Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Floyd Middle School 1

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
You only have handful of teachers that treat your kids as if they matter. I've never seen such a disrepectful, unprofessional school. My child was bullied and tried to abide by the school rules, informed a teacher and the teacher abide by the school rules and informed the situation. I was told that I would receive a call the next morning and no one called, I waited the entire day. In my mind I decide to go to the school just to find out that my child was picked out for a fight over this situation and no one bothered to inform me. My child got suspended from the school for defending herself when the school wouldn't. When I suggested that we reach out to the parents and inform of the situation and maybe have a meeting I was answered "We cannot twist a parents arm". The suggestion was never attempted I then had a meeting with the principal only to have her dosing off right in front of my face and dismiss what I had told her about the unprofessional answer that was given to me when I made a suggestion.... This school has failed my child, I wanted to get my child transferred to another school but because of the timing left this year I didn't want her to have to do catch up at another school and affect her grades. I have rented a home to a better district and rented out my house that I own.... This is a terrible school with a terrible leader. This school should truly get investigated.

Floyd Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
There's very few teachers but Mrs. Allen is a charm she belongs in a better school than this. She cares deeply for those kids and knows how to open them up when in need

Floyd Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
The school has failed my child and many others. They will not abide by rules but only what's beneficial to them

Floyd Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Not a care for the students but only for their ratings. They want people to believe that this school is advancing but it's not

Floyd Middle School 1

Posted May 10, 2015
- a community member
I truly hate this school I've only been here for 3 months and hate it they give referros for small things like talking they say for insubordination u get 5 or 3 days for that I don't otherwise that your children should go here its not a really good school the teachers are lame and the students are fake and un friendly and disrespect othere schools when there the lowest

Floyd Middle School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
My three children attend (or have attended) Floyd Middle School. Floyd's environment is nurturing and academically demanding, but supportive. Most of the teachers are first rate and children are their priority. I had the opportunity to visit the 8th grade Career Fair (a yearly event?) in the library. This library is very different from my school library. All three of my children have spoken of lessons taught by the librarian for different subjects. The school uses some technology though I would wish them to use more. The building seems to be well kept.

Floyd Middle School 4

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Floyd Middle School (2014-15) and I feel that they have done a FANTASTIC job of keeping my son on task. The teachers appear to really care and motivate the students. They faculty has been getting the children ready for the Georgia Mile Stone test (which replaced the CRCT's). Even with these changes and new learning techniques, my son remains to be an A/B student. This bus pick-up/drop-off consistently on time. The school's cleanliness has definitely improved. They have even added a program for the boy's entitled, "Young Men of Distinction"; which will allow a small group of selected boys to become authors. I can honestly say that Floyd MS has really impressed me with their academics, teaching styles, structure and overall appearance. Like any school, there are some things that they can continue to work on; which I believe they are. However, I rated them Above Average (4 stars) because I believe that they have improved significantly; however, there is still room for improvement.

Floyd Middle School 3

Posted June 29, 2014
- a community member
I went to Floyd middle school from my 6-8 grade years and it was just OK. The students tend to be kind of wild and get on teacher's nerves. The food is also not so great either. BUT there are some great after school activities ( Art club for 8 graders is beast!) This school could improve by learning how to cook cafeteria food to the right temperature. Overall an average school.

Floyd Middle School 1

Posted May 04, 2014
- a community member
I attended Floyd Middle School from 6-8th grade. My education was terrible. At first, I was placed in NO accelerated classes. All general ed. classes are dumbed down and extremely boring. The accelerated classes are what I envision as a regular class should be. There are NO academic extracurricular activities. For example, Floyd NEVER participated in Science or Math olympiads, and floyd does not have any academic clubs. Also, most (If not all) programs at floyd are about behavior, not about academics. Behavior and bad teachers will really get in your way at Floyd. The social studies teachers (in my time) have been great up to 8th grade. 8th grade social studies was terrible. We are still learning THE DAY BEFORE THE CRCT! I do NOT recommend floyd if you have a choice.

Floyd Middle School 4

Posted February 13, 2014
- a community member
Floyd Middle School... I attended Floyd. I had a great experience there...with a lot of great memories I often wish I could relive. Like any other school there are pros and cons, but overall Floyd is a great school. I had amazing teachers that were passionate about what they do, and teachers that weren't. It's obvious that the administration is working hard to keep this school going in the right direction. I had a great experience at Floyd, I just wish I would have been happier with myself while I was there.... I wish I didn't care so much about what others thought about me, then maybe I would have been able to enjoy myself even more.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Floyd Middle School
4803 Floyd Rd Sw, Mableton, GA  30126
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (770) 819-2453
Last modified Floyd Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top