Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burruss Elementary School

Charter | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2014

Excellent, above and beyond any expectations for learning, inspiring students, warmth and true caring for students by staff, feeling of belonging by my children, positive encouragement to participate in extracurricular activities. Honors Day graduation ceremony will blow you away when you see the percentage of students stand up for the All A & B award. We are blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

I have a 2nd grader and a kindergartener at Burruss and we love it! great small school/ community feel. Principal knows all the kids by name. They do an awesome job addressing kids individual learning needs, both on the advanced end and kids who need extra help. There are so many extra programs/events organized by teachers and parents that it gives families opportunity to get involved and engage in their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

An absolutely great school. My son is excited to go to school. The staff is always pleasant and welcoming. Their use of modern technology is great. Fabulous!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

Our Son has been at AL Burruss for 3 years and absolutely loves it! All the teachers and staff are very dedicated, determined, and proactive in seeing their students succeed and flourish. Every school year is better than the last!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Buress is the best school in the city, Mrs. King and all of the faculty there are wonderful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

Burruss is the best school my children have ever attended, including the private schools. My children have used a variety of services, both special ed and gifted. The teachers are wonderful. They really love their students. Mrs. King is the best principal I have ever worked with, as well. If a parent has a concern, they receive a timely personal call, and the issue is almost always settled by the end of the call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

We moved to GA from NY. We have been enrolled in Burruss for a month. Everyday at drop off (we are walkers) I walk away so satisfied and excited that we found such a great school. the school is warm and friendly the extra curriculars are amazing. I cant say enough about how I feel about this school its just great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

Burruss is a great school. We moved from another school that I really liked and I was concerned about transferring my daughter to another good school. I was very satisfied with her 1st grade year there and I'm excited for her to attend 2nd grade this year and I'm excited for my youngest daughter to be starting kindergarten there this year. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

I would like to commend the leadership at A.L. Burrus. The school has a structured environment.Students are individually encouraged to do thier best. There is an endless list of incentives the teachers give to foster a love for learning and discipline responsibility etc. My child was coming fromm a private school environment and i can say Barrus is as good if not better. My child as a new student was made to feel very welcome by Ms. Skinner and Mrs. Brutton's class which was abig deal, he fitted right in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

We moved last year from Indiana in March, my 2 were in Kindergarten and 1st Grade. The teachers there did whatever they could to catch them up and make them feel welcomed. They used to dread going to school, but now since they are at Burrus, they love it. The diversity is great there (which was important to us). All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. Mrs. Farmer even sent postcards to my daughter throughout the summer to keep in touch. They are all wonderful there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

As the guardian/parent of a 1st grader, Ms. Pleak continually impressed me with her diliegent efforts to improve my child's focus on reading, math, and other curriculum. Ms. Pleak is an angel as a 1st grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

i have 3 children that attend buruss the programs are great they seem to take time out for each and every student . my 10 year old is in the 5th grade and there is so much for her to do i think it's great . the only thing i dislike about marietta city schools is the 8th graders don't have a graduation . and thats on the city school system as a whole not on burruss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

As the parent of a 4th grader, who been at A L Burruss for 5 years, I am continually impressed with the level of teacher/staff involvement. The is accelerated reading, advance placement math, PE and a wonderful afterschool program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2004

I was very impressed with Ms. Umphlett and her team teacher. They were both very concerned about my child's progress and kept me informed on a daily basis. My child enjoyed going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

Quite simply, Burruss is one of the best elementary schools in Cobb County. We had children in Cheatham Hill and A.L Burruss and there was no comparison between the two (unless you prefer a high student population). Kudos to Burruss for maintaining an outstanding reputation year after year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 37%
White 38% 44%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Julie King
Fax number
  • (770) 429-3146

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

325 Manning Rd SW
Marietta, GA 30064
Phone: (770) 429-3144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT