Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marietta Center For Advanced Academics

Charter | 3-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2010

The school would recieve an excellent score from me but school politics and the traditional WASP infrastructure still exist here. Think traditional southern school + laptops.


Posted March 17, 2010

I am still satisfied with the growth of this school, as my daughter is still excelling,The principals, teachers, and parents are great. I only hope the 6 grade will be challenging also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

Our daughter is now in 4th grade. 3rd grade at MCAA was wonderful, this year is even better. Lots of additional events where she participated. Spelling Bee, Talent Show, Math Fest, Year book club, Young Author s fair, Digital Science Fair, Science Olympiad just to mention a few. And every student gets to learn and grow. There is a variety of after-school clubs form chess to culinary. The principal is very involved, teachers are excellent, parents are involved. A public school with kids from diverse backgrounds but the common factor is the involvement of parents in the education of their children and teachers instill a love for learning. Our friends agree that --It is going to be extremely challenging to find a school that meets these high standards after 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The ability to excel at an advanced pace and knowing that the teachers and staff truly believe in 'Learning Without Limits.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

MCAA is an awesome school for students who will love to be challenged in all areas of academics especially science. It's also gives students opportunuty to know places with field trip and exploratory experiences. I have no regret sending my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

MCAA is an amazing school with talented and gifted teachers and students. I am so very proud to be the parent of an MCAA student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Wonderful school for my granddaughter....just wished every child in America could have this opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Great school, advanced curriculum, I wished I had this kinda opportunity when growing up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The teachers and staff at MCAA provide a warm, encouraging atmosphere for the children to learn and grow. It is a refreshing change to see the attention that the children receive and the push to be the best they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

this is a school for the advanced children and it is really great! there is a team effort and they have some really neat projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My son is a 3rd grader at The Marietta Center for Advanced Academics and we absolutely love it. The program is both challenging and rewarding for the students. The Administrators and Faculty are Excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The school uses innovative techniques to provide one-of-a-kind learning opportunities for students. The administration and staff are constantly looking out for the best interests of the students. Differentiated learning is addressed in every subject area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

They have awesome students!


Posted November 6, 2009

Everyday they are learning something new. Its a very good school. I am glad that my child study here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

This is my son's first year at MCAA and we the parents are very pleased with what our son is being challenged to do in this school and he is really enjoying it himself, he's a third grader there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The teachers really care about their students and their academic success. The programs and clubs offered at MCAA are phenomenal as well. Also, MCAA has the best communication with parents that I have ever seen at a public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This is truly the best Advanced Academics elementary schoool in marietta city, the school ratings are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My daughter is in her 2nd year at MCAA; and she has enjoyed every minute of her education. I am so impressed with the innovative approach to education that MCAA offers. In fact, today, the entire school is taking off to a 4H camp to learn about nature and meteorology, they have done projects with the GA Aquarium, and even NASA. They have a group that participates in the Robotics competition every year and they place every year. This is a great school for students 3rd through 5th grade, the kids really enjoy the learning process here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

We moved to another school half way through the school year and my daughter missed MCAA so much. MCAA Teachers made each day exciting and challenging. Her new school did not offer a Science Lab and she was so bored having to learn from a book. We feel so fortunate to have been a part of this awesome school for 2 1/2 years. The kids are friendly and very accepting of each others likes and differences. I think the magnet program is great and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

This school is great but as the children head into middle grades parents get scared. When my son entered the middle school this year, many of the parents were worried that the children get hurt. this school is a safe good enviorment, but it doesnt teach kids that life isnt always that good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 44%
Black 33% 37%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

311 Aviation Rd SE
Marietta, GA 30060
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 420-0822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Casa Dei Bambini
Marietta, GA


The Walker School
Marietta, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT