Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Browns Mill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 743 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2013

My oldest child (who is now a middle schooler) attended from kindergarten until 5th grade and the school was pretty good under Dr. Butler's leadership. Once the magnet program was moved and the current administration took the wheel the school has steadily gone down hill. I have one child left at BMES who will not be attending next year. Although I like the teacher that we have this year, I am super concerned about the leadership and environment at the school. My child is an A student who hasn't had any problems and I want to keep it that way. I am sad to say that I can no longer recommend this school to anyone else because there is no strive towards excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

My niece and nephew attend this school and I must say that coming from a private school to a public school setting, I do understand why parents pay to send their children to school. This has been the most horrible experience and I am so glad that the school year will be over in a few months. the staff as a whole are unprofessional, my niece and nephew can NOT eat their lunch in peace, without children taking their food. We have addressed this problem numerous of times, and still no solution. So, we have to go and sit with them for lunch to make sure that they eat. UNBELIEVABLE. Aunt Dazey,


Posted February 16, 2010

As a 5th grader, this is my daughter's last year at BMS. I have been very pleased with the education recieved by my son and my daughter at this school. There is tremendous parental support. The teachers are very professional and the leadership is personable and exceptional. What really empresses me about the school is that this is the school many teachers in the area send their kids to for an education. Teachers that work there, teachers in the neighborhood, etc. That speaks volumes to the type of educational experience our children are recieving at BMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

This school is not what people think it is. Yeah you are sugar free, what about all the candy being sold and eaten in the classrooms. A Joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

The first sugar-free school in the county. This will make a difference with learning and behavior. Caring teachers rounds this school out to make it one of the best in the nation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

A great school, backed by a supportive staff. Top lunch & breakfast program. This school will prepare your children for anything the world, (or the next grade level) throws at them. Uniforms and a sugar free zone make this school one of the best!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

A great school with a very dedicated and professional staff of educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

Browns mill is a great school my daughter just finished the magnet program and is now at Chambling. Her teachers said that she was taught very well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

My family and I made a terrible mistake by moving to Fayette County (Georgia), in hopes of finding a better school. We were totally wrong and didn't know what a good thing we actually had. BMS is an excellent school! My daughter, who came up the ranks at BMS, starting from kindergarten up to third grade. She spent a miserable and dumping down year in fourth grade at a Fayette County School, I could have kill myself for making a horrible decision to leave BMS. Well, at any rate, we are back with top notch teachers and my daughter is learning well above her grade level. Keep up the great work, BMS!!! All schools are not created equal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

My daughter has attended Browns Mill since the 1st grade, and our experience has been nothing but positive. She is currently in the magnet program which is awesome. The parent involvement is the key to the success of any school, the principal and staff love their jobs and it is apparent. Browns Mill is a school of excellence, keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

I am extremely pleased with my daughter's academic achievement since she started at Brownsmill 2 years ago. Her test scores are excellent and the teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

I worked at Browns Mill Elementary as support personnel for 2 years. I loved my experience there and applaud the principal and her leadership team! Their student support team works well to address student needs in addition to encouraging all students to do their best, at school and in life.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 18, 2004

My child began this school 3 years ago as a 4th magnet student. It has been a wonderful experience. The teachers, staff and principal have been an excellent in helping me to watch my daughter to grow and learn to be a beautiful butterfly. As we get ready to depart from this wonderful school, we hope that our future leaders that will join the ranks behind us will enjoy nothing but the best from one of the best hidden jewels of the south, Browns Mill. It is the only 'sugar-free' school. The really do care about your children. They develop a business plan for your child to always create their potential. Browns Mill you are the best! Thanks for the memories! We will never forget you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

I have been very pleased with my childs progress and achievements at Browns Mill Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

The standard of education level of the staff on the magnet program team is bar none. They are exemplary and set extremely high levels of expectation from their students.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

112 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

112 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

112 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

134 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

134 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

134 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 37%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alyshia Smith
Fax number
  • (678) 676-8310

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4863 Browns Mill Rd
Lithonia, GA 30038
Phone: (678) 676-8302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Discovery Academy
Lithonia, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT