Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science and Technology

Charter | 9-12 | 544 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2014

This school is great, but the system and program is not. Specifically, the A and B block classes. I personally do not like them. I think because those classes are block periods, the teachers think they can stuff our brains with material in those 2 hours. And of course, assign never ending homework. I am currently a freshman and am waiting for the year to be over. It is overwhelming and my grades were not so good first semester. Half my time I am finishing homework for one of those classes everyday. It is either L.A or chemistry. I really do not like it, and I think that this A and B day block schedule should end. Students should have every class every day. Other than that, this is truly a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2013

Amazing!! Great High school. Yes, it is not for everyone! you have to be driven to learn and wants to be success. You need to study average of 3-4 hours a day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

This school is amazing. The students are so driven to learn and the faculty is so willing to aid in our success. It's a decent-sized workload, greater than your average high school, but the benefits greatly outweigh the disadvantages. Don't get me wrong, though. This school is fun, too. The biggest mistake I made going into this school was thinking it wasn't enjoyable at all. Almost immediately, you'll establish close relationships with students and teachers. After school a lot of people walk to restaurants near by to hang out and eat, or just talk. Classes seem to be a bit more lenient than an average high school, however that may just be my freshman classes. It's still up to you, however, to maintain your grades and agenda. The first year you're here, you'll take a Language Arts class, a Chemistry class, a Physics & Engineering class [abbreviated as PhysEng (fizz-enj)], a foreign language class (either German, Spanish, or Chinese), a math class (either Accelerated Algebra, Accelerated Geometry, or 1 semester Geometry, and 1 semester Pre-Calc.), and an elective. I love this school overall, and I never plan to leave. I hope you feel the same!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2012

I LOVE this school! I am currently a freshman and I believe that GSMST is the school for me! It is not too big but not too small, it is the perfect size for people coming from both private and public schools. There is a somewhat "family" type of relationship between everyone. There are many fun activities and al lot of times, educational activities that GSMST supports are the Best, such as robotics which have gone to nationals twice in a row and the streak is continuing. There is a lot of work required but overall if you put in your work, the experience that you get out of it is absolutely worth it and worthwhile. I know that GSMST is making and will make me someone with high levels of intelligence, critical thinking, and responsibility. I cannot explain my feelings about GSMST other than: I LOVEEEEE IT! I also love how we are so electronically based that each student receives a laptop! :) THANKS GSMST! I LOVE YOUUU!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2011

I love this school . I am a student here. The students and faculty are the most accepting out of all the schools i have been to. And the amount of learning we do here is great. We really do focus on our studies. We have many student leadership programs. We also have a great internship program and a coordinator that can get us any internship we want. It is amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2011

An amazing school that provides opportunities well beyond the average high school. It is not for everyone, however.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 40% 3%
White 29% 44%
Black 18% 37%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

970 McElvaney Ln
Lawrenceville, GA 30044
Phone: (678) 518-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Phoenix High School
Lawrenceville, GA



Oakland Meadow School
Lawrenceville, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT