Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lilburn Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1424 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 26, 2013

This school is terrible. The amount of control the school puts on the students is abnormal because there is an excessive amount of rules. First of all, to go to the restroom, you have to get a teacher to sign your agenda, you have to fill out the sign out sheet in the classroom, go to the academy/office and fill out the sign out sheet there too. Then, you can finally go to the restroom, but when you're finished, you can't go back to your class. You have to go back to the office and log in the time you came back and get the office clerk to sign your agenda to go back to class. Isn't that a lengthy process just for an everyday occurrence? Also, the teachers walk you practically everywhere! They walk you to lunch, the restroom (the whole class has to walk to the restroom together), and to each class. Furthermore, the school's students are also a cause to condition the school is in. They're loud, rowdy, immature, and unsanitary. The students throw trash in the desks and all over the classroom. All in all, this isn't the best school in Gwinnett.


Posted September 8, 2013

This school had improved after mr.richie came to this school the writing scores came up very high and alot of people didn't fail, the crct scores went up too cause the teachers actually care about the students example Ms.Furtney, Ms.Bacon , Mr.RIchie & other teacher do too


Posted July 22, 2013

Parents, if you care about your child's education and overall well-being, it is best to avoid bringing your child here. I taught at this school, so I know what really goes on. The problem is not the teachers, which some are very qualified and knowledgeable, but the administration. The hiring of the latest top administrator for school year 12-13 dramatically worsened the school. There was a total of 22 teachers who resigned, including myself, because we could not take the abuse by the administrators. The morale is extremely low among the staff, and as a teacher, we are not allowed to voice our concerns, ideas, or opinions. Mistreatment usually follows if we do. LMS has a predominantly Hispanic population, but administration does little to help that demographic, and a times belittles those students. Many students pass on to the next grade, but should really be held back. The administrators coerce teachers to make sure students do not fail. Take a look at some of the student's reviews below and judge for yourself how a student in middle school is writing (misspellings, grammar, punctuation). A restructuring of the administration is needed to improve the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 7, 2012

I am withdrawing my two daughters from this school. They have been there for 3 months and they complain every other day. I went up to the school on several occasions and they refused to speak with me. They finally set up a meeting with the administration and we are still experiencing incident after incident. My daughter has made three incident reports; enough is enough. I would like to report what those incidents were but out of protection of my daughter I wont disclose it here. The school is full of teachers that do not care and students that are unruly and disrespectful. There is a lot of inappropriate behavior that goes on daily with these kids and teachers do nothing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

We moved from California looking for a better future for our kids. It all begun when one teacher missed informed the students and told them that Mexico was in Central America and my son corrected her and said that Mexico was in North America, teacher became furious, called me and said that my son was making fun of her while she was teaching. I asked her what was the problem, when she informed me and I also corrected her. After that for every little thing she was always giving my son detention and would give him in school suspension, at one point she even made fun of him because he's Hispanic and doesn't speak Spanish, even other Hispanic kids begun bulling my son. I reported her to the school and requested to change my son from her class and they refused, they schedule a meeting with the teacher in it and said if I wanted my son to change her class he would have to change the whole group. I had to send my son to CA until we move from the area because my son started having self esteem issues and begun having suicidal thoughts. It's just sad when the teachers become the bullies. Please don't ever send your kids here, my son is no angel but no child deserves these treatment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

This is a bad school. All the five stars on here were probably written by the administration or they had some student write it on here and promise not to punish them for there doing wrong at school. If you have a good child, please don't take them here. They put fear in the students and make them afraid to tell their parents the truth. Bullying in a big issue here and nothing will be done about it. The truth is on the way to being revealed! You will soon see who is doing what at this school. Concern parents, you better begin to question your child before it is too late. We almost waited too late for our and almost lost them, because they just couldn't take any more and no one cared at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Not a good school only a hand full of the teachers care about the students and there education . 80% of the teachers are only there for a JOB . Not to help these kids learn they want to panel all the kids not work with them . and that is so said .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

I enjoy working at this school. The Principal has brought in some great Assistant Principals who have turned the school around. They are focused on learning and support the teachers in the classroom. Behavior problems have decreased. The parents are supportive when I call them. I think everyone will see test scores improve this year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2010

This is meant for all of you parents, teachers, students, staff, principals... whatever... to read. There's a couple of questions. Don't all schools have their own flaws? Don't all schools have their strengths? weaknesses? Hey, i am a student of Lilburn Middle School and I'm proud to be one of the awesome mustangs. So, why ARE the teachers horrible_to you? Now, to my knowledge i am in team a, 8th grade and there is only one messed up teacher who breaks the rules- forget her because it's only one. One of you rated this school horrible because your child got bullied. First of all, did your son do something wrong? Did he tell you the first time? Are you making things up? Ma'am, you expect us to have perfect students, no bullies, and perfect looking geeks? This isn't a behavioral academy. Heck i love this school because the teachers care!


