Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Locust Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

We moved here a few months ago and are very happy with this school. The teachers are great and the entire staff is very caring. My son was behind in reading but after a few months here, he is now back on track and is doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

they have some of the best bus drivers, that really care about the kids. mr.kevin is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My daughter loves going to school everyday!The Teachers and Staff are Wonderful and Dedicated when it comes to Teaching and Caring for All Students! My daughter has learned so much and has a very positive, and happy attitude everyday! (: Thanks to everyone at LGES for all their hardwork!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

We love this school so much; my daugther has learned a lot from her teachers. Miss Grove the Principal is excellent so are the rest of the staff that work together to help our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

Great school, nice teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

Wow, where to start... My kids started school in a private school in the area and have now completed 3 years at LGE. The private school had no way to handle ADHD kids who are extremely advanced academically. LGE has had no trouble keeping my kids challenged through an exceptional SAGE program and teachers in the normal classrooms who continuously work to keep my kids involved. As my youngest was learning to manage his ADHD, his behavior was less than desired - they made sure he had teachers that were consistent with the discipline plan. He has now learned that bad behavior will not be tolerated at school and is extremely proud to have control over his behavior. Mrs Peterman and Mrs Travis - you have my gratitude. Mrs Harris, Mrs Carmichael, Mrs Worthy, Mrs Farr, Mr Pace, and the afterschool staff - I am indebted to you all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Locust Grove is a wonderful school. Our administrators are incrediblely involved and enthusiastic about learning, our students and our school! Dicipline is fair and constant. Our halls are calm! My son loves going to school each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

With the addition of the new school principal, the students have responded favorably to more enjoyable extracurricular activities and smaller classroom sizes which appear to enhance learning.(See CRCT scores) Parents and teachers actually support each other. In my opinion, the best Kindergarten teacher is Mrs. Harris. Before enrolling my daughter in LGE,I compared this school with other schools in the state of Georgia. LGE compares academically with schools in Fayette County and Peachtree City where typically parents have the funding to support their schools. I have seen that special needs children and children of color are treated well here. Furthermore, there is visible evidence of discipline seen in the halls here at LGE. I love that Wildcat Walk!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

My son came from Unity Grove. I had him transfered to Locust Grove, and he has excelled at this school. Unity offered nothing to my son other than grief and dissapointment. At Locust Grove, he made the all A honor roll, plus an A average the whole year! We are Very proud of him! He couldn't have done it without the help and support of his teacher(Mrs. Worthy), or the EIP teachers(Mrs. Hall & Mrs. Davis). The principles, and the rest of the staff that had anything to do with Andrew has been wonderful. Thank You All!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

Overall- this is a wonderful school- safe, fun positive place for kids to learn. My daughter attended K in Mrs. Voyles/Miss Jackie's class 2003-2004, and I am so impressed everyday to hear my little girl reading away. My daughter looked forward to going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

Ms Ellis is the best of the best. Her students love her and my son's progress has been exception. Great school system. If you have a problem the teaching team is there to help. The principal and administration is involved and positive. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I had a daughter that attended this school 4 years ago and functioned very well. My daughter that attends now is a special needs child and getting the help she needs is slow, however with the social workers' involvement it has progressed. Overall it comes down to lack of communication. If your child has special needs, I would find out about every moment of the day and get the course of action, so that there are no misunderstandings on who is reponsible and for what.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The principal is very positive and really cares about her school being sucessful!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 44%
Black 43% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christi Peterman
Fax number
  • (770) 957-4775

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

95 L G Griffin Rd
Locust Grove, GA 30248
Phone: (770) 957-5416

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Luella Elementary School
Locust Grove, GA


ABC Montessori
McDonough, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT