Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carter Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at Sonny Carter are wonderful. We moved to this school in 3rd grade and we were reading at a first grade level. By the time we got to 4th we were reading at grade level and by 5th grade we were reading on a 6th grade level. The math coach is wonderful. The PTO is a very strong group. They provide art instruction for the kids and are highly visible. The school is very racially and economically diverse. I wish the principal was out among the students more and out and about more during times when parents are in the building. The office staff is wonderful but a bit short staffed (but that is not their problem). There are lots of opportunities for extra curricular involvement that doesn't require weekend time.

Carter Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
Carter has a wonderful teaching staff. They are caring and the office staff is very helpful. The PTO is always trying to raise funds to acccomplish goals for the school. It has a understanding principal and terrific parental involvement. The kids all seem to be very happy. It has music and art which many schools have cut. I am so glad we have this gem of a school here in Macon, GA! Awesome academics!


Carter Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Sonny Carter is a great school with great teachers. From the moment you step onto the school grounds, the learning begins. There is so much to see; much to peak a child's curiosity, and so much to learn, starting at the sidewalk; on into the building, and it carries through into the classrooms. One of the most wonderful things about Sonny Carter is that the children appear to be happy and excited about being there. The environment is warm, family friendly, and welcoming. They have a fantastic principle who does so much to involve parents and to bring new and innovative programs and quest to the school. I think Sonny Carter is a wonderful environment for children to learn and grow.

Carter Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
We have been very pleased with S. Carter Elementary. Both our children have had good to excellent teachers every year. One of our children is in the gifted program and LOVES it. We also feel it is a safe enviroment and disciplined is maintained very well. This is easily the best school in the disrtict.

Carter Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a community member
Easily the best school in Macon. The teachers have dedicate their lives to education. That coupled with the parental involvement makes this a first rate school! The counselor empowers the students and helps ensure they learn the ethics they need later in life. The principal ensures the high standards are maintained from year to year. Easily a top-notch school, but not with out effort. This school strives to maintain their status as the best in the county.


Carter Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children 'graduated' from Carter. They are now in the AP classes in High School and Middle School. Tremendous leadership and parent involvement.

Carter Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
I feel very good about this school. We moved to GA all most 3 years ago. This school is very diverse racially, which was important to us. Our son started kindergarten here with special education supports. His teachers have done a great job helping him, while at the same time 'pushing' him to be more independant. IEP meetings are run well, allowing parents to feel comfortable and not rushed. Parent involvement is incredible here as well. If one is moving to Bibb county, I would recommend this school highly. Thanks you Sonny Carter!

Carter Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2004
- a parent
I think this school is wonderful. The teacher's are warm and caring, the curriculum is great, and the principle really cares. The parents at this school really make a difference. We all pitch in where we can to help make our children's school experience as positive as possible.


Carter Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2003
- a parent
I love the teachers at Sunny Carter! I have a child in Kindergarden and one in 5th. This is a top rated school in my book!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carter Elementary School
5910 Zebulon Rd, Macon, GA  31210
(478) 471-5440
Last modified Carter Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carter Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top