Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carter Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 562 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2013

The teachers at Sonny Carter are wonderful. We moved to this school in 3rd grade and we were reading at a first grade level. By the time we got to 4th we were reading at grade level and by 5th grade we were reading on a 6th grade level. The math coach is wonderful. The PTO is a very strong group. They provide art instruction for the kids and are highly visible. The school is very racially and economically diverse. I wish the principal was out among the students more and out and about more during times when parents are in the building. The office staff is wonderful but a bit short staffed (but that is not their problem). There are lots of opportunities for extra curricular involvement that doesn't require weekend time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Carter has a wonderful teaching staff. They are caring and the office staff is very helpful. The PTO is always trying to raise funds to acccomplish goals for the school. It has a understanding principal and terrific parental involvement. The kids all seem to be very happy. It has music and art which many schools have cut. I am so glad we have this gem of a school here in Macon, GA! Awesome academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Sonny Carter is a great school with great teachers. From the moment you step onto the school grounds, the learning begins. There is so much to see; much to peak a child's curiosity, and so much to learn, starting at the sidewalk; on into the building, and it carries through into the classrooms. One of the most wonderful things about Sonny Carter is that the children appear to be happy and excited about being there. The environment is warm, family friendly, and welcoming. They have a fantastic principle who does so much to involve parents and to bring new and innovative programs and quest to the school. I think Sonny Carter is a wonderful environment for children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

We have been very pleased with S. Carter Elementary. Both our children have had good to excellent teachers every year. One of our children is in the gifted program and LOVES it. We also feel it is a safe enviroment and disciplined is maintained very well. This is easily the best school in the disrtict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

Easily the best school in Macon. The teachers have dedicate their lives to education. That coupled with the parental involvement makes this a first rate school! The counselor empowers the students and helps ensure they learn the ethics they need later in life. The principal ensures the high standards are maintained from year to year. Easily a top-notch school, but not with out effort. This school strives to maintain their status as the best in the county.


Posted February 13, 2010

Both of my children 'graduated' from Carter. They are now in the AP classes in High School and Middle School. Tremendous leadership and parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

I feel very good about this school. We moved to GA all most 3 years ago. This school is very diverse racially, which was important to us. Our son started kindergarten here with special education supports. His teachers have done a great job helping him, while at the same time 'pushing' him to be more independant. IEP meetings are run well, allowing parents to feel comfortable and not rushed. Parent involvement is incredible here as well. If one is moving to Bibb county, I would recommend this school highly. Thanks you Sonny Carter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2004

I think this school is wonderful. The teacher's are warm and caring, the curriculum is great, and the principle really cares. The parents at this school really make a difference. We all pitch in where we can to help make our children's school experience as positive as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

I love the teachers at Sunny Carter! I have a child in Kindergarden and one in 5th. This is a top rated school in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 37%
White 38% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Latricia Reeves
Fax number
  • (478) 757-5536

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5910 Zebulon Rd
Macon, GA 31210
Phone: (478) 471-5440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT