Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walton Comprehensive High School

Charter | 9-12 | 2668 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2004

Some of Walton's programs are really good, but others are not. For example, the Fine Arts program, the Gifted Programs, and the Foreign Language Department is excellent. The Special Ed. programs need a lot of work, and the Guidence Programs also need much improvement. There are many extracurricular activities at Walton. The inside of Walton is disqusting, and needs so much work. Overall Walton is a good school, but could use some improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

Walton High School provided me with an excellent education and preparation for my college experience. The teachers were superb, the counselors were involved and informed, and the classmates were high achievers. I thoroughly enjoyed my four years at Walton, and wouldn't have traded them for anything. I'm now a pre-med major at a small private school in Florida, and I look back at my times at Walton fondly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 9, 2003

I have a sophomore daughter who attended a small Christian school (K-8) with 10 students in her 8th grade. She is now in a class with over 600 students and is in all honors or AP classes. Walton exceeds all our expectations for a school! There is a high level of concern for students shown by all faculty and staff and they provide an outstanding quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Walton is an amazing school with an amazing marching band. Although the school is in quite poor condition, the students and teachers have overcome this and have extremely high standards. I was also involved in 5 different clubs, one of which I was the vice-president of my junior year. The club, UNICEF, raises thousands of dollars in donations each year. Also, I was in the national ranked marching band for my entire high school career and it was a life changing experience for me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 18, 2003

Both of my children have had a great experience at Walton. My son was in the band and my daughter was in the athletic program. The teachers are great and really care about the students. Most kids excel because of the teacher and parent support. This is really a public private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

I was a student at Walton. This is a horrible school. Save your children and do not send them to this school. I wish I could get back the years I wasted there. The average student falls through the cracks. This school is so bent on being perceived as great it fails to recognize the work needed for greatness.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

The former Principal was one of the best in the country. His legacy has been sabotaged by the present administration. I had a child with difficulties that graduated in 1999 and Walton and its Principal made sure he succeeded. I now have an above average child that is falling through the cracks because the administration refuses to listen to me. A great school has fallen on hard times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

The teachers work well with students. The school could use a lot of work but over all a great school to be at. It is also home of a great marching band.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 21, 2003

Our son has had a learning disability since 4th grade, he is now a junior. We did live in the Woodstock middle/high school district of Cherokee County and he was doing very poorly. We moved to East Cobb because of the schools....and boy! What a difference. Dodgen was great and Walton helps him every step of the way. The faculty that teaches him daily lets us know where he needs help and improvment. We all work together to help him daily. We love being able to access his grades daily through the internet. We always know if he is keeping his grades up or slipping. It's like a daily report card. Though they have a great special education department it takes the parents participation when there is a learning disability involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2003

I have a student in his Junior Year. He was tested and confimred to have ADD, but has been in GA's gifted program since 2nd grade. I advised the school, but gotten nowhere as far as the 501plan is concerned. They do very well with students who have no problems. Their gifted program and their foreign language department, as well as their Art programs are very poor. Athletics are great. If you have a child that is gifted and has ADD, I would not recommend this school. I did not know this about Walton until I moved into the neighborhood to ensure a good school. Little did I know that all good schools have a down side. This school has failed to help my son.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

622 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

618 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

621 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

620 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

653 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

675 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

664 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

618 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

612 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
62%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

701 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 44%
Asian 15% 3%
Black 6% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1590 Bill Murdock Rd
Marietta, GA 30062
Phone: (770) 578-3225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pope High School
Marietta, GA


Wheeler High School
Marietta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT