Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faith Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 225 students

We are best known for Christ-centered education.

 
 

Living in Marietta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

We LOVE FAITH! 2nd grader and 4s in preschool. The preschool is fantastic and my son started Kindergarten here. His experience was so positive we decided to stay. We felt it s a worthwhile investment and we feed into some of the best public schools in the state. The teachers are phenomenal and most class sizes are small. The standards are very high and the academics are challenging but there is a great deal of feedback from the teachers. My children are happy and encouraged to go the extra mile. There is recess and my kids are learning proper manners and morals. Very nice families and no snooty attitudes present in the halls of this school. Our family loves the faith based aspect of the school but appreciates that academics is a strong focus as well. Plus they offer Spanish, art, music, gym, computer lab, just installed a new science lab, real gym class and interactive smart boards. During afterschool the teachers help my son complete his homework or practice his spelling words before he gets home! All of the teachers take the extra time to bring out the best in each student. There is a transitional Kindergarten, which is hard to find. Worth checking out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

I'm a parent of 2 preschoolers at Faith. There is truly a family feeling at the school. When we walk in, the receptionist knows my family, every teacher on the preschool hall knows my family, even if they haven't taught my kids, even the lunch room workers know me and my boys! Because of all school activities, there are always one or two middle school girls who run up to my kids and greet them by name. I heard a teacher at open house say "We enroll children, not scholars." This is true. The academics may not be of the caliber of Westminister, Walker School or other big name Atlanta private schools, but they certainly are solid, and the school has a nice mix of kids. The 8th graders who graduate from Faith are well rounded, confident, kind, AND academically prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

My daughter attended Faith Lutheran from age 2 through Kindergarten. As a parent, the atmosphere was perfect. I as well as my daughter was greeted by name when we walked in the door and when I called, it was the same. The teachers were caring and nurturing and I will always cherish the time that she spent there. Awesome program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Fantastic teachers in a Christian environment. Discounts and scholarships, opportunities for public service, and staff that really, truly care about our kids! We are so glad to have found this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

My wife and I each attended private schools and our children have attended private schools for years. We changed to Faith Lutheran because their previous school was all about appearances but the substance was very lacking. Faith Lutheran does not have the best physical plant, that's obvious, but they have the most dedicated and caring teachers we have ever encountered. Every single adult seems focused on bringing the best to every encounter with the children. It's a small Lutheran school with a big heart. Go and meet the people, I think you will be impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

Clean, friendly, caring school--outstanding in all respects! We are in the PreK program and absolutely love it. My child has had excellent religious as well as academic instruction. I love the units they've studied this year--they extend the curriculum beyond reading preparation to science experiments and more. The student population is racially diverse, which I like, and the teachers are well-trained. The principal is very involved and greets my child every day. My child has learned so much and is VERY happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

What a blessing this school is to my children and family! My children have grown so much in both their academics and their willingness to reach out and help others. The wonderful teachers and staff know the children and call them by name. The smiles I see on the faces of the students when I'm there tells me they're happy and doing well. I've also watched friends' children graduate and go on to magnet programs and other elite private schools, doing well and continuing to excel at all their endeavors. Obviously, they've got the challenging academics to encourage the students to do their best. And, when my children do have problems, the teachers and staff are always ready to help. The school also teaches and enables the students to reach out to others in the community. Together the students and families put together EVERYTHING needed for a refugee family to come live in the area. With the recent tornadoes in the southeast, the students came up with the idea of "selling" no-uniform days to raise money to send to help others' recovery; the administration immediately "ok-ed" the plan. What wonderful support! This is truly the best place in East Cobb for families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2010

The class sizes are small, less that 20 kids which is good. If you are religious your child will get that.............but the school needs to improve their academics. There are public schools in the area with better curriculum/academics. Very few extra curricular activities. If you want your child in a small setting this is a good option. If you want your child to be well prepared academically keep looking!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

Didn't get the stars in the last review! Must add that I have not noticed any parent cliques with involvement ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

What a wonderful school. FLS has all of the right ingredients - longtime teachers who truly strive to bring out the best in each individual child; a staff who genuinely care about the well being of every family; a relatively new (the school has been in operation for 50 years) classroom facility, new playground and soon, a new playing field. The school offers a before/after school program and camps that work well for working parents. Spanish & computer class are introduced in kindergarten and sports and music programs are offered throughout the school year. FLS is a close knit school that cultivates (and expects) good behavior, community service and high achievement. We could not be happier with our experience and hope to keep our children at FLS through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

We love this school! Our daughter has thrived academically,socially and most of all in her love for Christ and respect for others. Teachers are great,principal is great! well worth the investment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

Two Thumbs up !! This is the best School ever. My sons personality and grades greatly improved since we enrolled here. I would not change a thing. At FLS it is all about the Kids, thank you teachers and Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

The overall quality of this school is outstanding. All the grade level teachers have their Georgia certifications. The class sizes are small which enables the teachers to offer quality time with each student. The principal has only been there two years but he is a real people person. He welcomes students and parents to talk to him. He knows every child by name - even the early childhood students. The school now offers a competitive sports program after school hours for students in grades 5-8. They play against teams from other private schools in the area. The school offers several choirs - including a chime choir. This year we look forward to adding handbell choirs as well. They also have a growing band program. The parents are welcomed to be involved. The school has a very active Parent-Teacher League which offers various activities for families during the year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2005

My oldest child attended Faith Lutheran School for 4 years. The Clique factor is a large part of the parent involvement. Everyone is welcome to sign up on the volunteer sheet but only the core (the same select few) actually do the activities. The level of education my child received was of overall good quality. The art and PE were inadequate. No extracirricular activities were in place when we attended but were proposed. When an incident involving poor supervision and subsequent injury of my child arose, they handled the situation extremely poorly. They DO have a new principal since we have gone and that might have changed somethings since we've left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

When your child goes there for the 1st year everyone will make you feel welcomed. It was nice to have a school that loves all the children in the school. I was so taken by the school that my oldest child has been there for five years and will stay there until the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 44%
Black 7% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ann Greinke, Interim Principal
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (770) 971-7796

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
  • Lego League
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Dominion Christian HS
Blessed Trinity HS
Wheeler HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2111 Lower Roswell Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 973-8921

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Casa Dei Bambini
Marietta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT