Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walton High School

Charter | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2009

This is a great school. This is my first year here, and I'm a sophmore. I love it. Pros: Great teachers, WEB days, not extremely cliquish, very rigorous Cons: Too many bratty kids, too many kids: over 2,000??
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

My son just started Walton as a freshman after attending private school in Buckhead for the past three years. From what I've seen so far, I am INCREDIBLY impressed with the academic environment in Walton. His classmates/new friends are all high-achieving and many would like to go to Ivy League type universities. While each child is different, I can vouch that any parent with highly ambitious children will feel right at home in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

Walton is wonderful. I am proud to be a Walton Raider! I've grown up in East Cobb all my life, and never have I felt such school spirit, or the determination to succeed until I entered Walton. I love it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 22, 2008

I am a senior at Walton, and have attended there since my freshman year. I'm not going to say it's easy because it isn't. Walton's tough, but excellent nonetheless. Your child will be extremely prepared for college upon graduation. However, one con would be the impact the reputation has on some students. Being that it's a very tough school, and that the top 15% of the class all have 4.0's, it is very easy to let yourself believe that you aren't as good of a student as others because of your GPA or SAT score. The main advise I give to that is not to worry, and to do your personal best. Many colleges in the southeast know Walton's reputation and understand that a student can have a 3.5 and have worked just as hard as other students from other schools with 4.0's.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

Pros: not extremely cliquish, rigorous curriculum, many students are driven and dedicated, heavy emphasis on college prep Cons: large and impersonal, too much competition, large portion of spoiled, bratty ric teenagers
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2008

Most reviewer seem to have a problem with the state curriculum and not the school itself. I have been to many schools in the US and this was by far the hardest, best, friendliest, and all together great school have ever been to. This is not a school for parents who want their kids to be 'coddled' by the teachers. This is a hard school that prepares students for any type of college. If students have a hard time here they are not ready for the challenges of a top ranking college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

My son graduated from Walton a few years ago and will graduate from a top university this year. He will be applying to law school later this year. As his mother, I was/am a bit surprised at how my son was able to succeed in such a rigorous environment where half the students attended private school - I remember being worried sick his first year in college over how well he might adjust. Indeed, like some other parents here, I had some concerns about the competitive nature of Walton a few years ago when I noticed my school falling asleep while doing his homework. In hindsight, while I do agree the workload at times at Walton is a bit excessive, I am grateful that Walton prepared my son for the real world, where the ability to work well under pressure is a must.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

A very good school for students who respond well to pressure to perform academically. A map outside the guidance office pinpoints where Walton grads end up...Harvard, Yale, Brown, Stanford are not uncommon. Kids less academically inclined can easily fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

Walton is a college prep school, and it's probably not the best choice if your child needs a gentle, nurturing school that's geared to individual attention. Walton is an established institution that cranks out students who can succeed in large, prestigious colleges. Walton is a highly competitive school, with students who are backed by high-achieving parents. Be warned, your child will need to have above a 4.0 GPA to be in the top 10 percent at Walton, and a 3.5 graduating GPA is about average. My oldest son, a top 10% Walton grad, took 12 AP classes and was well-prepared for Ga Tech. He says that some of the Ga Tech classes are easier than Walton's AP classes! Our math/science oriented son enjoyed the teachers in the honors/AP classes. Walton offers Multivariable Calculus after AP Calc BC, and over thirty AP classes, which is rare for public high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

I went there and absolutely loved it. the teachers challenged us and that was incredible. the extracurricular activities are just as outstanding as the academincs. I would highly recommend sending your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2007

I went there and wouldn't recommends it at all. Teachers were way too hard and made things way too complicated. I graduated with a 2.5 went to college after graduation and started out with a 3.5 and 3 years later still have a 3.5 gpa so if is easier for me to do better in college than I did in this high school it tells you something.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2007

If your child needs a little extra help, you can forget it. We have four kids, been in some of the best public school system in the country. Walton has the potential to be great for every student. But, they are only great for those who 'get it' very easily. Our child had been a mostly 'a' with a few 'b's' student through middle school at Dickerson. Had some trouble adjusting to the pace and needed some extra attention at Walton her freshman year and did not get it. Moved her to a private school her Sophomore year and she is doing great. Also, homework is out of control! Spoke to the Principal about it. He was very nice but nothing has changed. Teachers need to do their job in class and stop sending the kids home to be taught by tutors and parents for 3-4 hrs/night.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

this is one of the best school i could of put my childrn in. they love going and i ovve how much they are learning. Walton is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

The following statement made by a former parent is right on target. 'The former Principal was one of the best in the country. His legacy has been sabotaged by the present administration. I had a child with difficulties that graduated in 1999 and Walton and its Principal made sure he succeeded. I now have an above average child that is falling through the cracks because the administration refuses to listen to me. A great school has fallen on hard times.' As a former parent, I have had a similar experience. I had one child graduate in 1994 and one in 2005. Both of them did exceptionally well but the second one would not have been successful without the help of the Associate Principal. This lady is the reason that Walton High School has achieved recognition but she gets absolutely none. What a travesty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

A child with ADD will slip through the cracks at Walton. They may be a great school if you have no problems with your child but if they have special needs I think you should think twice about sending them to Walton. We had a child tested professionally and we still had trouble with Walton even though I tried to stay on top of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

A terrific school with loads of school spirit! Academically, can be as challenging as you could ever need. The math department is the weakness of the school. Extra-curricular activities are many!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Walton is a great school, coming from many other schools around the country none compare to this fine establishment. Future leaders are being produced at this school. Peer pressue is to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

This is a top notch school and many families are trying to move into East Cobb just to get their kids into it. Many future doctors and lawyers, etc. are being taught here. The only complaint I have is with the drop off situation in the mornings. When the school was renovated it would have been great if the loop was designed in such a way as to not have to exit at a three way stop sign that jams up every morning. Perhaps a traffic cop or crossing guard would help. All in all a A-1 school and we couldnt be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

Best public high school in Georgia, evidently. Excellent academics including AP and honors courses (why we moved here), lots of opportunities, including music and extra-curricular, lots of parental support for orchestra, band, athletics, clubs, etc. behind the scenes. Parents also welcomed to volunteer in media center, distributing textbooks, helping at events and performances. Can't figure out why this school only requires one semester of P.E. in four years tho; that seems just wrong. Tho the student population is vast, things seem well-run overall. The new facility improvements are great. Too much obscenity and acting out in the hallways on the part of some students tho. But most of the teachers so far seem very professional, focused, and devoted. I would like to see more classic literature assigned, less trendy, ephemeral modern stuff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2006

I think the school is great! They offer something for everyone. The band, football, soccor, baseball and lacrosse are wonderful. Academically they can't be beat. Although I do think the math dept. could use a little help. They expect the kids teach theirselves math. If your child loves math-they could lose interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

622 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

618 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

621 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

620 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

653 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

675 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

664 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

618 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

612 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
62%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

701 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 3%
Black 7% 37%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/A51%
Female 49%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1590 Bill Murdock Rd
Marietta, GA 30062
Phone: (770) 578-3225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pope High School
Marietta, GA


Wheeler High School
Marietta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT