Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Macon, GA
Students enrolled: 1,198
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westside High School 4

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
I am the grandparent/guardian of a recent Westside graduate. My congratulations to the principal, administrative staff, counselors, and teaching staff of Westside High School. With a student population of many ethnic groups and diverse social & economic backgrounds, the personnel of Westside has managed to pull together a working educational environment conducive to effective learning. This is an outstanding achievement worthy of praise.

Westside High School 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a student
westside ais a really good school...i love it and its also a really big fashion show...but i still love it...we are hard to beat in all of our sports espically football...eveyone loves football season at our school...


Westside High School 2

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Westside High School 5

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
As a parent who is an involved parent, I am aware of the changes that have been made to move Westside in a positive direction. Where once parents felt ignored at best, they are now welcome. Although Westside is a large school, we are seeing the beginning of a family atmosphere that has been developed since the new principal began there last year. Academics are a priority but the entire child is the focus. I am more than satisfied and in fact, quite proud to be a Seminole!

Westside High School 5

Posted December 03, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Westside High School 4

Posted October 14, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Westside High School 2

Posted August 30, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Westside High School 5

Posted December 02, 2006
- a student
Westside has always been wonderful, and it has just been getting better and better by the moment with Mrs. Perkins as our new principal. Mrs. Perkins is not only concerned with our academics, and passing, but she has also planned many new activities for us. With all the hype about the football season, and scheduled pep rallies that we didn't have last year, many students found themselves engaged in school spirit, while having fun. But that doesn't mean Mrs. Laura Perkins is all about game, she is also concerned, but not overly concerned with dress code. The way she subtly administers last year's harsh dress code rules gives the teachers more time to teach, instead of preaching useless rules. On top of this, Mrs. Perkins is friendly and finds time to get to know the students. I love how engaged she is in enriching our experiences at Westside High.


Westside High School 3

Posted April 03, 2006
- a former student
As a graduate of the Bibb Co. school system and a successful college student at Spelman College, I don't believe that it's the education system that is the problem, it's our 'microwave' generation who wants things given to them quickly and easily rather than work for it. It's not about what is given, it's about what you take out of it. However, I do believe that dress code is a joke. It's especially difficult because the dress code rules are so out of touch with what manufacturers make today. The clothes that are in dress code are near impossible to find.

Westside High School 3

Posted March 08, 2006
- a student
Westside is all about dresscode, rather then teaching. Although we make the AYP and all the others, I believe as a student that the school is more worried about who is wearing what when who is learning what. In my years at Westside, it has been overcrowded and i feel the teachers are afraid of some students. They do not treat students equally as far as dresscode.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westside High School
2851 Heath Rd, Macon, GA  31206
(478) 779-3813
Last modified Westside High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westside High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top