Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hightower Trail Middle School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Don't get me wrong: You won't find fault with their academics. They are far above average in that area, though they really do pile on the busywork, too. I'm sure it's a fine experience if you're monied, or don't happen to look just a little different. However, we aren't monied, and my son didn't blend in. Because of this, he was bullied for his entire stay. He was ostracized, called names, teased, and sometimes mocked in a sexual manner for years. Because he wasn't ever physically hit, most teachers and administrators didn't take it seriously. Sometimes, they even blamed him. There were a rare few that took it seriously, and looked out for him. My biggest regret is that I didn't move out of this school district sooner. I'm pleased to report that he is happy, healthy, and thriving at his new school. His confidence has returned and he's made many new friends. Also, he's now excelling academically. I guess that's easier to do when you're not made to spend all your energy getting through, huh? We also never one single time got a letter about any school program's scholarship options. When I asked, folks in the office (who I agree, are mostly not very nice) looked at me like they didn't understand the words I was saying. They do hit you up for money constantly and we began to feel really singled out because we couldn't keep up. Hightower Trail is a PUBLIC school. Everyone should feel welcome and children that are poor, or different, shouldn't be excluded. Shame on you.

Hightower Trail Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
A few were real gems and were fabulous. A few were horrible. Most barely noticed him...or helped him.

Hightower Trail Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
My son frequently spent hours every night on homework. Going to another school where he still has time to have a life and cultivate other interests has been a breath of fresh air. He doesn't hate school anymore!

Hightower Trail Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
At best: The school doesn't teach children to treat everyone with fairness and respect. At worst: It tacitly consents to bullying.

Hightower Trail Middle School 3

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
My son just started here for 6th grade. We just moved here from upstate NY. I will say that my son seems to enjoy attending the school, but I haven't been all that impressed with what I've seen. The staff has often been rude and unhelpful, and the school is constantly hitting everyone up for money. The school building itself could also use some work. Also, my son has special needs/an IEP (high functioning autism) but for our first IEP meeting, they didn't provide me timely notice of the meeting nor copies of the reports in a timely manner. I only received the assessment reports DURING the meeting and found out about the meeting two days before. THEY ARE REQUIRED TO GIVE YOU ADVANCED NOTICE - my understanding is at least around a week's notice of the meeting. Ultimately the meeitng went OK but I felt like they were trying to force me to agree to things in the reports, but they never even gave me the reports to review ahead of time - and there were many reports (for speech therapy, psychological assessments, and occupational therapy). Overall I am not very impressed, but the teachers seem nice and caring and my son does seem to really enjoy attending school.

Hightower Trail Middle School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
Great school!!! Safe, clean and the teachers really care. I can't say enough good things about this school and its staff. My child loved going to school here. Not only did she excel in this environment, it also prepared her to excel in her high school magnet program. Hightower Trail is as good, if not better, than any private school in the area!

Hightower Trail Middle School 1

Posted May 01, 2012
- a parent
Staff is snotty and talks down to parents. Even the paraprofessionals think they know more than my husband and I, and we both have Masters degrees.

Hightower Trail Middle School 4

Posted August 03, 2009
- a student
I attended HTMS, and I have mixed feelings about my experience there. I will say that academic achievement was stressed, and there was a good general learning atmosphere. I was very well prepared for high school. The teachers taught well and were very helpful. However, there was very little diversity there (many cliques of Abercrombie-wearing rich kids), and I ended up going to a much more diverse magnet high school for a change of atmosphere.

Hightower Trail Middle School 5

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
One of the best schools in the Atlanta area...their commitment to academic excellence shows in everything they do. The teachers are all very enthusiastic about creating a sound learning environment and the staff has always been friendly and very helpful. I am very proud my daughter had an opportunity to attend Hightower last year and see the difference in your academic performance this year.

Hightower Trail Middle School 5

Posted August 09, 2006
- a teacher
Fabulous school with incredible community support, great PTSA, energetic teachers and staff, and high expectations for learning! I cannot say enough positive things about Hightower Trail Middle. It is truly a dream school where you know that your child will learn and be nurtured no matter whose class they end up in. Test scores are always among the highest in the state and it is 'cool' to be a high achiever here.

Nearby schools

Hightower Trail Middle School
3905 Post Oak Tritt Rd, Marietta, GA  30062
(770) 578-7225
Last modified Hightower Trail Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8
Top