Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westside High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 15, 2015
- a student
There is just enough homework to do. I come home, And complete homework with EASE. AP Classes are a different story, As Homework is essential.

Westside High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a student
The administration have decided that it is best to push the students to their max, to get their minds working, and their health high.


Westside High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a student
Respect is one of the main aspects of the school. They decide to teach it to the students every morning with the announcements.

Westside High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a student
The teachers all care about their babies, Hehe. I can say one thing, They ALL do their jobs, At Excelling levels. Mr. Allen, The band director states: "Don't be OK, With being OK."

Westside High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a student
The teachers and Administrative staff make sure to keep the students engaged in learning, and college or career ready. Hah, It's what I hear in the announcements EVERY morning. It's worth hearing if it means a successful life.


Westside High School 5

Posted August 15, 2015
- a student
The school is an amazing overall school. The teachers put forth so much effort into their students, All of them treating them like their own little kids. Which is awesome. Mr. Womack and Mr. Scott in the spotlight here, Hehe. The Football team, Marching band, And all others are very well skilled. They all put hard work, and dedication into what they do, Which should be celebrated in my opinion. Are you having doubts about westside? Don't. It's amazing as it is.

Westside High School 4

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
I am the grandparent/guardian of a recent Westside graduate. My congratulations to the principal, administrative staff, counselors, and teaching staff of Westside High School. With a student population of many ethnic groups and diverse social & economic backgrounds, the personnel of Westside has managed to pull together a working educational environment conducive to effective learning. This is an outstanding achievement worthy of praise.

Westside High School 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a student
westside ais a really good school...i love it and its also a really big fashion show...but i still love it...we are hard to beat in all of our sports espically football...eveyone loves football season at our school...


Westside High School 5

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
As a parent who is an involved parent, I am aware of the changes that have been made to move Westside in a positive direction. Where once parents felt ignored at best, they are now welcome. Although Westside is a large school, we are seeing the beginning of a family atmosphere that has been developed since the new principal began there last year. Academics are a priority but the entire child is the focus. I am more than satisfied and in fact, quite proud to be a Seminole!

Westside High School 5

Posted December 02, 2006
- a student
Westside has always been wonderful, and it has just been getting better and better by the moment with Mrs. Perkins as our new principal. Mrs. Perkins is not only concerned with our academics, and passing, but she has also planned many new activities for us. With all the hype about the football season, and scheduled pep rallies that we didn't have last year, many students found themselves engaged in school spirit, while having fun. But that doesn't mean Mrs. Laura Perkins is all about game, she is also concerned, but not overly concerned with dress code. The way she subtly administers last year's harsh dress code rules gives the teachers more time to teach, instead of preaching useless rules. On top of this, Mrs. Perkins is friendly and finds time to get to know the students. I love how engaged she is in enriching our experiences at Westside High.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westside High School
2851 Heath Rd, Macon, GA  31206
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (478) 779-3800
Last modified Westside High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top