Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Birney Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 751 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

My daughter attend Birney a few years ago. The quality of primary education was top notch which enabled her to progress and later was accepted into South Cobb's magnet program. Great leadership and teacher staff. Great communities surrounding the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

The teachers are really what make this school great. Overall it is an average school - with very below average parental/teacher involvement in the PTA. The test scores are improving, but the demographic is Title I. They really need to get the parents more involved, but you can only do so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

I can see tangible results of good teaching and leadership towards my daughter(s) and her teachers. Both daughters are above their perspective reading/math levels. My wife is active in the PTA. As a father, I read to the students on 'Father's Day' activities. This is a good school -becoming predominately Hispanic/African American.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

this school make me a better learning in school and it buitls me a best worker


Posted August 17, 2011

Supprise to hear the comment posted April 13. That parent obviously did not join the PTA. Birney offers everything she was complaining about. Birney Elementary is a great school. With great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

My transferred to this school this year and I did not what I learned about it from the start and to this day do not like it. I have never met his teacher. They do not have socials for the kids whether it be Halloween,welcome back to school, or end of school year like his previous school where not only did I know but my son and many of the students knew the principal very well. He was very hands on and really seemed to sincerely care about the kids not only learning but having proper behavior even in fun settings. Birney has weird rules, they do not nourish parent/teacher relationships, they leave kids standing outside in the cold even after the doors are supposedly open. I've seen them let in a teacher and make the kids wait outside and I've seen kids inside because their parents work there running around while other children waited outside in the cold. They DO NOT CARE much but mostly if someone breaks the rules, is late, or does not have the 50 pieces of required paperwork for various things. I am seriously considering seeing about transferring my son out of this school and would not recommend it as it is currently run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

My step daughter came to this country unable to speak English. We put her into second grade. Birney has a special language teacher who worked with her every day. I was quite impressed how hard the school worked to integrate my daughter into the "normal" classroom. The school works hard to get everyone involved in school activities and your child's education. I'm not sure that the homework is very challenging, however. She's in 3rd grade now and maybe I'm being overly critical as to how much homework 3rd graders should be doing. I'm overall happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

One of my son's started Birney in K. He's now in the 5th grade. He has always met or exceeded the standards on the CRCT. I'm impressed with the care and attention given by the principal and her staff. The teachers are always approachable. My other son left Birney 2 years ago and was more than prepared for middle school. In fact, he received top honors at a school which ranks 9 on this site. No complaints from me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

My grandson entered Birney in the 3rd grade with a 2.0 reading level. He was in a class size of 12, and an assistant teacher in the classroom full-time. He didn't enter the school until October 2006. He is presently on a fourth grade reading level, and passed his national exams. I believe and know his teacher used multiple strategies to bring all her students up to grade level in reading. Now, he feels good about himself, and wants to read everyday and for everyone he comes in contact with. The staff at Birney, I trust, cares about the children and their academic advancement. You will not be disappointed; even their extracurricular activities are involved and developed to enhance the childrens' cognitive thinking, and social skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

My son has attended Birney for Kindergarden and 1st grade. I've been very fortunate to have wonderful teachers for that period of time. His current teacher really took a lot of time to prepare them for the CRCT test. We are moving and have to change schools. I will miss his 1st grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2004

I have a child who just completed the 3rd grade. I was very impressed with the overall attention my child received from her teacher this year. Her teacher is an experienced teacher with a caring heart. My child's reading level has exceeded my expectations. She is reading on a 7th grade level and doing math on a 6 grade level. She has a great desire to read without me telling her. She lives to go to the library. I do not wait for her teacher to send her to the library, I take her myself to a public library. After all, I am also resposible for her education. Not just her teacher alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I have a child going into 4th grade. I was pleased with K through 2, but 3rd grade was a tremendous disappointment. The teacher constantly ate in front of the children, did not take them outside to play until mid April, never would send home a spelling list even when asked to by parents (kids had to copy off the board), and was basically quite lazy. I took great issue with the fact that she did not get them to the library often enough to participate in the Accelerated Reader Program. Also no notes were sent home when lice was found on another child. The entirety of the 3rd grade class had several weeks of 'silent' lunches, unable to even get to know each other in the beginning of the school year. A few, when they got in trouble, also had to eat on the floor on the stage in the cafeteria. No tables. No chairs. Also many memos were sent home late, and with outrageous spelling errors. Hopefully, Dear Lord, this will be a better year, although I hear many of the best teachers have left. In my humble opinion, if it was actually done the way it was supposed to be done, the America's Choice Program is a sham.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

105 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

105 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

105 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

142 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

142 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

142 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 37%
Hispanic 36% 12%
White 12% 44%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Perkins
Fax number
  • (678) 842-6826

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

775 Smyrna Powder Springs Rd SW
Marietta, GA 30060
Phone: (678) 842-6824

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT