Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Middle Georgia Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 75 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Macon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

My child has attended MGCS since the age of 3. The teachers and staff care greatly about their students success and are willing to go the extra mile. The students academics and behavior bar is set high and students are expected to excell! I love the diversity, small class sizes, Christian atmosphere, and affordable tuition! MGCS is a welcome alternative for all parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

This is the first year at MGC school for my child. The overall faculty and Administration are very caring and seem to have the children's best interest at heart. The teacher to student ratio is wonderful for the fact that the children receive more one on one attention with the academic studies. Safety of the students ranks high on the list right up with the quality of the academics and teaching of God's word. I am very pleased with the overall performance this year with quality of care / safety / academic studies my child has received this year and the best part is that he is learning the word of God and how to walk in his ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

My child has been going to MGCS for 6 years. We have been very happy with the quality of teachers and the staff. I would highly recommend this school. It is small so your child will receive a lot of one-on-one attention. And you can't beat the tuition rates. It's very affordable for what they offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

I really love this school!!!! I have two childrens, one in pre-k4 and the other in 4th grade. They transferred from another private school. This school shows how a private school should be ran. The staff sees no color, all children are the same. They make you feel more than welcome! My 4 year old has learned so much, unlike the prior school she attended. My 9 years made a easy transition to this school and continues to be on honor roll! I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Excellent school AMEN!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I really like this school. My husband's 8 year old sisters go here and my 3 year old daughter also goes here. My daughter has learned so much just in K-3! The faculty is very friendly and they all really work with the students on a one-on-one basis. They also offer alot of extracurricular activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

This school has really opened my child to his full potential! He has learned so much in such a short time since school started. I see God's will being followed in every aspect of the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2006

My children switched to MGCS from a public school. I have been very impressed with the staff and the students. My children have been very happy. Because of the small class sizes and better behaved, my children have been able to learn alot more than in the public school setting. My children feel safe whereas in the public school my children did not feel safe. I am glad we have such a great school and an affordable rate. My children participate in everything that they can do and are becoming more well rounded as well as having a better Christian attitude. Parents are welcome at any time which has been a plus, I can come and eat lunch with my child anytime. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

Both of my children attended MGCS. My son graduated when MGCS was at Williamson Rd. My daughter was in the 10th grade when the school board decided to cut back to the 8th grade. We were impressed with the Christian education both received and the overall quality of the school. We feel that our decision to place our children there was correct and well worth the money. Our son graduated valedictorian of his class and is now a bio-medical technician. Our daughter chose to accept Christ through her Bible studies at MGCS. She's learned the value of not backing down from difficulties and is a hard working person. My daughter took piano and my son was involved in every sports program. The atmosphere was one of family, learning, feeling of safety, and respect. MGCS was a very positive experience for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

Being associated with MGCS for several years now, I see where there have been some struggles for the past few years because of change in administration, but this year has proven to be one of the best yet. The Director is well qualified academically and has excellent experience he has brought to the school this year. The teachers have at least teachering degrees with some having Masters, plus the dedication needed to help children achieve their highest potential. I can honestly say that this is one school where race is not a deciding factor on whether your child attends. If they pass the entrance test then the opportunity to attend is open. Music lessons on offered 4th - 8th. K5-8th have chorus bi-weekly. Sports activities are limited due to the size of the school, but MGCS works with other private school in the Macon area to offer as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

My child attended Pre-K at MGCS. I was very disappointed in the organization, faculty-parent relationships, and enthusiasm with this school. From one morning to the next, I was never certain of the person that I would be dropping my little girl off with. I actually had a teacher mock me, a parent, as I left the building one morning. My child complained every morning about going to school. She was very unhappy there. There was also a weekly struggle with the Finance department. I can say one good thing about them: She did learn a lot...nothing like what was advertised, but I was still impressed with that. Overall, this school has a great deal of challenges to overcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

The school has not been lead by the right person for the last two years. A new leader needs to come in and change a lot of things (and employee positions).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 37%
White 41% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Scot Brassfield
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • GAC
  • NCSA
Fax number
  • (478) 757-9587

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents teacher friends association (ptfa)
More from this school
  • Fifty-two acre campus with a four hundred seat auditorium, a school store and two play grounds. Bible camp with cabins, pavilion, craft cabin, bath-house, softball field, two soccer fields, volleyball court. Nature trails, and cross country course. Technology center (science lab and computer lab.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5859 Thomaston Rd
Macon, GA 31220
Website: Click here
Phone: (478) 757-9585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT