Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alexander Ii Magnet School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2011

This school has been amazing. My child had a bit of a time adjusting to the advanced academic curriculum but by year two he has become an honor student and amazes my wife and I with the skills that he has developed. The math and science curriculum is second to none. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

I would not have allowed my children to attend anywhere else. I am a former student and I believe without Alexander 2 my work ethics, skills, and capabilties would not be as sharp and as vast as they are.....you are constantly being pushed to reach goals beyond your reach. I have been blessed enough to not only to have been taught there myself but my two older children have already graduated from there and my youngest son is currently a fifth grader. I've had the opportunity to see the school in different angles......as a former student, as a parent, as a volunteer, and as a chaperone, and as a substitute teacher and the the administrators, teachers, staff, and parents are the best by far than ant other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Good School in Macon Area, dedicated and concerned teaching staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

I have had one son go through Alex 2 from K-5 and my second son is currently in 2nd grade. The teachers work so well with our students and see them as individuals. They work hard so that each student can reach their full potential. Even though Alex 2 is a Math & Science Magnet School, reading is also a real strength. Both my boys learned to LOVE reading at Alex 2! We are lucky to have had both our boys at Alexander 2!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

The tachers are great. My child has excelled academically here. Couldn't ask for better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My daughter is a second grader at Alex 2. She absolutely loves her school and teachers. Most importantly, my child feels loved by her teachers. The family atmosphere and involvement is inviting and does not compare to other schools we have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

My daughter graduated from alex2 and have had several neices and nephews as well. Alex2 has been in my family over 20 years and we love it. It is a class act school with more talent in teachers,staff and principals than any other school i have ever seen, Proud parent of Alex2 ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

all 3 of my grandchildren have gone and my son was in the first class the first year it became a magnet school. It demands the best of the students and complete commitment of the parents with a signed contract. All schools should operate that way. It resembles school of my era when the best was expected, when being smart and working hard was a good thing. Letting yourself and family down was something no child wanted to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I've already had two children who have graduated and they were completely equipped and ready for their transitions to middle school. I have one to go and he loves his school. The teachers really care about these kids and the administration is excellent at fostering open dialog between parents and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

We are Grandparents of three students who are presently attending Alexander II Magnet School and ten alumni of the school. We have volunteered in the classroom and attended numerous programs, festivals, Grandparents Day, etc. for the past 16 years. We also have grandchildren who have and are attending other quality Bibb County Schools. Though some of them are very good schools, we feel that none of them can quite measure up to the excellent education that is provided at Alexander II. The teachers, aides, administration, and volunteers all help to bring together the atmosphere for learning that Alexander II has been noted for and maintained for so many years. Thank you Alex II for what you are doing because you must be doing something right! Grandparents - Ken and Nancy White, Macon


Posted October 13, 2006

We are very pleased with Alexander II Magnet School. I, the parent, went to a local private school here in Macon, GA. I was hesitate to send my children to a public school. Nonetheless, I have been greatly satisfied in every aspect of Alexander II. The faculty and staff are the 'cream of the crop'. I have neighbors that attend private schools; and, my children are at least one grade ahead of them academically. We love the principal, Ms. Penny Smith. We also have had the best teachers--Ms. Kirby, Ms. Walker, Ms. Whitehead and Ms. McRae. The janitor staff take such pride in there work. Alexander II is always spotless. We call Alexander the private school that you do not have to pay for. We are so happy to use our tax dollars. I just wish educators could be paid more. Educators are our future and they deserve more. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Not as good as it used to be. Not sure if that is because of the guidelines established by the Board of Education, the school's leadership, or the change in the quality of teachers. There are some very good and dedicated teachers present, but from my experinece that seems to be the exception not the rule. The school was much better and the teachers much better 20 years ago, but when compared to other schools in Bibb County it seems to be a better choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

There is nothing more important in my life than making sure my children have spiritual guidance and a great education. The first teacher is myself and I make sure I do not leave room for failure. I knew what school my children were going to attend when they were in diapers. Alexander 11 leaves no room for kids that doubt themselves and what to give up. They encourage students in always, making sure that their education is the most important thing to them. They also encourage parents to stay involove with their children academic growth. I wish that all schools had the enthusiam tht Alexander 11 has and if not they not to come on over to see how a village really does raise a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

I am a parent and a teacher at Alex II. From a parent and staff member's perspective, I can tell you this is one of the best schools in Macon. I have selected this school for my two gifted children and have been pleased with their progress. We have many opportunities here- a fabulous advanced math program, science lab, student-run news show, gifted program, chorus, band, gifted program.... This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2003

As a teacher in another system that could send my child anywhere in that system, we are so glad that Alexander II is our choice. This is a first class school and what makes it so special is the teachers are allowed to teach without having severe discipline interfere with instruction. God Bless you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2003

My daughter just completed Kindergarten at Alexander II, for the 2002-2003 school year.Her teacher and Para-Pro, Mrs. Perkins and Ms. Booz, provided a sound education and firm discipline for a new student. My daughter learned new information by leaps and bounds and I was kept informed daily. She now reads any word that comes into view and practices her math facts,out loud,all day long. I can't say enough about all of the staff at Alexander II. I was greeted every morning by teachers, Pricipal, Custodian, Etc. A #1 school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

89 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

89 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

89 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

100 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

100 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

100 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 44%
Black 46% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Linda Bivins
Fax number
  • (478) 752-5249

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1156 College St
Macon, GA 31201
Phone: (478) 779-2679

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Peter Claver
Macon, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT