Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine International Academy of Mableton

Charter | K-8 | 542 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2011

Imagine Of Mableton in one word is "GARBAGE". Office staff and teachers are "GARBAGE" over all this school needs to close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

This school is suffering from horrible administration, specifically the principal and his superiors. Incompetent teachers are rewarded while knowledgable teachers are treated as a threat and severely punished. Unfortunately, the incompetent teachers are left to instruct the well deserving students. This school focuses on money and maintaining its tarnished image as opposed to doing what is needed to ensure student achievement. Student issues regarding possible neglect and academic and behavioral concerns are of no care to the administration. Please do not send your children there. The school is said to have not received approval for its contract renewal from the Cobb County School Board and I fully support their decision.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 5, 2011

I have had all three of my children enrolled here. My eldest graduated in 2009 and was the 3rd highest in academics in her graduating class. My 2nd just graduated this year and received honors including Jr. Beta club and student of the year. My son is the only one left and I wish there were an Imagine High School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

I would actually give it a 2 1/2... The Principal at this school is absolutely wonderful "DR.B "! I feel that his staff has much needed room for improvement! They spend a lot of time on behavior. I not giving it another yr.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

I have some questions about the 6th grade program. My son would go to East Cobb if not this school. Weaen't to thrilled with how East Cobb looks but there doesn't seem to be many options for middle school for Sibley On Paper Mill. Does anyoen have any feedback? Please help me!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

We recently withdrew our child from IIAM because of the below grade level work and homework. It's just not challenging enough for those students that are ahead of the class. We encountered several administrative issues as well that have been very frustrating along the way. We really tried to give the school a chance despite it's tainted reputation in the community. Several changes would need to be made before IIAM gets my recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

I just enrolled my son this year and he'll be entering 7th grade. I hope this is a great experience for him at this school. I like the fact that they will be wearing uniforms because sometimes clothing can take take children minds off what they need to be focusing on. So i'll be back to give a rating as far as our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

The school year began with a bang! I am very pleased with the leadership and teaching staff. There is focus and vision from all stances. It is great to be a part a parent a part of this team. While this is still a new school and there are still some growing pains, things are going great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

After a rocky start to the 2009-2010 school year, things seem to be settling down. The principal has been available to hear my feedback. I've seen improvement in communication which was one of my concerns. We are very happy with the teacher. I am hopeful we will continue to make progress in building a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

Congratulations on making ayp, after being around for only 3 years..Wow! way to go - imagine (iiam) ...Where believers become achievers! our new principal is setting the pace and our great teachers are forging ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

We have a great new Principal, a International Baccalaureatee focused curriculm and we made AYP. Student enrollment is growing and we will probably be on a wait list by fall 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

This is our first year at IIAM and I must say they have a long way to go, but as with any new school or business there are going to be challenges. The school received a new principle towards the middle of the school year and he seems to be heading the school in the right direction. The school has a great curriculum and a lot of potential. Parents just have to decide whether they are willing give the school a chance and hang in there through the challenging times. The first grade and six grade teachers did a great job this school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

This school lacks structure and organization. I couldn't take it and transfered my son, he is now thriving at another school. I think the school has good teachers, but don't provide them with the necessary resources to meet the needs of all students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

I moved my 2 children, 5 and 6th grade from Austell Primary. I immediately noticed that my 5th grader has been assigned several projects that require her to do research. My 6th grader did not have the same in 5th, although he was in the Target program. They have also had field trips, which is also something that was never done with Austell. Only issue is they do not have target/gifted program, so the challenge of that program is not there for my 6th grader, but the day to day work seems to be more challenging for him than he had at the prior school. They have decreased the wait time drastically recently for car-riders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

Execellent curriculum, but the carpool wait for student is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

Having two kids attending this school for the second year, I am hoping for a much better year. Last year my expectations were not met although I knew that this was a new school and that there would be some problems. One of the issues that concerned me was that the principle was replaced in the middle of last year. Teacher turnover was higher than I expected, along with the number of teachers that were not certified. I do believe that this can be a good school but I do not have the time with my oldest in 7th grade. I also belive that this school is better that the other middle schools in Mableton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

The school is new with a lot of changes but it has great potential and the parents really are involved. It is a nice alternative to what is availabel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

So far so good. Its a new school. I think the ASP program is what I really like. My son is able to do his homework and learn new things. Piano, Chess George B. lewis
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

78 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

78 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

78 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
31%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
White 3% 44%
Asian 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6688 Mableton Pkwy SE
Mableton, GA 30126
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 391-7710

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The SAE School
Mableton, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT