Advertisement
Advertisement

First Presbyterian Day School

Private | PK-12

Our school is best known for our Christ-centered, college preparatory education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Macon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2013

FPDS staff and teachers poor out themselves for our children and set high expectiations on their academic as well as their spiritual maturity, enhance the value we taught at home and bring out the best out of our children. I recommend FPDS to all the parents in the Macon who is seeking for quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

FPD is a school of excellence! The students are taught on a college prep level and challenged. The math program is fantastic and teaches students to choose the best way for them. The school offers 21st century classrooms which will equip our students for the future. The teachers are dedicated to their work and offer every student a highly motivated experience in the classroom. While the sports are ranked high, the arts are fascinating. This school offers something for everyone and will lead your child to a lifetime of success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

FPD is a great school with outstanding academics. Check the statistics for test scores and national merit scholars etc, impressive. Our 3rd grader is reading at a 6th grade level and has developed a true love for learning which we credit to the wonderful teachers. We have heard from other parents that if your child is having any trouble academically teachers are quick to meet with parents and address the concern. Participating in GHSA sports has given these students more of a "real world" view that you won't find at other middle GA private schools. We highly recommend this school for a wonderful Christian based education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

FPDS is not a good school. It may be better than the surrounding public schools, but it is not nearly as good as the public schools my niece is attending in Florida. My niece is getting a quality education and I am envious that my son is not getting that caliber. I get frequent emails from teachers, AFTER grades are posted telling me that my son's grades are not satisfactory. He was an Honor roll student before this school. FPD is killing his interest in school with massive amounts of homework, but no instruction in comprehending what he is doing, or why.He took a Keyboard class last year and the teacher never taught touch typing! The kids just typed all day. I guess they were supposed to pick up the process by osmosis. Come on! This is a very necessary skill in today's world. Give a little instruction and stop running out to teach sports! I have tried to get involved, but "those" parents shun me. My emails don't get returned and apparently I keep getting dropped from the call tree. My son was in several schools locally, before coming here. They were positive experiences for both of us, but I have had nothing but frustration with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

Fpd is a great school. It's full of opportunities in academics and athletics. The teachers are excellent Christian role models and will help any student through nearly anything. Sports are great and extremely competitive, especially since the move to the GHSA


Posted October 26, 2009

If you want a Christ centered, college prep school, there is none better in Middle Georgia. Teachers have been perfect for my children; the academics have been challenging and the school community is just wonderful. Fine arts and athletic programs are excellent, lead by Godly and gifted leaders. Lunches are better than most restaruants! FPD is too good of a secret in Macon to be swept under the rug.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2008

does not properly prepare you for college class work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I am a student enrolled at FPD.I have been going to FPD for 11 years and my brother attended FPD for 14 years. While going to a Christian School you grow in faith, but going to FPD you feel sheltered. We are not taught the reality of the world. The teachers are great here and really care about how you are doing and i have been come really close to some of my teachers. The new Zac building is great! There are tons of sports and it is a big part of our school (especially fpd vs stratfords game). I enjoy all the afterschool activities they offer at my school. I say the only downside is the food. SAGE food they serve at school isn't that great and the lunch people are Nazi's about having your lunch pass and cleaning up your table.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2004

An excellent, challenging school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 23, 2004

This is the greatest school in Middle GA! The teachers are outstanding! We highly recommend FPD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

Strong academics in a faith-filled Christian environment. Elementary School recognized as a Blue Ribbon School of Excellence by the US Department of Education, an award that is very well deserved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

As both a parent and a graduate I think I can say that at the present FPDS may be reaching a zenith of academic and athletic achievement. However, I think it really may only be reaching a point where even more great things are in store.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am a current student enrolled at FPD. My mom and uncle attended the school, so obviously they know the importance of a good education. My parents loved the fact that the school not only had a wonderful curriculum, but also their extracurricular activities were extraordinary and the Christian enviroment is now almost vital! My uncle graduated from FPD and has said that he went through college with no problems because of everything the school had taught him. I can't wait to go to college and put everything I learned at FPD to use! Thank you guys!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2004

I attended FPD in high school, and graduated in 1997. Throughout my time, I was extremely impressed by the level of education, and the commitment to providing an education based on the Truth found in the Bible. I also believe that the quality of education I received from FPD was exemplary. I went on to graduate, cum laude, from the School of Engineering at Mercer University; and I cannot say enough about how well I was prepared, especially in the areas of Math and Science. I now have a daughter enrolled in the Pre-K program at FPD, and my wife and I have been even more impressed with the improvements that have been made since I left. The facilities are exceptional, and the resources available to students are incredible. Your child will receive the highest quality of academic instruction available, and will also benefit from a curriculum centered around the Bible. I fully intend to contimue entrusting the education and preparation of my daughter, and any future children we may have, to this excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I attended this highschool when it was going through a considerable about of turnover in the headmaster area after Mr. Middlebrooks left. The few teachers that I know that are left are wonderful, alot of teachers got run off by the adminstrative turn over. I don't know if I would send my children to FPD or not, there's a lot of 'real world values' that you do not get at this school, and I can honestly say I have had next to little need for the 6 years of bible courses I had to take, which mainly taught the same thing every year. I think they should expand so students can take classes that will be more helpful in life than the bible courses, I could've benefited from more language choices and more science and math choices in place of that bible course which taught the same things as the one I took in 7th grade.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2003

A wonderful nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 44%
Black 4% 40%
Asian 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 6% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 93% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 1% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Georgia
Georgia State University
Georgia College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French and Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Gregg Thompson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (478) 477-2804

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Flag girls
  • Foreign language club: French and Spanish
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$12000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Georgia
Georgia State University
Georgia College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 6%
4 year college - 93%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5671 Calvin Drive
Macon, GA 31210
Website: Click here
Phone: (478) 477-6505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT