementary for two years now. The teachers and administration are great. We love the school. They definitely support advanced kids...with adjusting appropriate reading and math levels. We are happy to have our son complete elementary grades at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

i highly recomend benefield elementary school great teachers,principal,the nurse is such a sweetheart takes good care of the kids when they are sick my kids love it also the front desk personnel make you feel welcomed..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

I can truly say Benefield Elementary has been by far the best school that my son has been to. The staff is great but what I love about this school the most is the assistance that my son has received is amazing. His current 5th grade teacher Mrs. Myer as well as the other 5th grade staff has been working with him to help increase his grades in his weak areas. And he has improved tremendously, if you are in the Gwinett area and is not happy with your child current school I recommend you to look into this school for next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

My son and daughter have been at this school for 2 years now and I am very impressed with the progress they have made. We relocated here from TN and I must admit, the core curriculum is more advanced and I enjoy the feedback from the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

The teachers are amazing - most of them. They go above and beyond to ensure students are successfull. Howeverm The administration is horrible, which I believe causes lots of problems. I have watched concerned teachers told to keep quiet and do as they are told. I've witnessed the principal refuse to disapline a child that was brought to the office for fighting. He was actually given a candy if he promised to behave and sent back to the room. All I could think was omg if this student was in my child's room the teacher must feel helpless. This was the 5th year we have been at the school and you can feel the poor moral when you walk in. Over the last several years teachers appear unhappy and over worked. You use to walk in and everyone was smiling and happy - genuine. Now is all seems fake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

This is our second year at Benefield and we love it! I have two children who attend and have thoroughly enjoyed both the teachers and the administration at the school. We were involved with the summer reading program which received national spotlight for teachers who are willing to donate their summers to improving their students' reading abilities. I am a parent volunteer for the classroom and see many of the classes when other parents do not. The students are engaged and enthusiastic about learning (which is not as easy as you think)!!! This is a wonderful school community and I believe my children are blessed to have such amazing teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

Omg, Really? Is it really the schools fault that your son don't know how listen when told to? If the school has to keep changing your sons homeroom teacher beacuse he's not listening, and constantly being bad everyday to the point where teachers/staff can't even deal with him then, YOU must be doing something wrong at home. It is not the schools responsibilly to get your child in check, no that happens at home. Yes your child is the schools responsibility for the time being that he is in school, but your kids is acting up on the daily bases everyday, then the school does not have to put up with his behavoir. That is something you need to control, because Benefield is awsome school, it has so much going for the children. So no just because the school doesnt know how to handle your child and his behavior then no it is not their fault. You need better control over your child. If your son doesn't want to listen what lunch assistants have to say if they constantly tekll him to be quite and stop fooling on the daily bases, that is your problem not theirs. I love benefield my brother goes there with last year, he has been there since the 1st grade he is now in 5th. GOOD JOB BENEFIELD(:


Posted May 27, 2011

This is one of the WORST elementary schools in Gwinnett Cty. Very few teachers there take the steps necessary to deal with children that have behavior issues like the previous parent stated. Towards the end of the year, my childs teacher took leave and in a 3wk time span, my child's teacher was changed 3x and because none of the teachers wanted to deal with him, he was constantly passed off from teacher to teacher and was mistreated by them because of his behavior. My child walked into his classroom one morning and was immediately (without doing anything wrong) was told by his teacher to go to another room because it was friday and she didnt feel like dealing with him. Yet they wondered why he was continually giving them a hard time. They even tried to suspend him in the last week of school for not doing all of his work, then the day before school ended, they called me stating they were suspending him from the last day of school because he was talking in the cafeteria and was asked several times to stop talking and playing around. I have called the superintendants office and left several messages and to this day, have yet to receive a call back. Benefield is the absolute worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

School was unwilling to help my son with behavior issue before he was diagnosed with ADHD and even revoked his Transfer
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

230 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

233 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

230 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

227 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

229 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

227 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

180 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 37%
Hispanic 41% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
White 7% 44%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa E Walker

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1221 Old Norcross Rd
Lawrenceville, GA 30045
Phone: (770) 962-3771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mckendree Elementary School
Lawrenceville, GA






Oakland Meadow School
Lawrenceville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT