Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori of Macon

Private | PK-12 | 150 students

Authentic Montessori education for children 18 months through 12th grade.

 
 

Living in Macon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2013

We have been apart of Montessori of Macon for over four years. There is no other school I would put my daughter. This school is really more like family. The teachers and staff keep us informed about what's going on and there are many opportunities for me to be involved as a parent. I also love the farming and gardening they have at the school. My daughter's class has chickens and they use the eggs for cooking projects. There are also goats in the Middle/High program. The school and staff are wonderful and caring. I couldn't ask for a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2012

Great school if you're welcome. If for some reason they would rather you not be a part of their community, your child will not receive anything close to an education. I was disappointed as I had great expectations and was recommended a Montissori school by a friend in an other state. I remained for several years, thinking it would pan out in the long run, considering the alternatives. But I wish I had pulled my child out sooner. "I can't do it!" has become his belief.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

Being a former Elem. teacher I am VERY picky about schools. Montessori of Macon has lived up to ALL my expectations. The teachers are great, the staff is awesome and the new campus is beautiful! Fantastic school in every way!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Montessori of Macon helps children develop independence, responsibility and respect while giving them a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

There is a marvelous flow to both the kids' work and their play. The supportive environment that promotes both independent inquiry and group work lets kids grow at their own pace while learning from each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This school is so completely focused on the children and their total development, not just the academics of school. There are so many opportunities for the children to grow up into the most fantastic human beings. The teachers are like no other I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

Excellent school. Gently nurtures the children but establishing a environment that encourages the exploration and learning. The school prepares the children for success in any future endeavor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

Although my daughter is enrolled at MoM (and loves it!), most of my experience there has been as a education student observing and interacting in the classrooms. Montessori intrinsically fosters independence and a love for learning. MoM provides much more by including cultural awareness lessons in the curriculum. It is a small school devoted to providing a quality Montessori environment for all students. The teachers have devotion and positive attitudes. Because it is a small school, there are fewer extracurricular activities. Music, Art and Spanish are part of the curriculum, but they also provide some extra activities. (Sewing lessons are currently offered.) Parents are required to contribute 5 hours per month to the school. This helps provide a sense of community. That community has been a wonderful experience for me as a parent, also. I stay involved in her education, and in contact with other parents with similar values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

After considering several schools for our son, our decision to enroll him at MOM has been one we have never regretted. The teachers and staff are top notch and they truly care about each individual student. While at MOM, my son has not only mastered basic preschool and kindergarten skills, but also acquired knowledge in the areas of language, art history, music, cultures of the world and geography.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 44%
Black 11% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (888) 846-7314

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • 4H Club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Running club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

855 Tolliver Place
Macon, GA 31210
Website: Click here
Phone: (478) 757-8927

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT