Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clay Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 497 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

It's all about what type of support and involvement you are willing to have in your child's education. I've found that the teachers genuinely love the students and everyone works to ensure our kids succeed. But they can only do so much between 8 and 2, parents need to be accountable too. Give the school a chance and I think you will be surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

School now has 340 students, due to redistricting for new school in Mableton area. Other schools in the area are at or close to capacity due to the redistricting. One school in the area was closed. Clay has 21st century afternoon tutoring, piano, book club and Saturday school. They have great caring teachers and staff. The school has improved on test scores and academics. There is a mixture of different races at Clay, but they make up a great family of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

As a parent I am extremely disappointed in this school. It started out on the first day of school. 75% of the kids are hispanic, my son is of mixed origin and the teacher assumed he was hispanic. My son's class was a mixture of every learning level...special ed to kids who already know the material. He gets bored easily because he's not challenged enough so he causes trouble with the other boys. I don't like the principle. She's not very helpful. Overall my experience with this school is horrible. I am pulling my son out to place in another school. The teacher did her best to try to help but she's overwhelmed with the class and the kids ever with a peer pro.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

I am a former teacher at Clay from the 90's. I have since relocated back to MI. I must say my years at Clay were some of my best times. All the teachers and staff were highly professional and committed to excellence. I am so sorry to hear that Clay has gone through so many changes throughout the years. I hope that one day it again can be a gem in the community. Angela Santoro Tolly


Posted February 23, 2009

1/2 of the students are Hispanic. I read a post about no homework being given. I've seen homework bags sent home and no support from the parents. The staff at Clay are loving and supportive of the students. I never had any problems with the school.


Posted December 17, 2008

Highly disappointed in the lack of academic growth my son is experiencing because his teacher appears to be focused on the bottom sector of her classroom. Homework assignments are sporadic and last minute (Over a 2 month period my son received about 6 homework assignments-all pages ripped from a math workbook-nothing else!) When I brought up my concerns about the lack of consistency/forethought in homework assignments in a conference held with principal and teacher, the principal accepted responsibility by suggesting that she really couldn't tell who completes the homework and that the majority of the student body doesn't get enough support at home to complete homework. Poor communication of academic goals and assessments. As an aside, as a teacher myself, I am always a little surprised and appalled at the lack of professional dress. The majority of staffers appear in jeans and sweats daily!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

A Wonderful School. My children have had only great teachers and experiences at Clay.


Posted September 16, 2007

This is a great school to work at and be a part of. Teachers are focused on student achievement and motivation while constantly applying research based strategies to help all students obtain a quality education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2006

Clay Elementary is deticated to their students and it's their goal to work with parents to help each child succeed. Extracurricular activities are starting to emerge this year. They recently added piano lessons to their list of extracurricular activities. You never know what they will add on next. However it will be benifical for the students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 12%
Black 30% 37%
White 6% 44%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Florence Williams
Fax number
  • (770) 819-2432

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

730 Boggs Rd SW
Mableton, GA 30126
Phone: (770) 819-2430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT