Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lane Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 535 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

Big shout out to Mrs Martin. What a wonderful person and a great teacher. It is a joy to have you in our son's life. Your contribution to his academic success is tremendous and very much appreciated. Keep up the awsome job at Lane.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

when the teacher is being partial and not fair then there is a problem, my son is being treated unfairly by his teacher and i do not like that. i am thinking of removing my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

Lane Elem. is still a great school. My three children are older and in college, but still stop by to see teachers and staff when ever they come home from college breaks. That in itself tells you how wonderful the school is. If you are a parent with high expectations and work with your child in and out of the classroom, then Lane is the school for you. Parents are very involved with the staff and events around the school. I was there when Penny Smith, Sherri Flag, Peggy Nipper and Lynn Stephens were principals. Each of them were great leaders and held a firm belief in having a community environment in the school were everyone is welcome if it was for the betterment of the students. T. Shakir


Posted May 27, 2013

Lane is an amazing school with loving and caring teachers. My two children look forward to going to school each day. We have been pleased with the curriculum taught and the amount of information our children have retained. We are also impressed by how many of Lane's staff address our children by name. We are thankful for the small neighborhood school and the close knit atmosphere among the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

I am not happy with this school. We moved to Macon about 4 months ago, and it has been a hard struggle for my son. He has ADHD and is dyslexic and there is NO dylexia program! I have never herd of such a thing. My son went from the AB honor roll last year to failing english this year. His teacher stares at me like a deer in the headlights whenever I go in to speak with her. The kids are never allowed to go outside and burn off some extra energy. They are kept in the classroom all day. His teacher sends A LOT of work home for ME to teach him. I'm all for helping educate my child, but I feel like I'm doing her job for her. I am greatly considering home schooling as an alternative to the substandard education he seems to be getting at Lane.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Diverse culture with warm loving staff that goes above and beyond the call of duty to help the student's achieve their greatest.


Posted September 18, 2008

We researched the schools before picking Lane & we were't disappointed. The teachers at Lane drive our children to be the best that they can be. They involve the parents in every aspect of their children's education. The parents who gave Lane poor ratings are probably the ones whose kid's are very diruptive in class & doing poorly. I, as an involved parent, have been welcomed to the school on many occasions to sit & observe or help the teachers & I have to say, most of the kids were very enthusiastic about learning. All I can say is that everyone is entitled to their opinion, however, it's best to refrain from giving a negative one without checking yourself or your kid(s). Learning starts at home. Children benefit greatly from having help & support at home as well as in school & Lane encourages both. Thanks Lane for driving our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

I have been a teacher at Lane for 7 of my 12 years in education. My passion has always been for the heart of a child and Lane is a school where that is celebrated. While there is no such thing as a perfect school, Lane is as close as it gets! My fellow teachers and staff members are always looking for ways to better care for and educate our students. Faculty and staff members go above and beyond the call ,including evenings and weekends, to provide the best possible experience for students. We have a great PTA that supports and encourages our teachers and work hard to help provide for our students. McKibben Lane is a school where I will be proud to bring my own children. I hope to teach here for many years to come!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 28, 2008

LOL, I haven't been to this site sense July 2006 when I made the comment about moving to Macon and finding the right school for my children. Lane turned out not only to be the best school for my children, where all three have graduated from and are now in middle and high school; but I started working there as a substitute teacher, the next year I was a teachers aid and now I'm a paraprofessional. The principal is awesome, she continues to push her staff to be and become the best they can be. She encourages them to take other education classes to better their skill. I am now in school to become a teacher, because I love my job so much and I hope to one day teach at Lane. Several papara's at Lane have went on to become teachers. The staff and students are like our second family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 5, 2008

Lane is the best school! They have a great principal and loving teachers. My child loves the school. They set high academic standards while allowing children to be children. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

This school is not organized at all. Every event starts late. The teachers are rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

I love this school! My son went through K-5 here and loved every minute of it. At first I was nervous because his teacher looked really young, but Ms. Adams turned out to be a great teacher. I am amazed at the things my son has learned from her. I am sure she went above and beyond what she was required to teach and I thank God he was in her class. All teachers(from all grades) know my son by name and I think that is wonderful. Everyone shows love and concern for the students and it is a great environment. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

I taught 3rd grade for 3 years(2003-2006) at Lane. I enjoyed working at a school where learning is number 1. Lane has the students' best interest at heart and truly works hard to make sure that each student achieves his/her very best. It is no wonder that Lane has been at the top of its game in test scores. The teachers love their students and only want the best. I think Lane is an excellent school that deserves the highest regard.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2006

It seems though this school is a great disappointment. The teachers are very nonloving,don't want the students to be children and just enjoy learning. When your child has had almost four different teachers in one year, there is a problem. Every new teacher that came, quit. The students have no one that they can even relate to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

We are new to the school this year. Many of the rules and regulations (initiated by principal) give the school an almost 'military school' feel. Silence is demanded in almost every aspect of a child's day...silent lunch, silent restrooms, etc. When we questioned the principal we were told that children are allowed to talk when the teacher asks them a question in class. Teachers seem frustrated by pressures leaderships demands. Have witnessed teachers and principal yelling at children. School's mission statement says they provide a 'warm and nuturing environment'...I have rarely seen this. Our children will NOT return to Lane next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

My son is in the autism program at this school and I have been very happy. We have been in two other states and this particular school is great! The staff all seem to care a great deal and put in a lot of time here. I am amazed at the dedication that I see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

My involvement with this school began approximatly four years ago,when my oldest(of 5) started first grade. I was pleasantly surprised at the obvious amount of care and concern the staff & parents had reagarding all of the children. The, what used to be, open door policy was wonderful and welcoming. This school year, unfortunatly, had become unbearable regarding all the policies and rules in which the staff and leadership could abide by and my children suffered the effects of it. Particular movies ranging from PG to PG-13 were being shown to fourth and fifth graders with out any knowledge to the parents,and in one case the rating didn't even matter to the teacher! The answer to this problem, without hesitation, was to remove the student,my child! After finding out this had gone on for two weeks or more, I knew my children had suffered enough. We are now homeschooling!Thankfully!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

I am a teacher who moved to this school last year. I have worked at a number of schools for the past 27 years, but have never worked in a school that I would recommend as highly as this one. I'd say teachers average 55-60+ hours per week working within this building itself and spend a lot of time networking with each other (brainstorming ways together to improve their teaching of the curriculum). The kids are really cared about here. Family activities are planned on Friday nights and the staff is there too!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2004

My family & I were trasferred to Georgia from Tennessee. We had a kindergartener at the time. McKibben Lane's staff (and the children) were very supportive and friendly toward my daughter. She is now in 1st grade and continues to exude confidence and great learning skills. (More than I ever did in 1st grade!) This school is a well-balanced school regarding nurturing vs discipline. The expectations of the children aren't too high or too low. I am pleased with the staff and curriculum of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

This is one great school! My son has ADHD and has been going here for the past 2 years. They have worked with him and my son continues to learn at the same rate as the other students! Mckibben Lane is awesome! Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

95 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

95 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

95 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 37%
White 16% 44%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Peggy Nipper
Fax number
  • (478) 471-5801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

990 Newport Rd
Macon, GA 31210
Phone: (478) 471-5416

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT