Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oglethorpe County High School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
I believe school is what you make of it. OCHS is a great school with hard working teachers. My daughter's teachers go above and beyond to make sure their students learn. The teachers and administration care about the students. It is a small school with fewer options than larger schools but the environment is more personal.

Oglethorpe County High School 2

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Administration makes uneven and sometimes very bad decisions (for example: ask about 2013 1st Semester AP Spanish, in specific the now defunct requirement that a student taking AP classes MUST also take AP Spanish and the exit of 2/3rds of the students before 2nd semester); Academic curriculum has been slashed over the three years and bands / arts programs downgraded and now a shadow of its former self, yet the sports programs not only have not been cut but expanded; ONLY seven (7) student clubs of which four (Beta, National Honor, Student Government & Yearbook) are not open to everyone. That leaves three clubs (FCA, Ecomaniacs, & Academic Bowl) for the general student population. Do the research form your own opinion.


Oglethorpe County High School 2

Posted April 27, 2013
- a student
I think its a good School but I hate how you get in trouble by the simplest thing and the bus drivers are beyond unfair like Ms. McDaniel she need to be reported.....

Oglethorpe County High School 4

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
I believe that OCHS is a great school, it is not as big as other schools but i think that is why it is a wonderful shcool. Students get the help they need and they address it with the studend without making the student feel uncomfortable or emberassed in any way. They work with them 1 on 1 pretty much, the attention the kids get is great. The education is great. They are firm but fair! I like the fact that they are strict on the students. I am very happy that my brother graduated from this school.

Oglethorpe County High School 5

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Oglethorpe County High School 1

Posted July 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Oglethorpe County High School 4

Posted May 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oglethorpe County High School 1

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
I think that the teachers are more worried about coaching instead of getting my child prepared for college.


Oglethorpe County High School 4

Posted October 05, 2008
- a parent
I think OCHS and the other schools in Oglethorpe County are very good. They all made AYP and the graduation rates are improving each year. Firm but fair! They are very strict on students who repeatedly refuse to follow the rules. I like that. My kids are doing very well there.

Oglethorpe County High School 5

Posted March 24, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oglethorpe County High School
749 Athens Rd, Lexington, GA  30648
(706) 743-8124
Last modified Oglethorpe County High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oglethorpe County High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top