Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carter Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The new Leader in Me program is changing the students, teachers, and even parents. Super

Carter Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at Sonny Carter are wonderful. We moved to this school in 3rd grade and we were reading at a first grade level. By the time we got to 4th we were reading at grade level and by 5th grade we were reading on a 6th grade level. The math coach is wonderful. The PTO is a very strong group. They provide art instruction for the kids and are highly visible. The school is very racially and economically diverse. I wish the principal was out among the students more and out and about more during times when parents are in the building. The office staff is wonderful but a bit short staffed (but that is not their problem). There are lots of opportunities for extra curricular involvement that doesn't require weekend time.


Carter Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
Carter has a wonderful teaching staff. They are caring and the office staff is very helpful. The PTO is always trying to raise funds to acccomplish goals for the school. It has a understanding principal and terrific parental involvement. The kids all seem to be very happy. It has music and art which many schools have cut. I am so glad we have this gem of a school here in Macon, GA! Awesome academics!

Carter Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Sonny Carter is a great school with great teachers. From the moment you step onto the school grounds, the learning begins. There is so much to see; much to peak a child's curiosity, and so much to learn, starting at the sidewalk; on into the building, and it carries through into the classrooms. One of the most wonderful things about Sonny Carter is that the children appear to be happy and excited about being there. The environment is warm, family friendly, and welcoming. They have a fantastic principle who does so much to involve parents and to bring new and innovative programs and quest to the school. I think Sonny Carter is a wonderful environment for children to learn and grow.

Carter Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
We have been very pleased with S. Carter Elementary. Both our children have had good to excellent teachers every year. One of our children is in the gifted program and LOVES it. We also feel it is a safe enviroment and disciplined is maintained very well. This is easily the best school in the disrtict.


Carter Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a community member
Easily the best school in Macon. The teachers have dedicate their lives to education. That coupled with the parental involvement makes this a first rate school! The counselor empowers the students and helps ensure they learn the ethics they need later in life. The principal ensures the high standards are maintained from year to year. Easily a top-notch school, but not with out effort. This school strives to maintain their status as the best in the county.

Carter Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children 'graduated' from Carter. They are now in the AP classes in High School and Middle School. Tremendous leadership and parent involvement.

Carter Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
I feel very good about this school. We moved to GA all most 3 years ago. This school is very diverse racially, which was important to us. Our son started kindergarten here with special education supports. His teachers have done a great job helping him, while at the same time 'pushing' him to be more independant. IEP meetings are run well, allowing parents to feel comfortable and not rushed. Parent involvement is incredible here as well. If one is moving to Bibb county, I would recommend this school highly. Thanks you Sonny Carter!


Carter Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2004
- a parent
I think this school is wonderful. The teacher's are warm and caring, the curriculum is great, and the principle really cares. The parents at this school really make a difference. We all pitch in where we can to help make our children's school experience as positive as possible.

Carter Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2003
- a parent
I love the teachers at Sunny Carter! I have a child in Kindergarden and one in 5th. This is a top rated school in my book!

Nearby schools

Carter Elementary School
5910 Zebulon Rd, Macon, GA  31210
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (478) 779-3350
Last modified Carter Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top