Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Joseph Catholic School 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
Sorry would no longer consider this school. Everyone there is snooty and my child is smarter than the majority of the kids chosen the day I came yet it seemed like the clan was already pre picked and focused on the more wealthier kids. As I sat in the room, I realized the interactions of the parents to teachers and already could see I was wasting my time being there. Sad part is that I probably would have been the one to donate the most at that school, but like I said hand chosen few already. I gave it a 2 because of my Catholic faith they got an extra point for that. Don't think I'm bitter or mad. I just never met a Catholic school that was that snobbish. I've went to Catholic School my whole life and never in my years did I see such hypocrisy. Would never want my children to grow such horrible ways so I'm glad he wasn't excepted. He ended up in a better rated school with a better education and more well rounded human beings. Calling yourselves a Catholic of faith and actually being a Catholic of faith makes a difference. I'm nobody special but if I were the principle (THE ONLY NICE CHARACTER I MET), I would ask that staff to reform.
2 people found this helpful

St Joseph Catholic School 1

Posted June 18, 2014
- a community member
I have gone to this school for all nine years and I have to say that it needs serious help. The students are victimized and treated like they're toddlers and the principal Mrs Allen rarely shows up to school. There are very few qualified teachers and the punishment of this school has never been fair. I have met so many kids in a middle school of 50 kids per grade that struggle with self harm, anxiety, eating disorders, and other issues and sjcs has done a horrible job in handling this. IThe students are treated poorly and have little to no room for creativity. Almost everything involving this school is biased. Don't get me wrong when I say that I regret going to this school, because I have met some of the best people here. But these kids that I have known and became friends with are good people only because of the job their parents have done and the school has nothing to do with the fact that I have met some great people. It would be a wiser option to get your kids away from this school and have them attend public school instead because this school is all drama politics and no education.
2 people found this helpful


St Joseph Catholic School 1

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
this school is the dumbest thing on planet earth and is something compared to a prison.

St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
This will be our last year at St Joseph Catholic School in Marietta because our youngest is graduating. We couldn't be more thankful for all the support, care and love our children got there and still do. Our children grew not only academic but as good individuals. Having the focus on Academics, Fine Arts, Sports, Girls/Boys Scout and not on clothes or make up, really make the students ready to go to High School full of confidence. This school will, for ever, be a 2nd house for all of us filled with wonderful memories with amazing friends.

St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
Since our first year at SJCS, I knew this was the right school for our children. The primary teachers, aids, enrichment teachers, support staff - everyone has the children's best interest in mind! I feel very confident that my children are receiving a well-rounded quality education. I also appreciate how well behaved the children are overall - they have a high standard of behavior that reinforces them to be responsible and accountable for their actions.


St Joseph Catholic School 1

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
This school is not a good place to go. Teachers are horrible and most aren't even qualified to be actual teachers. The Principal allows for no creativity orany fun in the school, and the academics are below average. You would be better off sending your child to your local public school.
1 person found this helpful

St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
My experience with the elementary school at St. Joseph has been overwhelmingly positive. My child likes going to school. The teachers are available before school to help students and have always been responsive to my e-mails and inquiries about assignments and grades. The administration is excellent and the staff always helpful and hardworking. The school nurse is also very caring. I respectfully disagree with the parent who posted that the principal does not attend the school Mass. I attended more than half of them during the school year and she was present at each one.

St Joseph Catholic School 3

Posted June 09, 2013
- a parent
As a former parent, I highly commend the teachers and counselors for their outstanding professionalism. The contrary can be noted for the Principal and the administration. The principal clearly displays undesirable characteristics both to the staff, as well as to the parents. Her 'bullying' techniques are highly unacceptable and she is completely unapproachable and unattainable. There is no 'open door' policy at the school. Never have I seen such hypocrisy displayed by a principal at a Catholic school, as I have never witnessed her attendance at school Masses with the students. Before enrolling your child in this school, I would think twice about subjecting either yourself or your child to the principal and the administration. I would highly recommend the exploration of other Parochial schools in the area.
1 person found this helpful


St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted July 21, 2010
- a parent
In regards to Fr. Berny from an earlier review: "Fr. Berny won't help because he couldn't care less about the school and the archdiocese office won't listen to valid concerns" Fr. Berny is no longer the pastor at St. Joseph. Fr. Walsh is a phenomenal pastor and is extremely involved in the school and I have seen a marked improvement since his appointment. He is fully engaged with the children and visits the classrooms and attends special events. We really love St. Joesph and feel like it is the best place for our children. We really like that we can talk to the teachers at any time and that we get to know the fellow parents and gain support and help from them when needed. Excellent school!!!

St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted January 17, 2010
- a parent
We have two children at St Joe's. We do love the school and commute 21 miles each way to get the kids there everyday.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph Catholic School
81 Lacy Street, Marietta, GA  30060
(770) 428-3328
Last modified St Joseph Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Joseph Catholic School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top