Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pepperell Primary School

Public | PK-3 | 456 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2010

My daughter attended PPS from K-3rd grade. I have been very pleased with PPS. As far as the other parents comment with 3rd graders learning what we learned in 5th grade, that's every school now. Kids are so much more advanced than we were at that age. Pepperell has been a 'No Excuses' award winner for the past few years. (test scores vs. per capita income) usually lower income area's (Lindale) have lower test scores. Not Pepperell Primary. They are always above state average. My daughter attended 4th grade in Gordon county, and was ahead of her new class. We bought a home this month, and 50% of the decision was school district. We wanted nothing other than Pepperell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

Pepperell Primary is a nice school with very down-to-earth teachers, principals and office personel. I did have some trouble with getting something done about a girl that was picking on my daughter in pre-k. It seems like I told everyone, but nothing was done about it. Other than that, as far as education goes, PPS goes far beyond teaching the basics and allows their knowlege to expand as they crave to learn more. No holding back. ****
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

My daughter is in kindergarten, and her teacher is phenomenal! She is warm and nurturing with the kids, but also knows how to manage a classroom. She has worked closely with me to help my daughter with some special needs that she has, as well. The new principal is very warm, and seems extremely dedicated. The remodeling done in the school makes it feel fresh and new. We are very happy..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

I just think pepperell primary is a great school overall...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I struggled with the decision of whether to send my child to a public or private school and at the last minute decided to give public school a try and I could not be happier with my decision! My son has 2 fantastic Kindergarten teachers who just put their heart and soul into teaching and loving their students. We have only been in school for 41 days and he has already tested out on 31 sight words and is reading short books already. The gifted program that Floyd County has designed for children that learn a little faster than others really prepares them for college as they get into the Middle and High school years. You can read statistics all day long...trust me! I did! And all that I received is a big headache and many restless nights. Pepperell Primary is a great school....and it has been totally updated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

I am in agreement about the principal. She lacks of abilities to communicate with the students and parents on a civil level. The school is run down...it's an old school in dire need of repairs. What I don't agree with is the curriculim comment. My child is a smart child. But when you go throwing in things for them to learn in 3rd grade that I didn't have til around 5th grade......it's getting a little out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

The school is run down. The floors have asbestos under them. Is That not dangerous? The principal has no personality for a primary school. Why is curriculum brought down in this county so failing kids can pass? What about the intelligent ones?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

102 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

102 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

102 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 44%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Black 1% 37%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carmen Jones
Fax number
  • (706) 236-1843

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Dragon Dr SE
Lindale, GA 30147
Phone: (706) 236-1835

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Midway Primary School
Silver Creek, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT