Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Camp Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2014

Great school. Second year here for my 1st and 2nd graders. Everyone is great and I have the same response as parents far back as 2007. Great teachers, good new principal (heavily involved) and awesome parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

A great community school. Teachers and admin. expect the best of all children and get it from them. Great new principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

Camp Creek Elementary is a wonderful school. The school is blessed to have talented educators who strive to give the best educational experience to every student. This school has an excellent program for Gifted and special needs students. A student could not attend a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2010

Camp Creek is a great school. We moved to Lilburn when my daughter was in 2nd grade and she loved the school from her first day. The school has a very positive atmosphere. I like the fact that each year parents are encouraged to fill out a form with questions about their child's learning needs. The teachers meet to go over the forms and discuss each student in order to place them in classes. Every year my daughter has gotten a teacher that fits her learning style. I feel this method illustrates how dedicated the staff is to student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Cmp Creek expects - and receives excellence from its teachers, staff, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I love camp creek they push the kids to go a far as they know they can my sons teacher is great. He has problems with his speech and I have noticed a huge improvement. The staff is so warm and friendly, like your part of there family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Its a great school I actually went to this school in the 80's and now my son is just starting the school. The classes are small and the teachers seem to care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Tremendous staff, parent involvement and commitment of the teachers are just a little of what makes Camp Creek great!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2009

Great teachers, great parents & great students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Camp Creek has a very dedicated and passionate principal and group of teachers who are constantly working hard to ensure that the school maintains its high education standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Camp Creek Elementary school received the 2008 Gold Award from our governor for having such high test scores! We anticipate the same award for 2009. Great administration... great teachers... great students... great parents.... incredible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

it was the best school my daughter has ever been to ! the school is so much fun and is very patient
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

It starts at the top with an excellent principal and filters down to excellent teachers, staff and children. My son has attended for 3 years and we are overjoyed with the school and look forward to all the doors opened for him because of them!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

Does it get better than this? This school has phenominal parental involvement. It has a principal that cares not on as an admin, but also as a mom, who has 3 kids there, too. The teachers have experience! And nearly all we've encountered (between out kids we have had 19 different ones, not including the specials (pe, art, music, etc) ones. The gifted program is excellent--there are some limitations, but it FAR exceeds the standerds that the state of GA requires for gifted instruction. Our kids love it and we love it. Despite there being one of the top-rated private schools in the state nearby, we chose to send our kids here for the continually supurb education, experiences and fun this school and its families, create. Oh, and the high school football (and soccer, basketball, etc) all rock too!! Go panthers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

i love this school. we have a good and fun school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2007

Camp Creek is a Great School. We have 3 kids in school there right now. One child has some special needs and is not an 'all star' academically but the school has worked tirelessly with us to try to help in the struggle areas. Speech, vision and reading specialists are on campus and are excellent. Another child excels in reading and has been placed in a focus program that offers advanced instruction. The principal is very involved and the students love and admire her. I would recommend Camp Creek to any parent of any child. Expect to be involved in your child's education. Parents are expected to be a member of the PTA and participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

Expect to spend some $$$ on educational learning centers nearby if your child cannot cut the mustard. This is a great elementary school, and they won't let you forget that they are not baby sitters, but teachers. So parents! Have your act together if you enroll your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

Before choosing Camp Creek, we researched public and private schools in 4 counties. Both of our sons come from very good private schools and this school has met my high expectations. As an African American parent, I am pleased with the level of diversity, the equality shown to all students, and the opportunities afforded me to be a volunteer in various capacities at the school. Camp Creek offers it all - high academics, diversity, extracurricular activities and great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

this school is awesome although the playground is not the best.The parent involvement is very high.Their academic programs are superb ranging from cubclubs to 'Parents Night Out'.Their are a whole bunch of extracirricular things to do at this school.They let the kids get involed also by junior beta lcub and safety patrol.It teaches the kids leadership skills and coporation.My daughter goes there and absolutely loves it! It is one of the best schools ever.Oh yeah and go Panthers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

The parent involvement is very high at this school. I went to school here and was a student teacher for a semester. The teachers are great! There are tons of extracurricular activities avalible from the school and Mountain Park park is near by with football, cheerleading, basketball, etc. the academic programs are very good. They school has high standards for its students. The elementary school, middle school, and high school are all right next to each other which is another plus.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

143 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

143 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

143 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

171 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

171 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

171 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

176 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 3%
Black 16% 37%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

958 Cole Rd SW
Lilburn, GA 30047
Phone: (770) 921-1626

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT