Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oglethorpe County Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 542 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

72 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2009

Oglethorpe County Primary School is the best! The teachers care about the students are keep parents informed. The administrators help keep things running smoothly. This is just a fantastic place for my children to get an education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Oglethorpe County Primary School is a friendly and nurturing environment. My daughter is not only receiving an excellent education but she is having a great time as well. She loves getting up every morning and going to school. This school does an excellent job of providing a rigorous education and nurturing the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I have always been impressed with the warm and caring atmosphere of the primary school. The teachers are dedicated to making each student feel special. The quality of education is excellent.


Posted September 18, 2009

My experience with OCPS has been incredible. The teachers teach their students in a fun and exciting way that encourages the children to want to learn. Thank you OCPS. We look forward to 3 more years with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

great school, keep you informed about your children's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great special education program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

OCPS teachers are so loving and give so much to their students. The school is very welcoming to parents and volunteers! It has been a great school for both of my kids....please choose our school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love OCPS because the teachers are so loving to the students. The teachers go out of their way to help each child succeed and feel successful throughout the school year. My third child is going through this school and adores it. Please choose our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The love and strong education all rolled into one is someting that is evident everyday at OCPS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The primary school has always been open, friendly, and most of all the teachers promote and strive for perfection in instruction. The staff allows the parents to be involved as mentors with their kids and anyone else who needs it. Personally, Dad's Day has been my highlight for the past 6 years. The Primary School is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This school has helped my son become a better person in believing in himself!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My son enjoys the school staff so much! He love his teacher, Miss Mathis. As a parent I am pleased to see how caring everyone, including his teacher, is towards all the students. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

OCPS takes great care of the young child! They foster a love of learning in a caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My grandson, Austin has learned so much in his pre-k and then kindergarden class. They take such pains to teach them and they really retain what they are learning!!! I think it is a wonderful school!!!


Posted September 17, 2009

Both my grand chrildren go their and seems to be doing real good in school.


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers are great. They really care about all the kids. Its just like one big happy family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers really care about 'their' kids. They go above and beyond to make sure the children are ready for the next step in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love the school and all the teachers are wonderful. Many of them have done so much to help my son since he has started school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This is a great and caring school. They have the best first grade teacher...Mrs. Mathis. She is new to the school, but she isn't new to knowing how to care for a child and seeing the best come out of them. Great pick OCPS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers all really care about the students and the administration is extremely approachable. It's a 'happy feeling' school when you walk down the hallways.Go Pandas!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

168 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

167 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

168 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

184 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

184 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

184 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 44%
Black 18% 37%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Olivet James-Robinson
Fax number
  • (706) 743-5720

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Comer Rd
Lexington, GA 30648
Phone: (706) 743-8194

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT