Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mabry Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2013

I attended Mabry for 2 years. I loved all of my teachers I had both years, and I rarely fell behind in the lessons! A previous review mentioned the blogs were not kept up to date, but that was not the case for me. The AC (advanced content) programs offered challenging assignments that kept me thinking. I am now a freshman in high school and I'm in 2 honors classes and even a pre-AP class! I also loved the chorus program, and my friends in band and orchestra were satisfied with their experiences. This is a great school in the East Cobb area!


Posted January 31, 2012

If your child is above average any public school is ok. Teachers in the special Needs area need help! Going to my granddaughters meeting the one lady (will not give name) said she would be lucky to read 4th grade level in the 12th grade! No positivity there right? Looking for private school. If your looking for a great middle school this one is not it!


Posted December 9, 2011

NOT happy. Guidance counselor is only concerned with the letters after her name, and not about the student, or family. Vice principal is just plain rude. Many of the teachers actually make inappropriate comments like references about "retards" WOW!!! in a school ??? It's disgusting. Ask about extra help for your student, and the GUIDANCE counselor tells you here's a list of private tutors: Please step into the real world.....economy....... and then miraculously after pushing the other staff for help............we received help WITHIN the school. Principal is caring when you can get her....she is the only asset to the school. Blogs are not kept up to date and teachers are unwilling to help a student. they demand respect yet give no respect. a FEW of the teachers are exceptional and pray that you get them or be prepared for a part time job managing your childs education and fighting for there needs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2010

Excellent Orchestra Program! My children never picked up an instrument before and both went to Mabry and learned to play the Cello and Violin beautifully! We are so honored to have such an excellent Orchestra Program at the Middle School Level! thanks for making Middle School so fun - because of the positive rewards of making beautiful music and course friends that follow into Lassiter. So WONDERFUL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

This is my child's second year at Mabry, and we have been very impressed. Administration is responsive and reasonable, and the teachers are some of the best around. Not all teacher update blogs or iparent with the same frequency, and that would be my biggest complaint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

This school is less than par. They claim to keep parents informed. Nothing is further from the truth. The supposedly use 'blogs' to keep us updated. They are never up to date and are often months behind. If your child falls behind in class, and you ask for help, you are not going to get it. This is supposedly the #1 school in GA. I hate to see what #2 is. Also, we supposedly have I-Parent, which is a system that allows you to track your child's tardies, attendance, and grades. Just like the blogs, it is rarely up to date. Before you know it, your child is failing and no one will help you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I have three daughters who attended Mabry and they all hated it. If you want your kids to to go to a super shiny white upper middle class school and can afford to buy them all the stuff that society expects of them, then Mabry is for you. If your child is different (super gifted or not christian) then please look for a different school. My kids have written college applications with stories about the hatred directed towards them because they aren't christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

This is my first year in being in a school not in my area. This is the first time I got an oppurtunity to be somewhere that I'm not used to seeing. I have been at this school for the whole grading period. While I have been here, at Mabry, I feel it was a great school! The education is great! The teachers always are making sure their students know what to do! The lunch is awesome! You would love to go to Mabry if u could. It is a great school to be at! The are always having something up their sleeve to do! Like games,or partys,or rewards! Mabry is always involved with the student! I am in the choice school program, or the no child left behind, organization! I love Mabry and I wil continue to go there for the rest of my Middle school years!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

mabry is a school that is always involved with its sudents. technology innavations and technology in the classroom is one of the best in the country. Not to mention one of the best band program in the southeast!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2007

Not only a progressive school, but continues to be involved in leading edge technologies, full parent communications and community participation. The school prides itself on helping students excel to their capabilities and provides tools/support for them to reach out and take the challenge. The school inspires students to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

A very progressive school. The Principal is a visionary who sets the pace for excellence and innovation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

Don't bother with the band. The teachers are generally caring and very qualified. Average to good students are not valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

We are using public schools for the first time after homeschooling and Christian schools. We have been tickled pink with Mabry. Upon moving here we researched school on this website and thought that a few schools were comprable to Mabry based on the test scores. The test score don't reveal all that the principle has done to make this school a cut above technologically even to the high schools. Dr. Tyson personally developed a website in addition to the websites that are furnished for all schools in Cobb County. Mabry also just won a $250,000 technology grant from Intel Corporation after competing with over 3,000 schools across the country! Dr. Tyson has addressed the need for more parent-teacher communication by instituting teacher blogs. He'll even show you how to utilize this in a seminar. Go Mabry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

Mabry Middle School, like all schools, has its pros and cons. It is a somewhat closed environment but things seem to be improving. As a parent, it is your job to find out what is going on in your child's school and to get involved. There are many, many opportunitites to get involved and parents should stop whining and get active. Many teachers and the PTA pratically beg parents to help out but they only want to volunteer when the activity is 'fun' or directly involves their child. It's a shame that more people cannot work for the good of a community and teach their children to be giving by being a good example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

This school is great for children with stay-at-home Moms. If you're a family with two working parents stay away from this school. Everything is scheduled to conflict with a 2 parent working household. Students who are not driven to and from school are openly discriminated against in that they are not allowed to 'check out' certain equipment as its not allowed to be transported on the bus. A parent must aggressively seek information from this school and its events as communication FROM the school is nearly non-existent or often arrives in the mailbox AFTER the event has occurred. Getting an appointment with the administration is more difficult than scheduling an international conference. Very disappointing experience at Mabry; especially considering I did the research and intentionally chose my house in this school district. I expected excellence and instead receive elitism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

Mabry is a great school for anyone. The activities are great, especially i-movie projects. Each teacher is great. Yes, the work is challenging, but that will only make your kid better when they face the challenges of the real world. Mabry is trying to make good leaders for tomorrow. It has small classes for its area, and that is what can make it a very rewarding public school. If you are looking for music this is also a great place with great programs. It is undergoing some expansions that only shed a new light on the school. Its classrooms are going to become larger, so as to make the learning environment easier. It is an overall overachiever in the public school system and a great place to send your kid to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2005

Excellent school. The opportunities are there - they are what you make of them. There are before school intramurals for the kids to participate in team sports. There is a very strong music program and the teachers, for the most part, are excellent. Parent involvement is a bit more difficult than in Elementary School, but you can get involved by helping out on activities and volunteering at the school. Mabry is an excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

mabry is a very hard enviroment for middle schoolers. They do not pay attetion to the students and their personal needs. Because of my daughters horrible experince, my son will now attend private for middle school. They have strict polocies and are very picky about students being individuals, besides that the programs and academic oppertunity there is hard and not good at all. Unless you test like a genius you will never have a chance to be in advanced classes, my advice is do not send your child to mabry.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 44%
Black 7% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 Jims Rd NE
Marietta, GA 30066
Phone: (770) 928-5546

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT