Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walton High School

Charter | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2006

This is a great school. I am a student there in 11th and have been there since 9th grade. They really care about you as an individual and make sure that they help you pave the way to a succesful life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2006

As a former student, all i can say is they don't prepare kids for real life. They force the students to follow rules, not learn to make good decisions for themselves. Kids may have problems in college when they are on their own, and out of the authorities grasp. They do little to motivate, only punish for poor acedemic performance.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 5, 2006

Walton High School is a great school. The academic environment here is great, and so are the extracurricular activities. However, certain departments, like the math and the science departments, need to train some of the teachers well to be better able to teach students so as to make them better understand the materials. I like the rules and regulations here, too. Though a bit strict, they provide great safety and discipline to our students. This does have a significant effect on fostering learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2006

I am thrilled with the education my daughter is getting at Walton. The courses are tough, but she is taking all honors or AP classes. This is a challenge, but she gets help when she needs it and she uses the special WEB days to get one-on-one help. Grades and comments are available on-line to parents all the time and the counselors are good. The Science and Social Studies and Foreign Language departments are great. Math is a little dry, but my daughter is now in Multivariable Calculus which is a course beyond AP levels. My son is taking pre-engineering and loves it. My other son is involved in football and works hard to keep his grades up. I would recommend looking into coming to this district if you are moving into Cobb County. There is plenty of room for parents to become involved in the school, you need to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Wonderful! Parents and teachers are great. I love the extracurricular programs. My child loves going to this school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2006

The student body at this school is composed of teenagers who are highly motivated to learn and achieve high standards in academics. The administration still treats the students as though they are immature and in need of babysitting. As a former student I found that the administration did very little to assist the students in the learning process and even often times hindered student's creativity and learning. This high school provides a challenging curriculum which is almost unmatched by the large majority of schools in the nation. It is a privilege to attend such a great school and to have these types of opportunities available.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 31, 2006

This is a great school in desirable East Cobb County named one of the best schools in the entire country. Walton consistently scores in the top 5% of Metro Atlanta and surrounding counties in SAT scores. This school also has state level ranked music programs and championship sports teams. Parents are very involved with their students here and teachers are top notch as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 9, 2006

Ok. First of all I'd like to say Walton is an excellent school. The teachers are great and the academic atmosphere is very competetive. However, there are also a few things Walton needs to improve one such as creativity and listening to the students' questions. The English department at Walton is well educated but very dull and uninteresting. They do not see that all students area equal; instead, once they dislike a student, they continue to do so no matter how hard the student tries.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2005

A good school overall. Excellent college preperation. My daughter liked it mostly but felt like she was just another number because she was and average student she did not get the attention she felt she needed to be a good student. The schools is not overly excited about parental involvement. Liked parents to just help out behind the scenes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

Walton serves only their high academic achievers in order to keep their standing in GA high. The 20% of the students who are not high achievers slip through the cracks. The math teachers are driven strictly by curriculum requirements, not what the students need. The English teachers are totally lacking in creativity and help very little in developing students' appreciation of their language and literature. If there is a problem, the administrative response boils down to 'We're perfect and will not change, it's up to your child to change to fit our molds.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

'I graduated Walton in May of 2005. I moved to the Walton district my Sophomore year and loved going there. Because it was so big, it was hard to make friends at first. But eventually I found my niche and loved it. All of the students and teachers really care about the school and show lots of spirit. There are so many activities its almost impossible to get involved. The acedemics are great and very competitive here. Because Walton is in such a wealthy area, you almost get a feeling of being at a private school. It is nationally recognized as one of Americas top public schools, and it really shows that it is.'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

My child goes to Walton. I think students are able to get a good education there if they are self-motivated or their parents are on top of their every move, otherwise, forget it. It's such a big school that students slip through the cracks. The teachers and staff there have NO IDEA if a student even attends class. Students skip and 'hang out' all the time. It is just not a well managed school. If you send your child there, YOU must make sure they get what they need and are doing what they should be doing, which is very hard since you cannot attend school with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

simply the BEST high school in GA! graduated may 20th, 2005! we all are hard working people and teachers never give up on their students. the school tries their best to give all the students what they need in order to succeed in high school. i will recommend students to go there!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2005

I graduated from Walton in 2001. I loved my high school experience. I was in Camerata Choir and ran the TV station. I was involved with SGA, Powder Puff, and I was 2nd runner up for Mr. Raider. Walton provided a great atmosphere for me and I made friends that I shall keep for a life time. It is not the school's responsibility to make every student fit in. In a school that has so many cliques, a student is presented with choice. They choose which clique best fits them. The former principle left a great legacy. But many of the great teachers have left Walton and work at other schools in the area. Walton prepared me for college, and although growing up in East Cobb didnt prepare me for the real world, Walton at least prepared me for college. I am a senior at Hampton University in Hampton, VA.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 24, 2005

I am a 1995 Walton graduate. I was speaking with a high school friend of mine the other day and we were remembering all of the great things that happened to us at Walton. We really enjoyed our education there and had fun while learning. It is all in the choices that students make. The teachers were great and the administration was great. Excellent school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

Math is abysmalhere. It's the uglysecret no one speaks about. English is a poor joke - no writing program, no classicliterature.My son had a full Honorsschedule - the material was junk - but there wasalotofit! We pulled out after one semster and they didn't even know we were gone! Education doesn't happen here; training does. If you want to play a part in your teen's education, forget it. You cannot arrange a meeting with a teacher. Buy a home in this district for the resale value only. School spirit covers most of the flaws, but an independent thinker will hate it here. Walton is not set up to support the truly gifted, or the very weak for that matter. Educate your kids yourself or live cheaply and find a great private school. Those heading to the all-inclusive UGA will do fine; Hillsdale, e.g., hopefuls will founder.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 2, 2004

I never attended Walton, but I had to compete with the students there when I was in high school through various extra-curricular activities. They were the best and the brightest in everything- I hope to put my children through a school like Walton. Kids from area high schools know about the Walton kids, and they are viewed as academically beyond their peers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2004

Great School. Wonderful Athletics and education is top notch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2004

I agree with the previous review. Walton is a great school for self motivated children. However the size alone causes many students to be overlooked and for those that do not fit into a 'category' it can be very hard. I do not feel that the new principal is at fault. He had to overcome previous faulty priorities. The emphasis on athletics and money I believe hurt the overall climate at the school. I had three children there, one with success, one who struggled and one who I removed and placed in a private school. Their intentions are always good but their follow thru wasn't up to par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

Walton is a great school, but is not the right school for every child. Academically, they have a good mix of AP and honors classes for the gifted child. Socially, the school is very clique-oriented. With 2500+ students, you'd think there would be a place for everyone, but some kids have problems fitting in. The facilities are in horrible shape; the kids learn in spite of cramped, musty trailers and classrooms. Most of the teachers are enthusiastic about their work; some are truly inspiring. But there are poor teachers, also, particularly in the math department. Unfortunately, it is difficult to get a child out of a bad teacher's class. If yur child is new to Walton, it is important to listen to him/her about the quality of his/her life and education. This school is not for everyone, and a move to a different school can be a life changer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

622 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

618 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

621 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

620 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

653 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

675 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

664 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

618 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

612 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
62%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

701 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 3%
Black 7% 37%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/A51%
Female 49%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1590 Bill Murdock Rd
Marietta, GA 30062
Phone: (770) 578-3225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pope High School
Marietta, GA


Wheeler High School
Marietta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT