Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
The IB program is wonderful and my children have thrived in this school. SRE is currently the only IB PYP in the Marietta School District. They offer so much more than just academics - Art, Music/Drama, Spanish, hands on Science Lab and fun STEM Activities in the classrooms. SRE has been a great fit for my family and a wonderful diverse community. We lucked out that we’re districted for Sawyer!

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Leonard (K), Mrs. Rutledge (K), Ms. Kelley (K), Mrs. Floryance (1), Mrs. Porter (1), Mrs. Natalino, Ms. Janz (2), Mr. Sperling (3), Ms. Averil (4), Mr. Tahet (5), Mrs. Scott (Art), Mrs. Colton (Music), Ms. Baker (Drama/IB Coordinator) and Coach Bennett (PE) -- All uniquely talented and truly dedicated. Your hard work doesn't go unnoticed.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
The Sawyer Road Teachers are amazing. I've been a SRE Parent for 5 years and I've been so happy with my children's teachers. They're fun, caring, attentive and engaging. It's comforting to know that your babies are in good hands.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
I currently have a first grader at Sawyer Road. The homework is a good amount. My child receives the homework packet on Monday and everything is due on Friday. His work is challenging and really makes him think. As long as he does a little each night he successfully hands everything in on Friday. If we don't get to do homework one night (because of sports or cub scouts) then he has to make it up the following night which can be overwhelming for him sometimes. He does a lot of independent, creative writing, reading and math.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely! Sawyer Road does develop compassion, caring and empathy in its students. Sawyer Road Elementary is a great diverse school. Students are taught to be caring, open-minded and reflective (IB Learner Profiles). They're taught to show empathy, compassion and respect towards others. It's something I wish all schools would teach!

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
Yes! Sawyer Road Elementary develops honesty, integrity and fairness in its students. One of the IB Learner Profiles is being Principled. My student is taught to do the right thing even when no one is looking. Some ways of being principled is following the rules of the school, listening, being on time and prepared for class, being responsible, being honest, and acting with kindness. To take responsibility for their own actions and the consequences that accompany them.

Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Sawyer Road Elementary is a fantastic multi cultural school. The teachers and staff are amazing and they truly care about the wellbeing of my child. I love everything from spanish class, the science lab, the nature trail behind the school, the garden, art class, music and drama, the huge media center, computer labs, ipads, the IB philosophy and curriculum and the IB Learner profiles. My kids are thriving and excelling in school. Sawyer is truly a special place and I'm thankful everyday that my kids get to go to school here.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
I would like to give a big THANKS to Mrs. Rutledge! She is one of seven amazing Kindergarten Teachers at Sawyer Road! My son loved being in her class. She made him laugh and truly made learning fun for him. He always came home with a gib smile on his face. She has a great way of making everyone feel special! I am forever grateful that his first school experience was at Sawyer Road Elementary and that he had Mrs. Rutledge.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Sawyer Road Elementary develops compassion, caring and empathy in our students because of the attributes of the 10 IB Learner Profiles. Teachers and Staff at SRE teach my kids to be caring and open-minded. These are two of the ten Learner Profiles that students strive to be everyday.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Foundational to the IB PYP learning experience at Sawyer Road Elementary are the 10 Learner Profiles that students strive to be everyday. The 10 Learner Profiles are: Inquirers, Thinkers, Communicators, Risk-Takers, Knowledgeable, Principled, Caring, Open-Minded, Balanced, and Reflective. These are qualities determined to be most important in creating positive and productive citizens of the world. Being Principled means —I am fair and honest. I can make good decisions about what is right and wrong for me. Being Caring means—I am concerned about other people’s needs and feelings. I believe it is important to help others. Being Open Minded means —I am comfortable with differences. I welcome and respect other people’s points of views and ways of doing things.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sawyer Road Elementary School
840 Sawyer Rd, Marietta, GA  30062
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (770) 429-9923
Last modified Sawyer Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top