Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Sawyer Road Elementary is a fantastic multi cultural school. The teachers and staff are amazing and they truly care about the wellbeing of my child. I love everything from spanish class, the science lab, the nature trail behind the school, the garden, art class, music and drama, the huge media center, computer labs, ipads, the IB philosophy and curriculum and the IB Learner profiles. My kids are thriving and excelling in school. Sawyer is truly a special place and I'm thankful everyday that my kids get to go to school here.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
I would like to give a big THANKS to Mrs. Rutledge! She is one of seven amazing Kindergarten Teachers at Sawyer Road! My son loved being in her class. She made him laugh and truly made learning fun for him. He always came home with a gib smile on his face. She has a great way of making everyone feel special! I am forever grateful that his first school experience was at Sawyer Road Elementary and that he had Mrs. Rutledge.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Sawyer Road Elementary develops compassion, caring and empathy in our students because of the attributes of the 10 IB Learner Profiles. Teachers and Staff at SRE teach my kids to be caring and open-minded. These are two of the ten Learner Profiles that students strive to be everyday.

Sawyer Road Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Foundational to the IB PYP learning experience at Sawyer Road Elementary are the 10 Learner Profiles that students strive to be everyday. The 10 Learner Profiles are: Inquirers, Thinkers, Communicators, Risk-Takers, Knowledgeable, Principled, Caring, Open-Minded, Balanced, and Reflective. These are qualities determined to be most important in creating positive and productive citizens of the world. Being Principled means —I am fair and honest. I can make good decisions about what is right and wrong for me. Being Caring means—I am concerned about other people’s needs and feelings. I believe it is important to help others. Being Open Minded means —I am comfortable with differences. I welcome and respect other people’s points of views and ways of doing things.

Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely LOVE Sawyer Road. My daughter excelled and learned so much while attending this school (K and 1st). For second grade she will attend a Cobb county school and I am so heart broken about this. Ignore the 6 rating, this school is definitely a 10. This school has exceeded all of my expectations and it will be very difficult for another school to top Sawyer Road Elementary. Do not hesitate to send your child here, it is well worth it.

Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
This school is amazing my son it's in first grade and he love it! The teachers are wonderful the staff are amazing I'm so happy for my son because he felt this school like his home!!

Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Sawyer Road is an amazing school. I have a 5th grader that been there since K and she had done exceptional! She has had many opportunities and will be heading to the Magnet program at the Sixth Grade Academy next fall. Also currently have a 3rd, 2nd, and Kindergartener at SRE as well. Each of my kids have different interests and strong points and weaknessesand the curriculum here is flexible and can suit every child. The IB Program is a wonderful style of learning and should be embraced by more schools. I live that my kids are pushed to exceed the bare minimum standards set by the state and i feel confident that they are being helped to reach their full individual potential. I recommend this school to everyone!

Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! It really isn't a school as much as a family! My second son just started Kindergarten this year and he is excited to get up and go to school everyday! The teachers and staff are amazing and dedicated to all the children who attend. The International Baccalaureate curriculum is second to none and the Marietta City Schools district offers children the chance for the IB diploma when graduating high school. This is highly sought after by colleges! Wouldn't think of sending my children anywhere else! Go take a tour and you will see what it is all about!

Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is absolutely amazing! My daughter attends and will be starting 2nd grade. She has been excited to go to school since she started attending in Kindergarten. The teachers are dedicated and wonderful. The school is an International Baccalaureate World School (IB World School) and also identifies and serves gifted students through the MILE program by having in classroom gifted certified teachers. I have been very happy and impressed with the curriculum as well as the diversity of the school and the learning experiences offered here!

Sawyer Road Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Sawyer Road Elementary is a great school.The teachers are wonderful and the best principle ever. I have a lot to say so I will just sum it up and say they have the best people working at Sawyer Road Elementary schools and people who cares.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sawyer Road Elementary School
840 Sawyer Rd, Marietta, GA  30062
(770) 429-9923
Last modified Sawyer Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sawyer Road Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top