Posted May 12, 2010

Im goin 2 dis school right now and im in 8th grade . they got this new rule were u get detention for bein late to class but most of us just skip it and nothin hwppenz. the techerz dont even notice. im probablt late atleast 3 times a week and i alwayz sighn the detention slip but never go. the principal is the worst principal u could possibly ever have he came to this school just to make it even worse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2010

The principle is indeed a joke like one had said before, another is that the teachers have NO idea how to handle a situation, there are the: Confused (not quick witted so gives out detentions all the time) Smart ( Quick witted with words doesnt lose cool easily) Willing (the teachers who are quick witted, easy to forgive, and do anything for students - the pushover) Forgetter (either forgets papers turned in by students who had days of work, or loses them, has no empathy most of the time for students) Engager (the one who actually thinks about the students, have enough skill to talk back to the princaple and can even turn a lesson fun) The teachers are Okay but depends on who you get. This is a bad school. trust me, cursing, making out in the halls...geez. Who actually run this school? Oh yeah, the students, duh.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2010

To let the cat out of the bag; Lilburn is overwhelmed. I know because I am a teacher there, and have been for a little under a year there. The discipline is lacking because the administration is not strong against the worst-behaved kids. If a teacher writes students up the administration may not do anything at all except talk to the child and then send them back to your school, even if it's for cursing out a teacher. One student was sent back to the classroom everytime, until finally he threatened a teacher's life! Students know they can get away with anything at all, and they try it, and therefore no one can learn anything, so the teachers are burned-out and trying to transfer to better environments. And every time a discipline problem makes the news it is teachers who are blamed while the admin does not do its job.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 20, 2010

I am currently a 7th grader at this school. I think that the school has changed a lot since 2008,for example there is a rule that you get a detention if you're late for class;the first time this rule was announced there were 50 people getting detention. Our 'connections' are Latin.Spanish,P.E.,Tech Ed,Theater,Orchestra,Band,Chorus,etc. Some teachers never yell and if they do it,then it's not really out of anger they want the student to learn. One thing I don't like is that the connections are randomized,I can't wait for high school. The teachers here have a lot of things to share with their students;one said that he used to be an avian instructor and decided to teach students instead.He though it had more meaning to it. Another one was a back up actor in Batman Dark Knight. I think that it's a great school overall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2009

My daughter went to LMS for 3 years. Her teachers were truly dedicated and show that they care about the students. Parent involvement could be higher-but the parents that are involved are very positive about LMS and can see how hard the Administration works to continuelly bring positive changes to the school and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

LMS is a school that has good to great teachers and an administration that is working hard to improve the education of the students. The kids that work hard generally succeed and the parents that are involved seem to always have the kids who work hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

The school don't care about the students at this school, all they care about is the AYP and the fact that they have a job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

If Lilburn Elementary cared about discipline and safety as much as they care about AYP, it could be a decent school. The principal is a joke, there is no control over the students. I do not think there is even a dress code, the kids where clothes affiliated with gangs everyday. I hope that they do not make AYP so I can get my child out of there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

this is an overall good school. many people think its not because of its bad grades and poor behavior in students. the truth is that this school has excelent programas for kids who are struggling or kids who are gifted. although many children donot give thier 100% so they blame it all on their teachers and in doing that they badly stain the middle schools reputation. but all i want to say is that i go to lilburn middle school....and im proud!!!! yall parents are just haters
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

I am a very proud student of Lilburn Middle School and i have t'o say some stuff about some reviews i just read and i felt joyless.First LMS has stuff that other schools don't have for example it's a very diverse school.Second its has the best teachers that can ever teacher a student in there life time.They take there time and lives to educate us.I read a review saying that some teachers at LMS teach the 'loudly way' first if some teacher is yelling at a student or telling them to pay attention is because they care about students learning and getting stuff in there minds.And the gifted program in LMS is one of the best in the county.Gifted teachers challenge students.Also it's bein three consequtive years that LMS has made AYP.And that shows how great this school realy is and its one of the best schools in Gwinnett county!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2008

This school is horrible! My child went there for 6 months and i had to get him transfered out. ( I fought for it!) he was bullied on a daily basis and the school did nothing to help protect him. It got to the point where my child didn't want to go to school and my child is a honor student! the teachers didn't seem to know what they were doing and when i asked questions about books, homework or even if my child needed something special for a class, i either never heard back from them or i got the run around. If you care about your childs education and you are stuck with this school, please be careful!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

518 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

520 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

514 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

543 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

536 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

485 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

510 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

509 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

422 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

434 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 12%
Black 23% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
White 4% 44%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Jazz band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gene Taylor
Fax number
  • (770) 806-3866

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Jazz band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4994 Lawrenceville Hwy NW
Lilburn, GA 30047
Phone: (770) 921-1776

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT