Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Archer High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

Archer High School, in my opinion, has done an outstanding job. My son has attended Archer for four years (Senior...and college bound) and has enjoyed EVERY DAY. I must give the teachers a round of applause. He has been fortunate enough to have the most wonderful teachers a parent could ask for. To keep teenagers engaged in this day and age is extremely hard. I would have to say that thanks to them (the teachers and staff) that my son has exceeded/excelled and is looking forward to college. His teachers have really prepared him for the next level of his education. I can't thank them enough. As a parent this is the most amazing feeling. Yes, WE ARE ARCHER...and YES ARCHER High School Band ROCKS!!!!! So does the Band Director, Mr. Wolfe. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU, ARCHER!!!! From a VERY proud parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

We moved to Ga a couple of years ago and decided to send our child to Archer instead of our assigned school. Overall we have been very pleased with the school. We especially are pleased with the amount of help that the counselors give the students. My child's counselor is always available and the receptionist in the counselors office is amazing. She is always giving the students information that can help them and has a great relationship with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I believe the education is probably the same as the various schools within the district but I think there may be a little bit of racism in which I hate to throw a race card, but it is still Georgia. Some of the teachers I feel are more likely to work with certain students and the others are left to their own devices. I chose to take my student to this school as an out of zone student but I think I am having regrets :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I just moved to the area which is zoned for Archer High for my incoming 9th grader to attend. The first person I saw and interacted with was the Receptionist/Registrar; she couldn't decide which title she was apparently, until she felt like doing the roles of those job descriptions. Ms. Turner is imcompetent and lazy and selectively hels who she feels like talking to. She is not the face of Archer that should be greeting new parents and students. Ms Thompson in Registration and the 9th grade counselor Ms. Morton definitely turned our perception to the positive with their professionalism and helpful attitudes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

Great school full of students who wanted to be there. Much better school than most in Gwinnett County. I knew many teachers and worked with the staff my senior year, and loved them all. Teachers cared about the students and wanted to help and Dr. Buck was a great principal who really made an effort to get to know students and listen to their concerns. Great school and transferring here was one of the best choices I ever made.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2012

Former student!!!!!!!!!!!!!yeah, um archer isnt all thats it's cracked up to be its regular learnin like at every school, and if anything its socially worse, just alot of wanna be rich people trying to live up to something there not
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2012

This school is so far one of the best i've been in. It's a very luxurious new school est.2009. The school itself is big (3 floors) the teachers do what they are suppose to do & the students do their part too. It's surrounded by new mansions being built & decent high class residences. I am a honors student at Archer High & I am proud. WE ARE ARCHER. THE LAND OF THE TIGERS! One thing is this, Archer High is a school that's doing what it's suppose to do. Learn new knowledge & focus on what's neccesary to be someone in life. It's DEFINITLY not a school to play around in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2011

Best High School better than Grayson and Dacula! Also with Middle Schools McConnell is a lot better than Dacula Middle!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

334 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

329 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

332 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

333 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

475 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

587 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

619 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

622 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
85%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 44%
Black 35% 37%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Charles Buchanan

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2255 New Hope Rd
Lawrenceville, GA 30045
Phone: (678) 407-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grayson High School
Loganville, GA



Faith Academy
Loganville, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT