Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6
Public charter
Marietta, GA
Students enrolled: 611
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marietta 6th Grade School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Our experience at MSGA could not have been better. The principal is smart, caring and as honest as they come. Unfortunately, there may be a few disgruntled and toxic parents out there, but I saw MANY smiling faces when I walked the halls often to volunteer at MSGA. Parents and students love MSGA! It provides a top notch education with excellent teachers!

Marietta 6th Grade School 1

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
Marietta Sixth Grade Academy is a TOXIC place. Education and students take a back seat to power and politics. There is no accountability on the part of the teachers. Teachers cheat students on grades. Despite the evidence, the principal would not to do anything about it. The principal refused to even look into parent complaints about a specific teacher's unstable and unprofessional behavior in the classroom. The principal has a well-known reputation for lying to parents as well. Marietta Sixth Grade Academy is just a one-year school, enabling these unethical behaviors and practices to go unchecked from year to year. In addition, education plans for children with special needs get altered without the knowledge or permission of their parents. The parents get pushback when this is discovered and must convene a review meeting to attempt to reinstate the supports their disabled child needs, with no guarantees the teachers will agree to the "changes." Further training of all teachers at this school with regard to special-needs students may be needed. Parents are often made to feel unwelcome. Avoid this school at all costs until leadership changes are made.
1 person found this helpful


Marietta 6th Grade School 4

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
My daughter entered this school mid-year last year and had a wonderful year. She was apprehensive about starting a new school. especially mid-year but the faculty and administration went out of their way to let her know they were there and make her feel welcome. The teachers are always available and don't mind being flexible to meet a child's needs or learning style. There is a great, diverse student population that complements the IB world school mission. One of the most helpful things we found was that the school has a "parent liaison" full time staff member who was our 'go- to' person for just about everything. This school seems to have classes based on any needs a child might have whether they be at the upper or lower end of the spectrum. Overall a great school and a great transition for children from elementary to middle school.

Marietta 6th Grade School 4

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Overall I would say that my son had a very positive and productive year at Marietta Sixth Grade Academy. The teachers are very caring and involved, administrative staff was always very helpful, you can see that the principle Mr. Carmona really believes in his students and puts his heart into everything involved there. The curriculum is excellent and is just enough to push our little learners without overwhelming them. My one and only concern was the fact that there are so many students in this school that it makes it hard to maintain order and give individual attention when needed...

Marietta 6th Grade School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
scores are climbing and enrollment is up... people who may have be inclined to send their children to private school/ have sent their children to private school are sending their children to MSGA. this school serves a diverse community with an open mind, innovations that rival most schools (public or private) and staff who really care.


Marietta 6th Grade School 5

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
This school is a amazing school. My son is an international student, he made a great progress with Ms. Bolch and his all other teachers. He can speak and listen very well. He has a woderful every day! Principal is excellent!

Marietta 6th Grade School 1

Posted May 05, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Marietta 6th Grade School 5

Posted July 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Marietta 6th Grade School 5

Posted May 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Marietta 6th Grade School 5

Posted May 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marietta 6th Grade School
340 Aviation Rd SE, Marietta, GA  30060
(770) 429-3115
Last modified Marietta 6th Grade School is a Charter school that serves grade 6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marietta 6th Grade School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top