Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 82 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


88 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walton High School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a student
Walton is the best school in Cobb county by far! When I was a freshman coming to Walton from out of state I was greeted with open arms and made so many great friends. The academics are challenging but not overwhelming like others say. The teachers go above and beyond to help you get the grades you want and honestly want to see you succeed. The extracurricular activities are everywhere! There is definitely pressure to go to college but I think that is the best part because it helps students set academic goals and improve themselves as all-around students. If your ready to work hard and make your four years count, Walton is the place to be

Walton High School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
It really is a top rated school deserving of top rating. It is academically challenging for all levels with different degrees of rigor for all levels of student. It is no joke of a school. You get educated from her & will be able to achieve in college.


Walton High School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
The best thing about Walton is the encouragement to go to college and parents and school staff's commitment to make it happen. It is a community base school not just a regular school.

Walton High School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Not a Charter School! Good overall,AP great very competitive. Maybe too much. Sometime staff take themselves to seriously-Walton Parent

Walton High School 1

Posted January 19, 2014
- a student
This school is awful. You get so much homework each night that there is not enough hours in the day to finish it. It has WEB days almost every week which is just another opportunity to get more homework instead of being able to get caught up. They have incentive for finals. It is nice except people show up to school sick and the Walton plague gets passed around. The people who go there are very snobby. The school itself is disgusting. They have an agricultural program, its called the bugs. All the classrooms except for the science rooms have carpets. They are cleaned once a semester. The school is pretty dirty except when they have the SAT going on, then the halls and bathrooms are actually cleaned. The staff is more focused on painting over the writing in the bathrooms then actually cleaning them.


Walton High School 5

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
Our family recently downsized into a smaller, older house from where we were living out in Canton, GA so that my daughter could go to Walton. The move has been so worth it. This school's focus on developing well-rounded students was missing from our previous local high school.

Walton High School 3

Posted December 28, 2013
- a community member
Great academically, but lacks diversity. If you'd like an all white population, it's the place for you.

Walton High School 5

Posted December 07, 2013
- a student
I'm a senior and overall I had a great experience at Walton. Walton seems to be pretty well-known throughout Atlanta but here are some of my pros/cons about the school. Pros: AMAZING teachers (for the most part) who genuinely love teaching and are clearly not here for the paycheck; students who (again, for the most part) are well-rounded and competitive but not cutthroat (I really don't know where this misconception comes from since I'm pretty average and don't feel out-of-place attending Walton); WEB (Wednesday Enrichment Block) which gives students a couple hours every Wednesday to seek one-on-one help from teachers in any class; sports and activities (there are so many available and the student body is so active outside the classroom!!) CONS: Lack of true diversity (especially true economically - most students are from middle to upper middle class backgrounds with a few really upper class students thrown into the mix) probably doesn't match the real world outside of the East Cobb bubble; Cobb district budget cuts (some classes are larger than they used to be, although the PTA and local businesses have helped offset some of the cuts; two feeder middle schools vs.one


Walton High School 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
Having had 2 children go through Walton, I'd like to offer my perspective. How Walton is viewed depends on each family's situation. Walton will not be a great fit for every child. Perhaps because of the community it serves, Walton is not geared to serve students who are unsure about whether or not they want to attend college - those students will find little support and guidance by attending the school. Rather, Walton's forte is providing college-bound students with rigorous courses and tremendous extracurricular opportunities. The school profile makes this very clear - Walton expects that all students will pursue a post-secondary education and so endeavors to provide a rigorous education that prepares student for any college. A high number of students do go on to Ivy League universities from Walton. However, I've found that the school also is a great fit for those students wanting to go to UGA, Tech, GSU or any other state universities. My youngest daughter, in fact, after going through Walton WITHOUT taking all honors/AP courses found UGA a breeze and graduated with honors. She really thrived in a peer environment where college was the norm, not the exception.

Walton High School 1

Posted November 15, 2012
- a student
I am a senior at Walton High School. It is a thoroughly a terrible school. If you are not in all honors and AP classes, your student will be ridiculed by all their friends who are. The math curriculum does not work and the math teachers are incapable and incompetent. The band director refuses to recognize that marching band is not the students' first and only priority in life. There is one bright spot though: the science teachers are excellent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walton High School
1590 Bill Murdock Rd, Marietta, GA  30062
(770) 578-3225
Last modified Walton High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walton High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. Top