Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Luella Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 775 students

We are best known for use of blended learning models.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

I am currently attending Luella middle . My peers and I agree that the school is too technology based . We are not used to learning online , and it's causing us to become behind in other subjects , trying to just focus on one (math) . Math is my weak subject , and I feel sometimes that I may fail the math part of the CRCT . Since I have transferred to Luella I haven't found such confidence In my math . On the other hand , the teachers don't have much control over their class .


Posted February 27, 2012

this is a GREAT school ! I would definitely recommend it to other parents. teachers are very kind and suppotive. school is always clean and staff is always nice and pleasant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

Luella is a wonderful school. My daughters attended Luella. One thing I miss and one complaint: since Ms. Browning left, the library is not as warm and friendly. She was very helpful to the students. My daughter complains she doesn't visit the library as much as she use to (this is the younger daughter- the other is at LHS). With the school being smaller, the library should be more flexible. I even heard that the teachers complain about it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The school is very responsive to any parent needs. Whenever we call or email the principal or AP, we always get courteous service and they listen and help solve whatever problems come up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

The teachers at LUella are great and LMS has so mny technology recources I love It!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

the school as far as education is great..but i feel that they do not have strict rules and procedures as far as addressing theft of property is concerned among the students..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I just graduated from Luella Middle. I learned so much in my 3 years there. They don't just teach you what you need to know for the year; they also teach you things for the following year. My advanced classes were challenging, but fun. They actually rewarded us for our accomplishments which made us want to accomplish even more. The school has great school spirit. The pep rallies were the bomb. Our sports teams won practically all out games. The dances and after school activities were fun. All I know was that I had a blast. I would go back any day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

We are new to public school. My son is in the 8th grade and is doing very well. I have been very pleased with his Teachers and he has adjusted well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

I object very strongly to the comments made by the parent complaining about the principle of this school. I have had countless dealings with him as I have worked in the school for the last three years. He is determined to make this school a better place and he is devoted to the kids that fill it's walls daily. My child has had a wonderful (for the most part) education there and now moves on to high school well prepared for the next four year. No school is without its share of problems but I believe in the work that the administration is doing to make it a better place and if the parents could only get on board with what thye are trying to acheive, it would happen that much faster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

This school has given me multible reasons to complain about the way they handle their school. They should allow the students more freedom and actually try to understand how they feel. If they would even consider thinking about that, they would have much more happier students and much happier parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

The principal of Luella is arrogant, and disrespectful. although going to Harvard (which I respect) his attitude is uncompliable and the college may have gotten to his head. Most of the teachers here are great and the activites acceptable, but except for this one problem and the violence(fights) could be fixed then this school could be fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2008

This is a cool school. Teachers are cool. There is just alot of things goin on. New students are welcome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2007

We are a great school! We are all on the right track. :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2007

I personally believe this principal (Mr. A. Schmuhl) is the best one in the county. Recent progress shows it! Hats off to him and the entire adminsitration for making this middle school the best the county has to offer. The new '07/'08 modified block program and newly established 'houses' within the school dictate what all Henry county middle schools need to do! The new program allows for more time in classes that matter, and less time for locker talk! Our children are repeaping the benefits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

Luella is a very unique place of learning. I think the teachers and administration is sincere about helping students achieve academically. In addition the learning continues in the evening with many clubs and sports for a variety of student interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

It is a good school, good teachers and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

I think the Luella schools are great. They are definitely better than the average school here in the south Atlanta area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

I have had a few problems with the teachers and administration being uncororotive and poor disicpline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

Varying opinions of the school system can be heard, but for the most part, my experience with the Luella schools ( including the high school ) have been unsatisfactory. The teachers that attempt to make an effort seem few and far between and as for leadership, Gangi has a better handle on adminstration than his fellow adminstrator at Luella High School, Eckerle. One thing is for sure, it is not for everyone, and you may find your children excel while others may not do so well. Wouldn't recommend attendance of this school if it could be avoided.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 24, 2004

Luella Middle School is a great school with wonderful, caring teachers who go the extra yard for children. I am very very pleased. Mr. Gangi is a good leader. The teams of teachers worked with me and my child and I was very satisfied. Luella Middle School has a great library program as well. My favorite part of Luella Middle School is that it is ALWAYS having something for the school to do - Cross Trainers, Y-Club, 4-H, Beta, and GAMA Club.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

246 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 54% 37%
White 31% 44%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Govenor's Office of Student Achievement Bronze Award for Greatest Gains on CRCT 2010 (2010)
  • Distinguished School for Making AYP 3 Years in Row (2010)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Aaryn Schmuhl
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (678) 583-8920

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Virtual school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • Parent Learning Days occur three times a year. We believe in using technology to enhance rigorous instruction and performance mastery by students. Parent Portal provides student and parent access to grades, attendance, and testing information.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Luella High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2075 Hampton Locust Grove Rd
Locust Grove, GA 30248
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 583-8919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ABC Montessori
McDonough, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT