Advertisement
Advertisement

Mount Bethel Christian Academy

Private | K-8 | 512 students

Through Bible classes, Chapel, community service, and Biblical integration throu
 
 

 
 

Living in Marietta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

I do agree bullying does start in 4th grade. I remember always getting made fun of because I was a different race. It kind of dies a little down when you reach middle school. I moved to a public school last year and I feel this is a better environment anyway. Also I am also very unhappy with the lunches. Not that they are bad but the quantity! They only let you have 2 cheese sticks and no seconds! Sometimes I say to myself I payed $12,000 for this? Why just save your money and go to a public school. This school is not very religious either. So I dont understand.


Posted September 9, 2013

LOVE this school! I have spoken with many graduates going to both public and private high schools and they have all thought they were very prepared for high school from MBCA. Our family has been there for 6 years. Incredible faculty who really care about your student. Two teachers per grade until middle school, top class size is 22, so 11/1 ratio. Incredible academics, great athletics, spanish and latin. 5th graders and up have their own laptops. in art, the children learn about famous artists, in music, they learn about composers. I get a chill every time I leave thinking about the positive environment my kids are in. No girl drama yet and I have one in 5th....the children love each other and support each other. Amazing!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

We chose this school over our excellent local public school because we wanted smaller class sizes in a Christian setting. After now being at MBCA for 8 years (currently have a 7th and a 5th grader), we have been overwhemingly pleased. Our children are academically-challenged, growing Christians. There are certainly situations where things have not been ideal for some families (however I have never heard of or experience some of the extreme situations mentioned here). The school has not been traditionally equipped to teach children with learning disabilities - but we now do have a specialist on-board. The communication has not always been wonderful but has improved. We have always had excellent, caring teachers and we love having a parapro in every classroom. The new Headmaster (this is his 2nd year) has been terrific for the school. We plan to probably go to public high school and feel that MBCA has prepared and grounded our children so that they can meet the challenges of high school, college, and beyond. Overall, I highly recommend MBCA and would not change our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

Our family was at Mt. Bethel for two years. Lack of communication was frustrating. As a family we found ourselves "out of the loop" frequently. Parents are responsible for reading teachers blog each day. Our teachers never posted at the same time each day, which added to the confusion. Other times teachers never got to it.. There is also a school blog that is different from the teacher blog that you must keep up with too. Several occasions the school closed early for inclement weather, in those cases an email went out. If you were not at a computer or have an electronic devise to alert you on incoming emails...you were left out of loop and received disgruntled call from staff to pick your child after the fact. [Sigh.] The children, myself and my spouse were relieved to move to a school district that still sends home notes and does not assume the whole world has iphones attached to their heads.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My association with Mt. Bethel Christian Academy dates back to 1998, before our first student crossed the threshhold. From that day forward, my passion for the mission and philosophy that formed the foundation of the Academy has not waivered. God has truly blessed me by allowing me the opportunity to grow both professionally and spiritually through my position with MBCA. My position as Director of Admission and Marketing has given me the opportunity to promote the growth of this extraordinary school. It has been a joyous ride and I am truly inspired by the level of professionalism and integrity that is reflected everyday by staff, faculty, and families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2013

Our child attended only a year. Very disappointed. The schools emphasis is on THEIR RATING, NOT YOUR CHILD. If your child scores a D in the same subject two semesters in a row, or scores two D's in one semester, they are asked to leave. If your child is discovered to have any kind of dyslexia or ADD, no matter how slight, they are asked to leave. If your child does not leave, the faculty make your childs stay unhappy, singling them out, saying negative things to and about them in front of the class. They are held to a higher standard than the other children and, at least in our case, snap under the pressure. We have had feedback from several other families who either left or are leaving based on this same situation. We were also informed point blank that Mt. Bethel pretest (for admission process), is to screen out students with potential disabilities, and told, regarding our child, "We don't take his kind." By the time we left I was unsure whether to call Family & Child Services to report emotional abuse, or call the American with Disabilities organization. NO other school has this kind of policy... but at least it keeps Mt. Bethel high on the rating system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

Now that my children attend another school, I can look back and say that, for us, this school lacked a communicative sense of teamwork between parents, students, and school. It was a culture issue for us, but basically, unless something was wrong, I found communication between administration/teachers and parents to be skimpy and mostly one way. As a parent, I found it challenging to independently follow what my child was doing (just to have a starting point for conversation) as there were no teacher websites -- at least not when we were there -- and few parent volunteer/interactive activities, etc. As for the kids, we found it to be cliquey here. Sports is VERY competitive. Some of the teachers play favorites. The sense of teamwork and fun was just not there for my children. To add to this, I felt intimidated if I spoke up about any concerns. I did not get a sense that my input was respected or welcome. Academically, I would say that the smaller class sizes were nice. The facilities -- very clean.


Posted October 4, 2012

I have a 5th grader and an 8th grader who have both been at Mt. Bethel since Kindergarten and we couldn't be happier! I read some of the previous posts about bullying and would like to comment that, yes, there may have been a problem with it IN THE PAST under prior leadership, but I can assure you the problem has been taken care of with our new Head of School. Bullying is a thing of the past and will not be tolerated at Mt. Bethel. As far as the curriculum not being challenging enough - I have to disagree with this, too. With our school only going to 8th grade, there are obviously MANY high schools that our 8th graders apply to. Our students have no problem gettng accepted into any of the private or public schools to which they apply. In the majority of cases, they are placed in honors/AP classes. The class sizes at Mt. Bethel are small, so it is easier to get individual attention. The lower school classes actually have a lead teacher and a parapro in each classroom. I whole-heartedly recommend MBCA - I am going to be sad to see my 8th grader leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

My opinion, just one - this school has difficulty getting the best out of a variety of students -- really bright kids don't get pushed enough and help is limited for kids that struggle. It's a narrow fit. The culture is repressive. More disappointing is the response you get as a parent when issues arise or you want to give feedback. Instead of listening to ideas, they act as if they can do no wrong here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

I am a parent with children in both the lower and middle school divisions. Recent posts which question the curriculum and academic program do not reflect my experience at all. Quite the contrary, my oldest, an 8th grader, has been exceptionally well-prepared and, in fact, and has been accepted into Westminster and Holy Innocents for high school next year. The school underwent a (much needed) change in leadership this past year and the new Headmaster has made excellent progress in addressing concerns around bullying and returning the school to the founding principles that attracted us to it in the beginning. We couldn't be happier with Mt. Bethel and recommend it often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

We have had a great experience in the Lower School. However, I have also seen the bullying start in the 4th grade. We have had no direct contact with it, but it is easy to see, and seems to be ignored by the school. The Middle School has not been a good experience at all. A large number of students are competitive, mean-spirited, and unwelcoming. The curriculum is inconsistent. So much attention is given to technology, that curriculum and learning is secondary. Bullying is either ignored, accepted, or given lip-service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

I am in 8th grade at MBCA, and i can easily say that it is the best school I have ever attended. Amazing teachers. Killer Athletics. (Back-to-Back NAML Cup Champs!) Great kids. Caring principal. I could go on and on. My teachers could not be more supportive. I am extremely involved in extra-curricular activities at Mt. Bethel, and my teachers still help me stay on top of my grades. MBCA is the best private school in Cobb County, GO EAGLES! :)


Posted July 18, 2011

Best decision I've ever made for my children's education...and we came from a large private school in Buckhead. r
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

MBCA is an incredible school. Over the last 5 years, we have been so impressed with both our amazing teachers and the other parents and families that attend. It has been a huge blessing, and our kids have thrived in it's value oriented, character building environment. It's worth every penny and then some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

Bullying starts in 4th grade. Look out next year. As for him leaving for a better school - nice spin, but there were LOTS of complaints about that. Problem is that with the closed hierarchy there such things are NEVER discussed or revealed. Basically if you do not know the "founder" of the school you are an outsider. Genuinely hope the new head of school does a great job fixing things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

I have to respond to the most recent review of our school. I have not heard of any bullying at this point and my child is a rising 4th grader. I have been so pleased with the school, the staff and the enviornment. My child feels truly treasured by his teachers and is flourishing. He has met many wonderful friends. From my understanding, the old head of school quit to go to another school that has a highschool. I am looking forward to our new head of school and what he has to offer. I was truly upset when the old head of school left, I thought he was doing a great job, but I understand he was leaving for a "promotion" . It is a wonderful place to send your kids. My younger son starts kindergarten next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

My opinions, your mileage may vary. The school looks great, good neighborhood, beautiful buildings, and clean, well-dressed kids. The Art program is absolutely fantastic! There are some truly great teachers in the lower school, but there are also some who.....well, should have retired a while ago. The biggest problem is that the leadership acts as if they and their staff can NEVER do anything wrong. There is a problem with bullying in the 4th-5th and up grades. The School Board is a closed group whose meeting schedule isn't even posted anywhere. They just fired one head of school and did a hurried hire at the end of the year for a new one. Good luck to him and to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

We were surprised to find such an excellent alternative in private education that emphasizes both the academic excellence and Christian world-view. MBCA is doing a great job partnering with us to raise our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

I am very impressed with the way Mt. Bethel's administration supports the teachers and parents and keeps us as parents involved and in touch with our child's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

My son spent five years at Mount Bethel and we had to pull him during the first semester due to bullying that took place in the 5th grade. My husband and I met with his teachers, grade level principle and head master a total of six times between the months of August and November and no one would help my son. The school has no rules in place about bullying and the administration is totally useless about taking any action. My husband and I pulled our son last november after getting no were with the teachers and faculty. I felt my son was in danger and pulling him was the best choice for us. We needed help with a very scary situation and the teachers and faculty turned their backs and let us down.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 44%
Black 3% 40%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Geography Bee (2013)
  • Spelling Bee (2013)
  • Science (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Mission Work (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jim Callis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non-denominational
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (770) 971-3770

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Christ-centered
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • bus service from Smyrna
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Leadership
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • library, lunchroom, prayer parent
More from this school
  • Founded in 1998, Mt. Bethel Christian Academy is an independent, Christian preparatory school located in East Cobb County, Georgia. The school currently serves students in grades kindergarten through 8th grade with preliminary plans to expand to high school in the Fall of 2014.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
GOAL Scholarship

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private Schools
Magnet Schools
IB Programs
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4385 Lower Roswell Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 971-0245

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT