Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sweetwater Elementary School 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
The administrators need to be investigated and removed. They are inconsistent in their actions involving the students. For the same action one student will get suspended while another gets "mediation" for the same offense or worse. The administration is not even sure what their jobs actually are. If you are a parent who values education or likes to be involved in your child's education, move as far away from this school as possible.

Sweetwater Elementary School 1

Posted October 24, 2015
- a parent
The school is run like a prison camp. The secretary is extremely unprofessional. When I came to pick my child up for a dentist's appointment I was kept waiting for 10 minutes. I asked the secretary if she could call for my student a second time and she informed me that the teacher would 'kill her' for interrupting again. I decided I would wait in the hallway. As I went for the door she began screaming at me not to go down to the classroom. I had to inform her that I was simply going to wait for my child right outside the door so we could leave immediately. Apparently, the principal allows this type of unprofessional behavior. The principal herself defended my child's second grade teacher when the teacher sent her home on the bus instead of to ASP. Luckily, I was at home when my child came home. The sheer negligence of this principal and unprofessional behavior of her office staff is incredible. The energy of this school is so negative. To go from a welcoming private school with friendly staff to a school where you're buzzed in like a prisoner and yelled at by office staff is incredible to me. Needless to say my child will not attend this subpar school next year. The teachers make upwards of 60K yet they constantly ask for money, sell t-shirts, etc while not offering great teaching. Lithia Springs is not the most well off area so if you're child has to attend Sweetwater Elementary be prepared to supplement their learning a whole lot.


Sweetwater Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
We are new to Sweetwater Elementary this year. I have to say it's a complete 180 from the private school my child attended for the last 3 years. I don't know what the entire staff is like, but my child's teacher seems like she's out to lunch. I pray she is teaching her students each day. There is zero communication from this teacher. The students have an agenda that parents purchase for $5 and the only note I've received to date is about how my daughter puts her head down when she knows this is not allowed. Wow. Maybe my child is bored. In my opinion, her classroom wasn't prepared for the first day. There wasn't even an alphabet displayed. What if my child needs that reference when she mixes up her b's and d's? I sent in a simple note asking which days PE were on so I'd be sure to dress my child in sneakers. No response. The homework isn't checked. It's returned in my child's folder every day looking like it hadn't even been touched nor reviewed. My child was also sent home on the bus when I sent in a note that she should go to afterschool for the day. Thankfully, I was home. I just got sheepish 'I'm sorry's' from the transportation coordinator and the teacher. Disappointed.

Sweetwater Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a parent
I love Sweetwater elementary. The teachers are so caring and so wonderful at teaching. The administrators are always there to listen, and help when and if you need it. I am able to visit my children whenever I want. The school is always clean and organized. I couldn't have picked a better school to teach my kids.

Sweetwater Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
My thought on SWES is this PARENTS do your work at home with your children, make them sit at the table and do there homework,explain how important education is to there life...on other hands yes there are some instructors who need a good sit down with but I'm pretty sure thats in every school sysytem. Please stay in front of your child teachers as often as you can not only when things are not going so well but when things are running well..sorry if I stepped on any toes! Sonya


Sweetwater Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
My son had a bully last year and when it was taken to the principal and vice principal nothing was done about it until i called the dept. of ed. but, a week after that, every thing my son does is reported to the principal. My son after this year will never step foot in that school again after what they have been doing. I give the school one star and that is me being nice.

Sweetwater Elementary School 2

Posted June 28, 2010
- a parent
In response to the parent who was disappointed because her child was bullied, I agree with you. My two white children (boys) were both bullied, physically and emotionally. All of the comments were racially motivated. White children at this school are the actually minority. They were pushed down and called names, but always just out of sight of the teachers. When they complained to their teachers, they were told that because they didn't see anything happen, there was nothing they could do. I spoke with the teachers on more than one occasion. Nothing got any better. They stopped saying anything to their teachers because they said it made it worse on them and that the teachers got mad if they said anything. I understand that bullying is a normal occurence, but when children are allowed to physically push and hit other children, what message does this send?

Sweetwater Elementary School 1

Posted June 27, 2010
- a parent
We are very disappointed with this school. My son attended this school in the 5th grade and was constantly being bullied" and talked about due to his darker skin complexion. The bulling and racial remarks were never taken serious by the Principle or the Teacher. It has been a constant battle for us because this school lacks discipline and professionalism. PARENTS: Please think twice about sending your child to this school especially if they are considered societies minority. It s really sad when you have to teach your child to defend himself instead of teaching them the importance of school and that s to get a quality education.


Sweetwater Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
They were the only school that would keep my child safe. She was removed from school afte she left there due to her Latex allergy.

Sweetwater Elementary School 2

Posted January 17, 2009
- a parent
My concern for this schools sagging achievement data has been verified. After a great Kindergarten experience at this school, we have been severely disappointed with the lack of challenging work from our son's 1st grade teacher. We have had several communications with the teacher only to have the same work with no assistance from the school leadership. Teaching to the middle seems to be the constant for this school, but this is not accpetable to us. Our child will be at another school next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sweetwater Elementary School
2505 East County Line Rd, Lithia Springs, GA  30122
(770) 651-4600
Last modified Sweetwater Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sweetwater Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top