Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smitha Middle School 1

Posted February 08, 2016
- a community member
I am a smitha student and this is the second time that i will be attending the 6th grade. The school said it was my behavior and last year i got expelled and went to ombudsman and that is an alternitive school. I tried to get my grades up while i was at ombudsman but i just couldnt . They said my behavior was horrible and i couldnt stop getting suspended and it can be over any little thing.So now im back in the 6th grade and my mom told me this is a brand new start and a clean slate. I came back to smitha and nothing has changed it seems like things have got even worse i tried so hard to keep my grades up i even won the most improved 6th grader. And i had a teacher that was always with me and by my side and the other teachers never helped me like he did at first i did not even know how to open my locker the he helped me with that . I think when the other teachers started to see that then they will just find every and anything to get me in trouble or watched .But i am not saying i havent done things that shouldnt have a consequence but most of that stuff was mainly the schools poor desicions. The administrators were not on there job there are only two of them i felt wasnt just trying to hurry up and kick me out and they were actually trying to find out what is going on. The two principles dont need to be working so high up in the office because they dont know what they are doing . And they all came up with this contract thing for me and i never agreed to this stuff, the contract was not what any kid/child would want to go through it involves being ESCORTED EVERYWHERE that includes restroom,water fountain,classes, offices, even if its right across the hall the contract also has a daily behavior chart ,1 month of getting escorted untill u get off , and when your walking down a hallway teachers and falculty look at you like ur an animal and i personally felt like the were getting me ready for prison i just hated it i would never suggest bringing your child to this school unless they get new falculty i have even had a teacher cuss me out and tell me and my friend we are going to end up dead or in prison and that we have a bullet with are name on it and i feel like that should never be said even if u think its true they tell us if you dont have nothing good to say dont say it i have gotting suspended over 24 times in the past 2 years of sixth grade My rating -1

Smitha Middle School 4

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
In my opinion this school is wonderful and they care about their students academics. I am always happy to see how well my child is making progress when I received the report after each semester.

Smitha Middle School 1

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
My little sister attends this school. I've also attended this school a few years ago. I can honestly say the school has changed, but no quite in a positive way. My little sister stays up to almost four in the morning to finish homework that a teacher assigned. 60 pages of homework is honestly insane! They don't assign 60 pages of homework in college. His words are, " I am preparing them for college. " no one in their right mind would assign a child 60 pages of homework. She has other classes to do homework, and plays basketball as well. Sleep is important for a child. The teacher should be teaching college or something. 8th graders are not fit to do 60 pages of homework every night . And mind you she was told she has to write all the questions out, color coat it, and transfer it onto graph paper.

Smitha Middle School 4

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
Smitha is a good middle school. As a parent I have to continue to do my part knowing this school has 1000 students. Ms. Burris is a great liason and communicates with me on all matters. The advance classes prepare students for High school Geometry. On my days off I will make those "surprise visits" to keep things in order. 6-8 grade is the "Puberty" period where students can tend to be mean. Smitha has a ZERO Tollerance policy regarding bullying and other matters. My child will walk or catch the bus. A lot of the Hollydale elementary kids transferred there so if you are in the 30008 or 30064 zip codes, this is a good school for your children.

Smitha Middle School 5

Posted December 01, 2013
- a community member
I think smitha is a great school. i am a student that goes there and i have all A's. Those parents out there talking about Smitha are just WRONG! It is not the teachers that you should even have worries about, it is your own child having trouble.... GET THEM SOME HELP PEOPLE!!!

Smitha Middle School 3

Posted May 07, 2013
- a community member
Excuse my bad typing, but Smitha is somewhat a great school. The principal is very nice and always walks around to check up on the kids and peeps into the classrooms at times. As an 8th grader, the principal and administration has made sure that I've had the best last year in middle school. :) The students at Smitha are great, even though some students distract the kids who would like to learn. This is coming from a student with honor roll. Other than that, we like to collaborate and just have fun to be honest.

Smitha Middle School 4

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
My child and the students in our neighborhood are doing well at this school. A sizable population of students from this school go into high school magnet programs.

Smitha Middle School 1

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a Smitha student and we never had problems with her grades. To us Smitha has done nothing! She's been failing her math and language arts classes since the beggining. We have tried several times to contact the teachers and the principal and to this date no one has gotten back to us. All the kids that I know from that school have something bad to say about this school. I have not seen teachers concern about their students performance and there are no tutoring for student who need help. I will do everything I can to have my daughters not to attend this school. If your kids need help with doing their best, this is not the school for you. No one seems to care or pay attention and they treat the students like high schoolers and forget that parent involvement in the student academic life is very important!!! Teachers are suppose to keep the pinnacle updated for parents and should rely on pinnacle but that even doesn't help! I'm just not happy with this school!!

Smitha Middle School 4

Posted November 22, 2009
- a student
Smitha Middle School has lots of things to do. We have connection and the teachers are very nice.When we are in gym we do sorts stuff like badmintin and more.

Smitha Middle School 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Smitha is a great school. The teachers are conscientious and extremely helpful. Also there are many enrichment extracurricular activities for students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smitha Middle School
2025 Powder Springs Rd Sw, Marietta, GA  30064
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (678) 594-8267
Last modified Smitha Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top